We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classy hotel with impeccable staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Ranked #14 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Albenga, Italy
Level Contributor
198 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Classy hotel with impeccable staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2011

As first part of our honeymoon we stayed at the Pierre. The experience was absolutely perfect. As other reviewers stated, the hotel is in a wonderful position, just few steps away from the luxury shops of Fifth Avenue, just beside Madison Avenue and in front of the Central Park. The atmosphere of the property is luxurious, classy and incredibly calm. Other luxury hotels in the Apple are always crowded and noisy. But when you enter the Pierre, that's another story. After a long day of sightseeing, the corridor on Fifth Avenue welcomes guests with silence, soft lights and the perfumes of scented candles. We got the experience of going back home. (The Pierre building is actually a cooperative and there are some people living in). The room was perfect: luxurious but not overdecorated, with all the amenities you would expect from a LHW. The bathroom was well appointed (with Molton Brown toiletries) even if a bit small and the heating system a bit noisy but after exhausting days we did not care. Beds were extremely comfortable. Upon arrival we found champagne, fruits and roses waiting for us...we felt like royalty! The business center, as well as all the other services of the hotel we used, was excellent. Moreover, all the staff were excellent: attentive, friendly and professional. Among them, a special mention for Maurice, the head concierge, and his team (especially Abraham). They were always willing to please and no request was too much for them. They made our stay really special and if we will go back to NYC, we hope to have the opportunity of staying at the Pierre again!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luxuryhotelsdreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralParkView, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, April 18, 2011
Dear Guest,

Congratulations on your marriage! We are so thrilled you chose The Pierre to celebrate such a special occasion. Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful sentiments and taking time to include all the details of what sounds like a fantastic stay!

We strive to make every guest feel like royalty, but The Pierre does get caught up in the romance of honeymoons, weddings and anniversaries, and we strive to make a stay here the most memorable hotel experience for a happy couple in love!

We hope you will consider another visit for your first anniversary! Please advise us if you plan to return so we can prepare something extra special for you two!

Warmest regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,226
    227
    77
    42
    31
See reviews for
361
587
79
369
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Babylon, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2011

I can't say anything bad about my stay at the Pierre Hotel. Not only was Matthew at the front desk adorable, he was very polite and helpful. Aneesha, Lauren, and Alexandra couldn't do enough to make us comfortable. The room was beautiful and spotless. The beds are wonderful to sleep in, and the hotel is centrally located in a beautiful part of NYC. Laura at the restaurant was excellent too. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJM624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralParkView, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, April 18, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words! It is very special for our staff to receive such wonderful compliments from guests; we truly appreciate you taking the time to do so.

You will be pleased to know that The Pierre was recently awarded “Best Overall Hotel Experience” and “Best Concierge Service” by IN New York readers who vote on their favorite hotels New York City.

It is through such thoughtful support and feedback like yours that our staff continues to be inspired to provide impeccable service each day.

Thank you so much, we hope to host you again very soon.

Warm regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2011

I'm glad my employer was footing the bill for this, because I'd never pay it myself. It seems overpriced. On the plus side, the location is excellent, the room service menu is good, and the hotel was just what I needed for a short stay in NYC to get some meetings over with.

My room and bed were fabulously comfortable and spotlessly clean - which I'd expect at this price. I didn't have time to check out the restaurants, but for a solo business traveler racing to meetings in the middle of some truly horrible weather, this was exactly what I needed.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2011

I was in NYC during the horrible cold spell with snow and ice and general misery.
I checked in to the Pierre and was assigned a suite on the 5th floor.
I'm a low maintenance type of gal and don't let people help me with bags and such. The employees at the Pierre are just bothered by this... they want to help and every employee I passed tried to stop me and take my bags. LOL. My suite was lovely. It was beautifully decorated with a living room, bedroom and huge marble bathroom. The beds were so comfortable. We had a guest visit prior to a dinner engagement and the living room was a wonderful place to entertain. Back later that night, the room was turned down and water was placed on the nightstand. Little touches. Nice.
The Molton Brown products are so nice, and included a mineral bath soak. The tub was huge and I could not wait to relax and watch the news while unwinding in the bath. There is a flatscreen TV in the bathroom, which is always a nice bonus!
The next day I had a meeting in the hotel in the lovely blue meeting room near the restaurant Le Caprice. Catering was flawless and delicious. That night a storm hit and it was bitter cold. We decided to stay in the room that night and sleep in the next morning. The next day we were lazy and had a late breakfast at Caprice. Great food and perfect looking guests. The whole restaurant looked like a photo shoot. Later we ordered a delivered pizza for lunch and just hung out in the room all day and watched it snow. For us Texas girls, it was too cold to enjoy the city and we needed to get caught up on some work. It didn't bother us at all to luxuriate at the Pierre all day.
It was such a relaxing business trip..
We love the Pierre. It felt like home, if I had a better decorator ;)
I really don't understand the bad comments on tripadvisor.com about the Pierre. I could not hand pick better staff. Many are long term employees who belong at this place. It's their place. They know everyone and everything. There is nothing they will not do and they want your experience to be pampering and luxurious.
I just did not encounter even one person who was indiffernent or rude.
I hope to stay again in the future!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Webjetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralParkView, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, April 18, 2011
Dear Guest,

We want to extend our sincerest gratitude for taking the time to share your experience and to highlight all the wonderful things you enjoyed about your stay. We strive to make sure our guests feel that every need is taken care of so they can sit back, relax and enjoy their stay.

I am glad you were able to do this on your visit, despite the cold weather! We look forward to welcoming you back again during warmer months this year. We hope that you make The Pierre your home away from home for both business and pleasure.

You may be interested to know that we recently received our 2011 Five Diamond Award, and also were awarded “Best Overall Hotel Experience” and “Best Concierge Service” by IN New York readers who vote on their favorite hotels New York City!

Thank you so much for choosing The Pierre, we truly value your feedback and business.

Warm regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
85 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2011

The Pierre is located just across the road from Central Park Zoo. You couldn't get a more central location in NYC. The price for this location, is small bathrooms. The room itself was roomy enough. But a nice hotel overall.

Positives:
* Concierge was very helpful in making reservations etc. for local sightseeing.
* Location is excellent
* Room was comfortable

Negatives:
* Service was slow - though staff were courteous
* Probably too fashionable (bordering on pretentious) for me (but all of NYC seemed that way).
* Bathroom was TINY.

It was nice place though -- I would go again if it cost less.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank villdre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristinePerper, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, January 10, 2011
Dear Guest,

Happy New Year! Thank you so much taking the time to share your feedback. We are so pleased you found our location convenient and our concierge helpful. Also, for your future visit, we have noted that you would prefer more bathroom space, which we are able to offer in different room categories. We hope to see you again in 2011, and that you have a healthy, happy and prosperous new year!

Sincere regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2010

I have to say that the Hotels location is excellent, sitting right atop of the shopping center. The Taj hotels has invested a lot of money and clearly, (keeping in mind it is a Apt building first and fore most) there is a complete lack of the Indian hospitality. Not that I am looking for curry in the lounge or the restaurant, I travel enough to know where to find ethnic restaurants in NYC.

There is a clear lack of management in that place. The lounge used to have a vibrant feel to it, but with a tree in the center of it, and what seemed like managers sunning around with their heads cut off, not able to make me feel relaxed as i sat and truly enjoyed my cocktails and the creative food. What is with being told, Sorry, we don't do hot food|"

Shut it down, fire the top management, and figure out how to complete with the top hotels of NYC and the new ones coming up!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank babasNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristinePerper, Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, December 23, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing The Pierre on your recent stay to New York City and providing your feedback.

I sincerely apologize that your stay with us was disappointing and did not meet your expectations. We are committed to providing personalized and attentive service to each and every one of our guests at the hotel, and we take guest feedback very seriously.

We regret that you did not feel relaxed on your recent visit to Two E Bar/Lounge.
We would like the opportunity to invite you back to Two E after January 1, when the holiday Christmas Tree will be removed, and you may sample a selection of our hot dishes including a selection of hot-pressed Paninis, Wagyu Beef Flank Steak, and Angus Beef Sliders.

We value you as a guest and your constructive criticism, which assists us in our ongoing efforts to maintain high standards of service excellence. We truly hope to host you again.

Sincerest regards,
The Pierre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2010

as we arrived from London early morning our time and were told we did not have the room with the view that we ordered and had to take an inferior suite and move the next day..with a 20mth old..the next day we moved to the new suite and i took a shower only to find black hairs on the shower tiles..enough to make a small wig!...the rooms are fine but nothing special...not great closet space..infact after unpacking the babys trunck i actually coundnt find any place for my stuff so left it in suitcase!...the rooms have an ancient heating systems that broke down one night..but when were working made such a racket i was sure the baby would wake!..We did order from room service several times and found i always took them 45 mins regardless to what was ordered..hence a vodka and orange was 45 mins ....the supper we ordered...italian was soo tasteless to be believed...this is really a 3star hotel in a great location pretending to be a 5 star....please donot waste your money!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aramintasprinta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristinePerper, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, December 23, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback on your stay at The Pierre hotel. We have reviewed your comments with the Front Desk, Housekeeping and Room Service departments.

We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced, and we hope you will provide us with an opportunity to wow you with our service in 2011. We value your detailed feedback as it gives us the opportunity to review your experience and make sure we are maintaining our five diamond service.

Additionally, if you would like to contact us directly we are happy to include your preferred view and room type, as well as family needs in your guest profile.

Thank you so much for choosing The Pierre and we would welcome the opportunity to host you again and leave you with a positive impression.

Warm regards,
The Pierre General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#8 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#20 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#31 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Midtown
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New York
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New ...
#16 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York

Property: The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Address: 2 East 61st Street at Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10065
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#16 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#37 Family Hotel in New York City
#44 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark hotel on Fifth Avenue in New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, DerbySoftTaj, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pierre Hotel New York City
Pierre New York City
Pierre Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing