We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST STAY OF MY LIFE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Athenee
Ranked #191 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This was our first stay at the Plaza Athenee . We booked their standard King room. I informed them when we made the reservation, that my partner & I would be staying for 6 nights, and that this was a special occasion. We were going to be in NYC for our wedding in Central Park. ( just 2 short blocks from the Hotel) When we arrived Nicole, the front office manger greeted us, and escorted us to a seat, to register. As we began, she welcomed us again, and said "congratulations on your upcoming wedding". She then informed me that she had upgraded us 3 levels and that we had one of their nicest rooms. We were then escorted to our room by a very nice bellman, along with our bags. The bellman explained all the features of the room, offered to help with unpacking, and also offered to bring ice right away. The room was perfect. Lovely linens, fine furnishings, all top notch. Turndown service nightly was great, when we went out for dinner, or the theatre, I actually think that the bed wasn't only turned down, but we had fresh sheets, as I had taken a nap that afternoon and there wasn't a wrinkle to to found when we returned!! The hotel bar is beautiful, we had cocktails there twice during our stay & took some of our wedding photos in the bar & restaurant. On our wedding night we returned to the room to find a bottle of Champagne, chocolate covered strawberries and rose petals on the bed....all compliments of the hotel. The doorman were always quick to retrieve a cab, or help with a package. Every staff member we encountered was utmost professional. The Hotel was extremely clean, and well maintained. The location could not be beat, close to the Park, in a beautiful upscale neighborhood. I truly didn't want to leave...... I WILL BE BACK !!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WarrenVaughn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (702)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

429 - 435 of 702 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2012

In all of my years of visiting NY (and living here for that matter) I had never known about this hotel. After a stay at the Plaza Athenee in Paris, the name of this property caught my eye on Trip Advisor when seeking something new for a business trip to Manhattan. What an incredibly pleasant surprise.
The property is magnificent. This is old world charm in New York with all of the finest amenities.
The staff welcomes you warmly right at the door and goes out of their way to give personal attention. Checking in was done sitting down at a desk- a very personal way to begin your stay and one that lets you know that your status as an individual is important. The attention to detail is not lost at anytime.
I arrived very early in the morning, and knew that my room would not be ready. I was escorted to the lounge area personally by the front desk staff, was given a table and a server was brought to me immediately to make sure I could order coffee. This wasn't checking in standing up at a front desk and a wave goodbye. This was one member of the staff personally handing you off to another to make sure there was not a single break in the attention.
The bell staff found me in the lounge when my room was ready, with my bags already on a cart and key in hand. All I had to do was stand and follow. The bell staff, like all of the other members of this fine team were veterans- experienced and appreciative for your business.
This hotel is in my opinion worthy of all their stars. They earn it with every staff member, and every action.
The property is spotless and beautiful. The area could not be more central. This is my new hotel when visiting New York.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dkracerfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

I stayed here for the first time back in March and cannot wait to go back! My room was lovely and the staff treated me like a queen. On my last night I was having a drink at the bar and heading out to meet friends somewhere on the opposite end of town I had never been--the bartender went above and beyond to make sure I'd get there using quickest route possible on the subway (and this was AFTER I had paid the bill and tipped her so she just as easily could have said "go talk to the concierge").
My room was very cozy, had all the amenities and was even a decent size for NYC. The gym spacious and very clean-- it's the best I've ever seen at a hotel of that size. My room service breakfast was a little pricey ($50 for just myself) but other than that this place is worth every penny.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
2  Thank Christina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

This is another good hotel in New York. I had a perfectly acceptable, though dark room. At the price it was more expensive than competitive properties on a nightly basis. I had planned to take advantage of a third night free promotion but had to leave early. For the price I could have stayed at the Four Seasons, a much nicer hotel. The Regency is a better bargain.

Service was correct but cold. I am not likely to return.

The gym is very good though the cardio machines were tired.

Room Tip: Avoid the interior rooms-- dark and depressing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

The place is perfect, near Maddison and Park, outstanding the room is comfortable, quiet and clean The first choice in NYC Walking distance to most things Central Park, MOmA, Gugenheim,
Intimate bar and beautiful restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank aexcell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

How can a 5 star hotel have I star amenities
The scale is 20 years old TVA are old and they still have the Curtis s from when the hotel opened

Location is great and u expect the brand will deliver. Bar is old and dark employees work hard and really try. But oh boy hotel needs help. By the way continental breakfast for 2. Is 90 bucks

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank higlandtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 6, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am sorry we did not meet your expectations.
Most of our room categories have been fully renovated in 2010 and all rooms received HD Plasma TV's. This month we also completed the refurbishment of our Restaurant Arabelle.
Should you decide to return, I would be happy to personally handle your reservation and assign a newly renovated room. You may contact me directly at swurst@plaza-athenee.com

Sincerely,
Sebastian Wurst
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

the place is perfect, near Maddison and Park, the staff members are perfect, outstanding
the room is confitrable, quiet and clean
The first choice in NYC

Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
2  Thank botticini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Loews Regency New York Hotel
#35 of 470 in New York City
1,661 reviews
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#87 of 470 in New York City
1,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#302 of 470 in New York City
815 reviews
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#32 of 470 in New York City
759 reviews
Upper East Side
Lowell Hotel
Lowell Hotel
#149 of 470 in New York City
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Athenee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Athenee

Address: 37 E 64th St, New York City, NY 10065-7003
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in New York City
#77 Business Hotel in New York City
#84 Family Hotel in New York City
#140 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#186 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $261 - $910 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Plaza Athenee 5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a charming, residential street on 64th Street between Park and Madison Avenue, Hotel Plaza Athénée is an Upper East Side luxury boutique hotel that has been a home away from home to royalty, world leaders, celebrities, executives and discerning travelers since 1984. Ideally situated in the heart of Manhattan, guests are just minutes from Central Park, Madison Avenue boutiques, galleries and museums. Elegant and refined in every detail, rich in style, Hotel Plaza Athénée offers a grand yet inviting setting where classic French inspired style meets Manhattan's uptown chic. Hand-painted murals, Italian marble, French antiques and luxe furnishings create a gracious haven. Guestrooms and suites have a distinct residential style in character with the genteel neighborhood where it resides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Plaza Athenee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Athenee New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing