We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classy 5th Avenue Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Ranked #14 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
115 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Classy 5th Avenue Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

From the minute you arrive, from he door man, to the bell man to the front desk staff, you feel like royalty. Everyone is very professional but also friendly. Our room overlooked Central Park and that was really a fantastic treat to have this view. The rooms are not large, but they are very well appointed. The bathroom was spacious with both a walk in shower and separate tub. The Molton Brown amenities were a special treat. Besides being on 5th Avenue and close to many shopping opportunties, there is a subway about 1 block away which we used during rush hours. The hotel also has a courtesy green Jaguar for the guests. I would stay here the next time we are in New York. It is worth the cost!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on one of the higher floors facing Central Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PatWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,177
    223
    77
    40
    31
See reviews for
339
568
77
361
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coral Gables, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, has become my accommodation preference when in New York City. Every single service in the hotel was above expected which makes it a wonderful experience and great value for money. From the moment the reservation is made, the staff makes arrangements to make your stay pleasant and rewarding. Employees are kind, polite, friendly and professional. Rooms are large and comfortable, feature classic furnishings including a work desk and a marble bath with separate shower and soaking tub. Breakfast at Sirio Ristorante was marvelous - kudos to the staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BusinessProjects
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear BusinessProjects,

We are thrilled to hear that you had an outstanding stay with us at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York. On behalf of our staff, we thank you for all of your gracious comments. It is through comments such as these that continues to inspire our staff to deliver Five-Diamond service. We will be sure to express your gratitude to the entire staff at The Pierre.

Please do hurry back to visit us again. We would love to welcome you for another memorable experience with us.

Warm Regards,
The Pierre General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

Super hotel great people very clean well mannered .. just perfect and great value for money the staff was brilliant even made new friends.. i would deffo be looking to stay there again if ever im in new york.. next to central park.. busy shopping areas all in all my hol was fantastic great experience.. oh n some of the residents of the hotel have paid between 40 amd 100 million dollars to buy there room.. that on its own says it all

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dtwizzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bland, MO
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

very dissapointed. Excllen bell staff service, fast check in. Room which ws "upgraded" had a bathroom the size of a small closet. Could not stand in front of sink without closing the door... old heating system, terrible noisy.. sounded like chains rattling on and off all night. Room temp very inconsistent. Put request for room service on door at 5:20PM... back 8:30... nothing done.. no turn down.. Apparently turn down came later.. card under door when I arrived. No coffee maker in room, or available on request. I found out why... If you order a pot for room bill is about $40 by the time they add on ebverything. Ordered room service... asked for and was confirmed to me they had green chiles... Here comes the red sauce... Menu says stir fry garlic greens... comes chopped yellow and red peppers, mushrooms, a piece of bok choy, baby corn, all seemingly been around awhile. Stangest greens I ever saw. They did decide to take it off the bill. Ate in the highly rates Italian restarant with business guests... NOT impressed at all. Starter warm carrot something was terrible. Egg plant parmesian in a thick puff pastry... why?

Room Tip: try somewhere else, unless you want to be by the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Don M,

I sincerely apologize that your stay with us was disappointing and did not meet your expectations. It is by listening to our guests that we are able to maintain our five diamond service. At The Pierre we continually strive to exceed our guests’ personal service standards, and it is important to us to know when we are not doing so. I would be happy to speak with you directly regarding your experience, please feel free to contact me at anytime.

We will follow up with our Director of Food and Beverage to ensure that what you experienced does not happen again.

I truly apologize that we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us at The Pierre. We hope that you will decide to stay with us again and allow us to make up for any shortcomings you experienced.

Warm Regards,
The Pierre General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HILTON HEAD SC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

We just gave a weekend getaway to our children to The Pierre in NYC. There are so many Beautiful hotels to choose from making it a difficult choice. I am very pleased to report that we are more than happy with the first class accommodations , service and attention to detail at every turn!It is quite apparent why this hotel boast a 5 star rating.It will now be on my list of top recommendations in NYC. Thank You Pierre Taj for making the weekend so magical..and PERFECT in every way!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MYVACATIONPLACE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
155 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

The rooms are beautiful, the live elevator operators bring back an old-style elegance that most hotels have abandoned, and the location is very convenient. The fitness center was good, and it was interesting to discover that there are permanent residents living in the hotel. The hotel bed and pillows were very comfortable, too.

Room Tip: Do not get room 1911 as it is next to a permanent resident with at least 1 loud crying child that yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Bonnie L,

We are thrilled that you had a great stay with us. Our elevator attendants are always a guest favorite. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed our location. We pride ourselves on being located on 5th Avenue, just steps away from the great shopping district, and across from Central Park.

We apologize that you were disturbed during your stay. We hope that you stay with us again so that we can leave you with a more positive impression.

Warm Regards,
The Pierre General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Lovely hotel, reception was quick and easy as our group lined up to check-in. The human elevator operators, a reminder of days gone by, are a nice touch, and all of them were VERY friendly and gracious. They are wonderful ambassadors for the property! Ditto the doormen and the elevator starter - all friendly, welcoming and gracious.

We were met in our room with a superb chocolate decoration celebrating the Super Bowl - a neat presentation featuring a chocolate football helmet, with chocolate dipped chips, and a row of chocolates. Nice! Almost too pretty to eat. Almost...

Unfortunately we got a room in back, so had no view.

Downside: Someone, perhaps the prior guests had used the room after it was made ready for the next guests - us. So the room was not checked immediately before our arrival. It was clear that the bathroom had been used, and a pair of slippers were out on the floor. Also the batteries had been taken out of the TV remote. There were no instructions on how to set the alarm on the Bose radio, but we figured it out.

One concierge with whom I had contact seemed a bit standoffish - I asked about a nearby drugstore - her answer was vague. Maybe she was unsure of where it was exactly?

Very handy location close to subway, shopping and Central Park. I would have given it 5 stars except for the "downsides" mentioned above.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kagey3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#10 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#20 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#32 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#4 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York

Property: The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Address: 2 East 61st Street at Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10065
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#16 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#37 Family Hotel in New York City
#44 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark hotel on Fifth Avenue in New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Indian Hotels Company Limited and Jetsetter so you can book your The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pierre Hotel New York City
Pierre New York City
Pierre Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing