We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant, beautiful and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Ranked #18 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2010

I went to celebrate my anniversary with my hubby. The Pierre is an exquisite, gorgeous hotel. The staff is very friendly, helpful, and attentive. Front desk was very pleasant. They have elevator operators and doormen, and room service workers that make you feel special. The room was clean, beautiful, and had a great view. We had some delicious food, and the turn down service was great. I would definitely recommend this upscale hotel to anyone looking for a Special place to relax while staying in the city.
LOVED IT....

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boop4795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,870)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,561 - 1,567 of 1,870 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2010

I live in NYC and treated my husband to a weekend stay at The Pierre to celebrate his 40th birthday - it could not have been more perfect. From dropping off luggage early and having it waiting in our room, to the staff at Le Caprice wishing my husband a happy birthday, the service could not have been more personal, discreet or appreciated. The location is perfect - being able to walk straight into the park, the property beautiful and the room (1219 - a city view suite) warm, luxurious and perfectly appointed. It is a long time since I have had such an amazing stay at a hotel - and dinner at le Caprice was a joy on both nights. Great food, fantastic ambiance and great value for money. Really couldn't rate this any higher. If you're looking for a 'special' place to stay - look no further than The Pierre.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NycWaterwings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2009

I started my trip staying at The Alex Hotel... Well, after 2 days staying in that TERRIBLE hotel, I gave up and start looking for other options. Finally I was between Jumeirah, The Pierre and The Palace. The Palace was much more expensive and was out of the contest. Finally although I liked Jumeirah moore, The Pierre was charging for a better room the same that Jumeirah was charging for a standard room.
At The Pierre, I noticed that everyone there is very polite and they really do care about you. Great staff! The room is very good, not a Encore at Wynn room, but a 5 star room.
What I dislike was:
a) It´s a little bit confuse the hall of entrance... You´ve to take a few moments to "learn" where everything is.
b) It´s outrageous what they charge for using the internet. US$2.00 per minute!!! Plus 0.95 per page B&W you prited.
c) They charge for everything... And a lot! For example: I rented a limo in NY with a driver. With them, the cost per 2 hours was US$179.00 and I payid at CARmel Company US$99.00 for the same service.

Finally, what can I say? It´s a good hotel, but I would recommend ONLY if you can get a reasonable NY price (because NY is differente from everywhere else). If you can afford, stay at the Ritz at Central Park. If you can´t, try to stay in Trump (normally they have good prices). And if even that is expensive, stay at The Wellington Hotel.
I already stayied in more than 10 differente hotels in NY and I can say The Pierre is a Top 5. The only one I would definitely recommend to avoid is The Alex Hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HCABraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2009

This hotel has to be one of the finest in the world. It imposes itself onto fifth avenue, the rooms are magnificent and the service is excellent. However it is certanily not cheap, but you get what you pay for in life, and the Pierre is worth every penny!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank khaliddubai1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2009

I loved this hotel. The Taj Pierre is a perfect hotel and even a better location. The food was great and I ordered room service a lot as I have two young kids - the food was excellent and always warm. I loved the location - me and the kids walked right out the front doors into Central Park. Lovely beds as well.:)

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ameliarowland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2009

Taj Hotels are normally very good. They make guests feel special. Despite the very high cost per night- above $600- I chose this Hotel for a stay of 7 nights , expecting the Taj level of service and all round excellence. This Hotel was nowhere near that, despite its super fancy name and reputation as The Pierre. The service in general was pedestrian. The Manager at Le Caprice- the main restaurant had an off putting attitude. When I went to check out the restaurant- he accosted me and said "Can I help you" in a clearly unwelcoming manner . He repeated my answer of " Looking" and kept staring at me.
The Bar and informal eating place had a very limited choice of cold food. Only one person at the Concierge was well informed and helpful

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Honeygatherer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2009

The Pierre is one of New York's most iconic hotels and the Taj group have done a wonderful job in restoring the property to its former glory. I stayed for a few nights in early November and could not have been more enchanted. The location has always been beyond perfect, but the refurbishment that has been brought to both the public spaces and rooms is a great success. I very much enjoyed the classic yet contemporary feel in the rooms and was impressed with how the bathrooms had been reconfigured. The lobby atmosphere is lovely and only improved by the very charming staff that you come across throughout the hotel. A particular mention must go to the best elevator operators ever! I also shouldn't forget to say that the new restaurant Caprice and the new lobby bar appear to be quite the hot spots as both were busy well into the evening, even on nights earlier in the week when I was staying there. Overall, I hope Taj maintains the impressive efforts currently in place; if so the Pierre will be my only choice in New York.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vineyard_manager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Plaza
The Plaza
#115 of 473 in New York City
2,497 reviews
Midtown
The Langham New York Fifth Avenue
TriBeCa
Four Seasons Hotel New York Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York Down...
#16 of 473 in New York City
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#27 of 473 in New York City
1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York

Address: 2 East 61st Street at Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10065
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#17 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#24 Family Hotel in New York City
#43 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $447 - $905 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark hotel on Fifth Avenue in New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pierre Hotel New York City
Pierre New York City
Pierre Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing