We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location; beautiful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Athenee
Ranked #204 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2013

1 block from the Central Park zoo & close to everything. Perfect location. Entire hotel was spotless & smelled of fresh flowers. Staff was friendly & prompt. Dining was elegant, but appropriate for children. A little touch of Paris in NYC.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (721)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

413 - 419 of 721 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

I was delighted with this hotel. The location, just off Central Park on the Eastside, was excellent for the museums as well as shopping. The staff could not have been more helpful. Warm, comfy and an oasis of quiet and calm in the bustling city.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sue1904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The rooms, the service and the bar are all top notch. Ask for Gilbert at the bar, makes the best martinis and keeps the guests smiling. The rooms are what you would expect from a 5 star property, and the location on the mid to upper east is perfect. Short trip to David Burke or Arlington Grill. Highly recommend, and the spa is so good, I couldn't get a reservation, so book early!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DogwoodTravelAgcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

it's the kind of place that i simply can't fault. clean and spacious room, great food, helpful staff and i could go on and on and on. its also convieniently located close to a wide variety of restaurants so going out and getting back to the bedroom is never a problem.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eddie2208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

the service at this hotel is wonderful as is the bar and dining room. our suite was quiet and quite large facing E 64th. convenient location and neighborhood not so crowded with tourists. the living room sofas cushions are kind of lumpy and not comfortable but otherwise the maintenance of the room is very good and clean.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hpmarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

now it really depends what style you like when it comes to decoration. the location of the hotel is amazing, directly next to madison avenue, none of the big nice hotels can offer you such an amazing location. the service is very good, friendly and helpful. the standard of the hotel is quite high but we just dont like the style so much. its the typical old decoration, very nice if you like the style but we like more modern hotels like the mandarin. we would come back to plaza athenee for sure, because it is still a lovely hotel and nothing tops the location but it is not our first choice.
i can still recommend the hotel to everyone because it definitely lives up to its reputation!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francesca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Hotel Athenee is a wonderful little gem of a hotel. My normal hotel was completely booked, and so I stayed with a group in a suite at Hotel Athenee. What a charming suprise! Unlike many uber modern hotels popping up around the world, Hotel Athenee captures the charm of the city by incorporating french decor, warm woods, and sparkling crystal light fixtures. Service is excellent and they are FRIENDLY!! It was a quick trip for me, and I needed a salon fix ASAP. They managed to connect me with Yann Varin, who came over from his Salon only a block or so away.

He is a superb stylist, but also an incredibly nice and diplomatic(no big name dropping here), and managed to get me ready in no time for a show during Fashion Week. Turns out he has a big celebrity client list, but you would never know this from his demeanor.

I don't know about the other rooms, but the suites were quite nice and quiet. Also, GREAT location for shopping!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drddunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Upper East Side
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Loews Regency New York Hotel
#42 of 473 in New York City
1,731 reviews
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#100 of 473 in New York City
1,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#104 of 473 in New York City
781 reviews
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#272 of 473 in New York City
840 reviews
Upper East Side
Lowell Hotel
Lowell Hotel
#159 of 473 in New York City
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Athenee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Athenee

Address: 37 E 64th St, New York City, NY 10065-7003
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in New York City
#76 Business Hotel in New York City
#83 Family Hotel in New York City
#148 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#185 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $339 - $735 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Plaza Athenee 5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a charming, residential street on 64th Street between Park and Madison Avenue, Hotel Plaza Athénée is an Upper East Side luxury boutique hotel that has been a home away from home to royalty, world leaders, celebrities, executives and discerning travelers since 1984. Ideally situated in the heart of Manhattan, guests are just minutes from Central Park, Madison Avenue boutiques, galleries and museums. Elegant and refined in every detail, rich in style, Hotel Plaza Athénée offers a grand yet inviting setting where classic French inspired style meets Manhattan's uptown chic. Hand-painted murals, Italian marble, French antiques and luxe furnishings create a gracious haven. Guestrooms and suites have a distinct residential style in character with the genteel neighborhood where it resides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Plaza Athenee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Athenee New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing