We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Stunning, Wonderful Pierre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Ranked #14 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
“The Stunning, Wonderful Pierre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

There are not enough superlatives to describe the Pierre. Just spent 4 nights at the Pierre with wife for special occasion, in a very attractive (if subdued) room with stunning views overlooking Central Park and 5th Avenue. City looked great also with all the Christmas decorations on display, and the tree-lighting at Rockefeller during our visit. The woman who checked us in personally took us to our room, then sent a complementary bottle of champagne (Tattinger!) up.

This hotel transports you to a time when such places were elegant and gracious, not just fancy. You can't believe this place exists in 2012 - formal without being stuffy, absolutely beautiful, calm but not dull, and a staff that is genuinely nice but with appropriate distance. The 2E bar is a gorgeous room off the lobby - perfect place to have a pre or post theatre drink. The newly opened Sirio is a sleek, really cool on-site restaurant, with a long marble bar. Great place - you could see a famous person or two there - we did. The vibe throughout is class and elegance, and just phenomenal (and polite) service. If you ever saw The Shining and recall the (hallucinated) Jack Nicholson scene where he's at the party in the radiant hotel bar, with all the beautiful people dressed up, having coctails and dancing - this place evoked that kind of feeling. The Pierre is a Stanley Kubrick movie without the scary.

Compared to the 3 other grand dame NYC properties in the touristy / 5th avenue stores area (Plaza, St. Regis and Penninsula), the Pierre is no more or less "fancy" than those, but is definitely "nicer." They are pleased to have you. By contrast, the vibe from staff at the Plaza (where we went for a drink before deciding to walk out) is obnoxious, even threatening. What is up with that? Like the others, the Pierre is expensive. Get over that - this is a special occasion / splurge kind of place. It's worth it, and while you're at it, might as well upgrade to a room with a view of the park - it's the icing on the cake. If there is anything negative to say, and it's not really negative, I'm not sure this is the place for travelers coming with young children. Others might disagree. Either way, the Pierre is truly a wonderful, 5-Star hotel. Enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lloyd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,219
    227
    77
    41
    31
See reviews for
360
583
78
368
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

The bar at the Pierre is very good and we had a bottle of French Champagne to celebrate Xmas. Originally we were going to have Xmas lunch there however if you dont have children its a bit noisy.
A classic New York hotel at the least have a drink in the bar

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DamianRoberts1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
Level Contributor
198 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

My wife and I were recently at the Pierre celebrating our anniversary. We were married in the ballroom of the Pierre. For this trip, we booked a basic suite, and were automatically upgraded to an 800 s/f executive suite overlooking the city. The hotel claims to have been through a major upgrade but to us it looked pretty much the same as it did many years ago. In some ways, this is probably appropriate. The hotel sits on the corner of 5th Ave and Central Park South abutting some of the most expensive real estate in the country. So all of the wall murals and the Persian style rugs; the elevator attendants in white gloves and the moldings and details along the ceilings... they seem appropriate for an age old classic hotel like the Pierre. So, while the hotel claims it has made updates, it still looks pretty old (and in some places a little ragged), but that was ok with us - it is a grand old NY hotel. The change of ownership to Taj hasn't affected much at all other than maybe the room service menu which features more South Asian flavored fare than in the past.

The service was excellent. Every one will have a different experience, but our's was first rate. From the doormen to the check in to the elevators and concierge, everyone smiled and was helpful. We had a breakfast included in our rate, and when we slept in and missed breakfast, they accommodated us immediately by telling us that they would add a $70 food credit so that we could order room service or have an early lunch in the hotel.

We ate in both restaurants. The tea room was great. The food in both restaurants is now provided by the owner of NY's Le Cirque, and everything was top notch from the smoked salmon dishes, to the cheese selections to the authentic pastas and sauces.

I went for a run in Central Park, and also worked out in the gym. It is small but there was no one there and had everything I needed. There were complimentary smoothies, fruits, bottled water and newspapers.

Our bedroom had high ceilings and a separate living room overlooking northern Manhattan. The decor was a little dated, but again, probably fitting with the hotel's personality.

The location is excellent. If you are here for museums, Central Park, Fifth or Madison Ave shopping - this location cannot be beat.

On the negative side, there were some minor stale odors in the hallways, the carpentry, wall painting etc on the upper floors looked a little old or sloppy; but none of this was a real drawback.

Obviously The Pierre holds some nostalgic value for me, but apart from that it is simply a classic NYC hotel, with full service in every way, excellent food and a stellar experience. And in terms of value, while our room was expensive,, all in all, it was only about $200 more per night than many other newer hotels with closets for rooms. Our room was gigantic by NY standards and I think it actually represented good value.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that do not face Fifth Ave
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glbtrvler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

The Pierre Hotel is in a great location on 61st and 5th Avenue. It is acoss from Central Park and steps away from shopping. The hotel rooms were recently renovated and are really beautiful. The bathrooms are wonderful and the walk in closet is gigantic. The hotel has some lovely old reception rooms that are just spectacular... a look of what must have been the elegance of the 1930's. The 2E lounge is just and the perfect place to have a night cap. If price is no object it is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 18rusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel is highly ranked, but it is more about the location than the hotel itself. First, the positives, the hotel is located near fabulous shopping, and Central Park - great location! The decor of the rooms is understated and elegant, the sheets, towels and toiletries are of very good quality. The front desk employees are very helpful at check in. The negatives include: the bathrooms are extremely small, which is, of course common in NY, but the worst thing is the sinks are so small that you cannot wash your face easily. The concierge is not helpful, for example, we asked what time the stores open on a Sunday and she was completely unwilling to make any effort to investigate for us. When we ordered room service we specifically asked for cream with the coffee and none came. Also, our adjoining room had turn down service arrive while they were in the room and the person came in and didn't ask if it was ok, and then proceeded to enter the bathroom while she was getting ready. My room did not even get turn down service. The lobby is not special at all.
So, for the money, there are other 5 Star hotels that are a better value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Texasbelle12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The World
Level Contributor
94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Coming back to The Pierre 14-months after my last visit simply enhances the sense that a stay here is like being a guest in the 19th Century 5th Avenue mansion of a very wealthy friend. No that the hotel isn't right up to date with the flat-screen TVs, Wi-Fi, etc., but the comfortable, quiet elegance is pervasive. Elevator operators, no less, who never fail to ask how your day was. My wife and I shared a mid-sized suite with our 8-year-old grandson. The location overlooking the south end of Central Park is wonderful. This is a 5-Star hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paddock_rat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stately, clean, and gorgeous, truly elegant. Right across from the park, close to all the shops on 5th Avenue, and a subway stop. Reception people were friendly and helpful. My room was huge (deluxe king) and quiet. Large bathroom and closet. Comfy bed. Will definitely make The Pierre my NYC home.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurensd1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#10 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#19 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#29 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Midtown
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New York
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New ...
#17 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York

Property: The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Address: 2 East 61st Street at Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10065
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#16 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#37 Family Hotel in New York City
#44 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark hotel on Fifth Avenue in New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotwire, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, DerbySoftTaj, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pierre Hotel New York City
Pierre New York City
Pierre Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing