We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Ranked #15 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2013

So enjoyed my stay here. Perfect location, excellent service and delightful decor. I was lucky enough to be upgraded to a beautiful suite which was wonderful. I really loved it here and will definitely return!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naomi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,792)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,233 - 1,239 of 1,792 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

Why is it the best?
1. The bed! The best sleep in Manhattan!
2. The rooms are just what you want. Everything is where it should be and the bathrooms and amenities are perfect!
3. The staff are excellent, not intrusive, and very helpful!
4. The location!
Value for price is very high!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HStephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear HStephen,

We are thrilled that you had an overall wonderful stay at The Pierre. From our amenities, to our staff, to our centralized location, we are glad that you enjoyed all aspects of our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Pierre in the near future and providing you with another restful sleep.

Warm Regards,
The Pierre General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Situated on the east side of the park at 61st and 5th Avenue, this is a European-style hotel, meaning that it does not have a grand lobby when you enter, like some big American chains, but instead breathes understated opulence. The hotel has the ambience of the 1920s (it was built in 1929), and the fixtures, architecture, and finishes all consistent with that era -- this is not to say that the Pierre appears dated; the upkeep and restoration appeared impeccable -- rather it is evocative of that era. They simply don't build or staff hotels like this anymore - for example there are elevator attendants in each elevator, and some of the most gorgeous marble and alabaster in the meeting areas that I have ever seen in a hotel. We stayed in a suite with a city view. It was an upgrade from our initial reservation. Rooms were spacious, beds were luxurious, bathroom sink was a bit small but it was a room built for those with physical limitations so I think they needed room for the shower. The Pierre is very expensive, but we needed a room at the last minute, and wanted to stay by the park, and the Pierre had room. We would return if we could get a cheaper room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TRJ330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had a very good stay at The Pierre in April. While The Pierre certainly isn't cheap I don't know that any hotel with such amazing views of Central Park is. We had a park view room which was great. Although, for the same rate in most hotels you would get a larger room - even in Manhattan.

Overall level of service at the hotel was fantastic. The elevator staff some of the friendliest people we've met.

For me this is the best possible location in Manhattan, especially spring/summer/autumn when you can enjoy the park view.

Room Tip: The higher the better, and of course, park view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacobiEstocolmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Although, The Pierre, is wonderfully located, the price of small, mediocre rooms are ridiculously expensive. The service is very good, and breakfast is wonderful. However, there are many other hotels in NYC with much better value. Ask for the kind of rom that you want. If its not to your liking, ask for a change. There are larger, nicer rooms. Ask the square footage of the room before you see it. If it sounds small, it is small!

Room Tip: If you want a view, be prepared to get a small standard room. We said a view didn't matter if w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Phyllis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Dear Phyllis M,

We thank you for staying with us, and for your feedback. We agree that there are many phenomenal hotels in New York, however we believe that an experience with a Taj property is one of a kind.

You can most certainly ask for a room change. However, it is dependent upon what is available.

We welcome the opportunity to host you again, and leave you with a more positive impression that will convince you that the room value at The Pierre is where we think it is.

Warm Regards,
The Pierre General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

After an extended period of making day trips to NYC my schedule is such that now I stay overnight more often. For decades I had stayed at the Waldorf or the Intercontinental. I decided to change and kind of randomly decided on the Pierre. That decision was partly based on the neighborhood and partly the reputation for top notch service at the Pierre.

I just concluded my second stay within a few months. As with the first, I was no disappointed at all. Absolutely everything was stupendous in every way. The room, restaurants, front desk staff, the bellmen, even live human elevator operators. When was the last time any of us saw elevator operators? It was all a wonderful throwback to when professional, courteous, outstanding wonderful customer service was the norm, in most places, and not the rarity it is today.

For me, one of the truly extra touches was the Molton Brown soaps and shampoos in the bathroom. It reminded me so much of being back in London. You just dont see Molton Brown products in hotel rooms , in the USA, too much if ever.

The beds and pillows in the rooms are so wonderful and comfortable.

As for the neighborhood that is like being a kid again running loose in a candy store. For shopping, restaurants, Central Park and the delightful Paris theater, just a block away, it really is like a kid in a candy store. There is so much to seed and do within just a few blocks of the hotel.One of these times I just might stay an extra night to allow myself more free time in the neighborhood.

It took close to 50 years of going to NYC to try the Pierre but I have tried to make up for lost time and I certainly can not wait to return to this fabulous hotel with fabulous staff and service.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We recently had a wonderful stay at The Pierre. We arrived very early and they were kind enough to provide us with a room to rest. We were later upgraded to a fabulous suite. The suite was beautifully decorated and the service at the hotel was fabulous. We travel to NYC regularly and this was our first stay at The Pierre. I would highly recommend the property and we look forward to a return stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#7 of 469 in New York City
711 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#23 of 469 in New York City
1,490 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Plaza
The Plaza
#105 of 469 in New York City
2,331 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Upper East Side
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Loews Regency New York Hotel
#35 of 469 in New York City
1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York

Address: 2 East 61st Street at Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10065
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#16 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#37 Family Hotel in New York City
#44 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $472 - $1,029 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark hotel on Fifth Avenue in New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoftTaj, Expedia, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pierre Hotel New York City
Pierre New York City
Pierre Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing