We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
$171
$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of $188/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
$139
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$207
$200
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$197
$186
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
$242
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The New Yorker a Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$206
$189
Yotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$139
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 41% below average rates

The price you found is 41% lower than this hotel's average rate of $153/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,949)
Filter reviews
1,949 results
Traveler rating
1,504
268
94
49
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,504
268
94
49
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewselevator attendantscentral parkelevator operatorcity view suitenew yorkroom serviceelegant hotelfour seasonsfifth avenuethe location is perfectfive star hotelupper east sideconcierge deskturn down servicebottle of champagnehousekeeping staffnyc hotel
Filter
Updating list...
1,426 - 1,431 of 1,949 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This is a very pleasant hotel in an ideal location for both shopping and business. The rooms are larger than most and mine was in good, modern condition. On the other hand, the bathroom was quite small with only a shower but no bath. Service is friendly and generally excellent with old-fashioned touches such as lift operators. A la carte breakfast was very good if somewhat expensive. As a fastidious English man, I am often disappointed by tea outside my own country but in the bar here I was served a proper pot with tea leaves. Be aware that taxis can be hard to come by at busy times.

Room Tip: The higher levels are quieter.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJW22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear PJW22,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a kind review. We are so glad to hear you were pleased with your stay at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, and enjoyed our centralized location to both shopping and business. We pride ourselves on our service so always appreciate when receive positive feedback from our guests. High Tea at The Pierre is a classic service we have been offering since the hotel first opened! We are so glad you were able to enjoy and experience this at Two E Bar/Lounge. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

The Pierre is an outstanding provider of gracious and generous hospitality. The hotel is immaculate, quite lovely and extremely well managed. Every experience at the hotel, from the first greeting by the Doorman to a final goodbye is a positive one.

I believe it is no small task for a quality service provider like The Pierre to achieve a consistent and appropriate level of service throughout its organization. Over the years, as a visitor to top tier hotels here and in Europe, I have experienced service which is either too cool (eyes averted) or too friendly (a hug from a stranger, who we have met twice). The first is almost always uncomfortable and the second rings false.The team at The Pierre have it right and its carefully calibrated customer/client response is the product of great training and caring employees.

Our first visit in late January at The Pierre had been slightly problematic which I described when I answered the Taj Guest Feedback. I was very pleasantly surprised when the Guest Relations Manager answered my complaint and said he would make sure that the situation was resolved. In fact he made a huge difference with an upgrade that was responsive to our needs. The day after we checked in our granddaughter Emma took the train from Boston joined us and we really appreciated the additional space of the upgrade.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor with a city view or one of the truly luxurious suites
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harvey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Harvey B,

Thank you so much for your kind words! It is very special for our staff to receive such wonderful compliments from guests; we truly appreciate you taking the time to do so. It is through such thoughtful support and feedback like yours that our staff continues to be inspired to provide impeccable service each day. What a wonderful treat that your granddaughter was able to meet you from Boston! We hope you had a very special weekend together. We look forward to welcoming you back at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York again in the near future!

Warm Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

My recent stay at the Pierre (1 night, April 14, 2013) was excellent. The staff were helpful and friendly. We stayed in a city view suite which was spacious, beautiful and extremely comfortable. We very much enjoyed taking the private car service to dinner and we had drinks in the bar before and after dinner. The drink menu was inventive and delicious. I also used the gym in the morning before checking out. The treadmills were very new and damp towels and water were available in the refrigerator. All in all it was a wonderful stay - the only problem was not staying longer!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear EmilyC,

It sounds as though you truly enjoyed your recent stay with us at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York! We are so delighted to hear you were able to experience our house car, the 2012 Jaguar XJ, which is a very recent addition to the hotel. Two E Bar/Lounge is always changing up their drink menu, with inventive new cocktails created by our master mixologist. During your next visit to The Pierre you will have to be sure to extend your stay a few more days and experience our newly opened restaurant Sirio Ristorante New York and indulge in an in-room Jiva Spa treatment! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Me & my daugther had a WONDERFUL stay at The Pierre. We started visiting New York a few times a year and now that we stayed here we will never stay anywhere else. Everyone is so nice & helpful....
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this HOTEL.
Can't wait to go back!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarianB01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear MarianB101,

What a wonderful tradition to start with your daughter! We are so delighted to hear that The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York has now become your hotel of choice for this special weekend occasion for you and your daughter. Our staff is always looking to make our guests feel as comfortable as possible and accommodate them during their stay anyway they can. We look forward to The Pierre becoming your "home away from home" while traveling in New York City!

Warm Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My daughter and I enjoyed this fabulous hotel while visiting New York during the US Open. Through American Express, we were able to enjoy first the hotel and then the extra amenities AE allows. Breakfast in the room was delicious and the Happy Hour was more than we imagined. We will stay here again and again!

Room Tip: The king size rom served our purpose beautifully!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SavvyShopper417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear SavvyShopper47,

Thank you for your kind words! We are so glad to hear you and your daughter were able to share a special weekend together at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York. We hope you had an awesome time at the US Open, how exciting! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed both breakfast and happy hour at Two E Bar/Lounge. Next time, you will have to join us for dinner at our new restaurant, Sirio Ristorante New York. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews