We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location- a bit too old school”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Ranked #14 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Perfect location- a bit too old school”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

The location is perfect and the rooms are really big! But I was somehow expecting more of the experience of staying in a hotel that is so luxurious. But I have absolutely nothing bad to say about it- I just prefer my stays in the more modern options in NY.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clagmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear Clagmac,

Thank you for spending the time to write a review about The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our room size, as well as our great location on Fifth Avenue and across from Central Park.

We understand that our hotel is not for everyone, but our goal is to embrace the historic hotel that we are, and revive old-school luxury in a modern way.

We do hope that you try our hotel one more time on your next trip to New York. We would be honored to have you.

Warm Regards,
Heiko K
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,226
    227
    77
    42
    31
See reviews for
361
587
79
369
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Park City
Level Contributor
142 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

It's hard to find fault with a hotel located on 5th ave and 61st. Staffing ratio to guests is over the top. There is an elevator attendant for every elevator.Employees are extremely friendly and very gracious. Stayed in a suite that was very spacious - only complaint is that make-up mirror is mounted directly over toilet? Surprised that they charge for WiFi? Made 3 visits to lobby bar - drinks were small by NY standards by bar snacks were awesome - grated parmesan cheese. If you do room service do breakfast do the corn beef and hash. Rest of room service food was very pedestrian. Fitness center is very limited - leave workout clothes at home. Beds are amazing! Meeting room was spectacular! In summary, a really nice hotel that just misses from being a great hotel~ food is the only thing holding it back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Had such an excellent experience at The Pierre in June. There are many beautiful hotels in New York (including The Pierre, of course), but I don't think any of them can TOUCH the level of service provided by the staff at The Pierre. The doormen, porters, concierge, elevator operators, housekeeping staff and bartenders were all among the most friendly, professional individuals in the hospitality industry.

I was in New York to get married, and they went out of their way to make us feel special throughout our entire stay.

The Pierre will definitely be my New York home away from home!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjr144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
133 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Very good located, few minutes Walking to Central Park and 5th Ave Madison Park Ave. Very good Service, friendly staff members best pancakes for room Service breakfast. Big but not too big as other famous Hotels in NYC. The only Problem has been the noise of the air conditioning. Did not sleep good at all.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaudioLaax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear ClaudioLaax,

Thank you for spending the time to share your feedback with us. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our location, our service, and our in-room dining. Chef Ashfer certainly knows how to put together a delicious breakfast.

We apologize that you found the air conditioning to be bothersome. Your feedback will be given to our Engineering Department and we will see how we can prevent this from happening again in the future.

We hope that we have the opportunity to host you again in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Heiko K
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Pierre for three nights at the end of a month long stay in New York. What a fantastic way to end the trip. Everything about the hotel is exceptional - from front office to the restaurant and guest room. The large double-hung windows provided an amazing view over Central Park and Zoo from one window, and the City, River and beyond from the other. Truly memorable visit. We only wish our stay was longer. Next time it will be! Thank you to all.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed at the Pierre for our night after our wedding, and the staff really made an effort to make our stay romantic and memorable. Everyone congratulated us, we received a room with a spectacular view of Central Park, plus special treats on the house. I couldn't have asked for more, and we loved everything about our stay.

Spacious room, supremely comfortable bed, and luxurious amenities and toiletries. I highly recommend The Pierre!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlevoix, Michigan
Level Contributor
161 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

I returned to NYC with my daughter and granddaughter to celebrate my granddaughter's 18th birthday and her graduation from high school. I informed the Pierre about the purpose of the trip and they very thoughtfully had a small chocolate cake and balloons and roses for her in our room. All the services of which we partook were beautifully done and the staff was polite and friendly. And, I found a very good rate for our 3-night stay via Trip Advisor so all in all I couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wally k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear wally k,

First and foremost, congratulations to your granddaughter for graduating from high school! You must be so proud. Second, thank you for spending the time to write such a thoughtful review. We are glad that you told us about the reason for your trip, and we are thrilled that she enjoyed her chocolate cake and balloons.

We thank you for complimenting our staff, for it is reviews like these that continue to inspire us to provide five-star service to each and every one of our guests.

We are happy to hear that you found a great rate via TripAdvisor, and look forward to hosting you again on your next stay.

Warm Regards,
Heiko K
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#8 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#20 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#31 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Midtown
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New York
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New ...
#16 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York

Property: The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Address: 2 East 61st Street at Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10065
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#16 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#37 Family Hotel in New York City
#44 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark hotel on Fifth Avenue in New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotwire, Travelocity, DerbySoftTaj, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pierre Hotel New York City
Pierre New York City
Pierre Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing