We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great location, beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Ranked #23 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location, beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a stay in the Pierre. The staff were helpful and professional at all times. Nothing was ever too much trouble. The E bar lounge was a really relaxing experience to soak ute atmosphere and relax with a cocktail after a hard day of shopping and sight seeing.
The whole stay was a truly wonderful experience and a memorable one - celebrating our 25th anniversary and 50 th birthdays. The pierre ensured everything ran smoothly with a complimentary bottle of champagne, a cake and 25 red roses.
We will definitely return to this hotel and I would highly recommended it to anyone.

Room Tip: Upgrade and take in the view of Central Park. Wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    968
    203
    73
    35
    30
See reviews for
283
477
70
305
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Hotel is recently renovated and is in a great central location. But it's missing the touches to justify the price. My room was small. The light in closet not working and tie hanger lays broken on the floor. Medium pot of coffee for $30 not justified. Staff very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sabiusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear sabiusa,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied by the value of our hotel. In regards to the light in the closet and tie hanger, we apologize that those items were both broken. Our housekeeping staff checks everything as they turn over a room, and must have overlooked that as they were preparing your room. Our apologies.

We hope that we have the opportunity to host you again in the near future so that we can leave you with a more positive impression of our hotel.

Warm Regards,
Heiko K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

A fantastic hotel, beautifully located with excellent staff. We had an outstanding stay. The hotel has been refurbished recently but maintains a regal old world character. The Taj hospitality really comes through in how their staff interact with guests. Truly exceptional.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rkap1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

pretty impressive all round spotless,classy, and comfortable staff were the best ever experienced in nyc would definitely return location and ambience made returning to the hotel a real highlite of the trip

Room Tip: first class look forward to our next stay at the pierre
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 103dandj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear 103dandj,

We are thrilled to hear that you considered our hotel to be one of the highlights of your trip to NYC. We are a historic hotel in New York, so that fact that you found us to be an integral part of your experience in our city is an honor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future!

Warm Regards,
Heiko K.
The Pierre General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Such a pleasure to stay in someone's home in nycThe room was very spacious. I wouldn't call the room luxurious but it was nice and with a balcony. The staff was great and very helpful. The area is great with plenty of restaurants and shopping within walking distance! Would stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dianaw23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear dianaw23,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are thrilled that you would like to stay with us again for it would be a pleasure. Our prime location on New York's 5th Avenue, across from Central Park, is certainly one of the highlights about The Pierre.

We hope that on your next stay with us, we can leave you with a more luxurious impression and that we will earn a five star review.

Warm Regards,
Heiko K.
The Pierre General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Did stay at the Pierre with my wife and son, over Easter holiday, the staff was really helpful, friendly and always very professional. The room was excellent spacious and very clean, the concierge staff very professional helped with restaurant suggestions and booking. Really look forward to my next stay at this magnificent hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Giuseppe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

From the first moment we entered this elegant and beautifully furnished hotel we felt at home, jetlag notwithstanding.

The welcome was genuinely warm and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was on the corner of the 34th floor and overlooked Central Park. It was large and tasteful without being in the least intimidating. OK we paid a bit extra, but it was worth every cent. The bathroom was huge, sparkling and with every facility. You could have held a small party in the shower - I was tempted but didn't want to share the streams of copious hot water from the massive shower head. What a superb way to start each day.
Our European electric toothbrush didn't like the US voltage, but within 20 minutes a transformer had been found and installed. An extension cable for the excellent room hairdryer arrived almost immediately.

It is hard to do justice to the general decor of the bedroom itself. I was very impressed with the thought that gone into making a very successful marriage between luxury, elegance and comfort. Indeed this mixture pervaded the whole of the Pierre. The lighting designer deserves a Oscar. I have never previously seen such an immaculate and effective installation. It makes such a difference to general ambiance and enjoyment.

The other great asset of the Pierre is its staff. Without exception they were immaculate, professional and charming. The Concierge section was particularly well informed and helpful, but we could not fault any part of the service from the chambermaid to the manager. On leaving we telephoned for help with our luggage - I could not believe it when there was a knock on the door within five minutes. In my experience this is a world record that will never be surpassed.

Breakfast was excellent. After one day they remembered your name as well as your dietary quirks. Thank goodness even the coffee was distinctly un-American. We also ate at the hotel in the evening (Sirio) and I have done a separate review - well up to standard.

We have had the good fortune to stay in many landmark hotels throughout the world and after a week in the Pierre have added it to our all time top favourites list. The other half is an expert and experienced complainer, so she was firstly devastated and then overwhelmed by the consistent excellence.
A very slight moan is that the internet was malfunctioning during our stay. My comment was immediately addressed and I understand that urgent improvements are already in hand. No charge was made and they were upset that there had been a temporary departure from the norm.

It was a huge and pleasant surprise to find such a beautiful hotel and service. I had always heard that the Pierre was exceptional, but it surpassed all expectations.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a view if Central Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Hugh B,

Thank you for spending the time to write a thorough review of our hotel. It is an honor for us when guests consider our hotel to be their home away from home. It is a very special feeling knowing that we are able to connect with our guests in such a way.

From our decor, to our staff, to the exceptional food that we have at The Pierre, it seems as though you enjoyed every minute of your stay with us. We are delighted to hear that. We do apologize though for the glitch with our wifi during your stay. We thank you for understanding.

We are looking forward to having the opportunity to host you once more, and welcome you to your home away from home in New York.

Warm Regards,
Heiko K.
The Pierre General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#29 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 776 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#19 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#30 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 638 reviews
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#20 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 497 reviews
Upper East Side
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#15 of 479 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York

Property: The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Address: 2 East 61st Street at Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10065
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#19 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#37 Family Hotel in New York City
#44 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark hotel on Fifth Avenue in New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pierre Hotel New York City
Pierre New York City
Pierre Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing