We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$189
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$231
$205
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of $277/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$386
$345
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$396
$251
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$257
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
$174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
The New Yorker a Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$192
$165
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $199/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
$313
$245
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$289
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $159/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$213
$169
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $195/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (2,004)
Filter reviews
2,004 results
Traveler rating
1,547
272
99
51
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,547
272
99
51
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewselevator attendantscentral parkelevator operatornew yorkelegant hotelfour seasonsroom servicefive star hotelupper east sidefifth avenuepark viewconcierge deskturn down servicebottle of champagnehousekeeping staffthe location is perfectnyc hotel
Filter
Updating list...
1,509 - 1,514 of 2,004 reviews
Reviewed December 3, 2012

The bar at the Pierre is very good and we had a bottle of French Champagne to celebrate Xmas. Originally we were going to have Xmas lunch there however if you dont have children its a bit noisy.
A classic New York hotel at the least have a drink in the bar

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank DamianRoberts1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

My wife and I were recently at the Pierre celebrating our anniversary. We were married in the ballroom of the Pierre. For this trip, we booked a basic suite, and were automatically upgraded to an 800 s/f executive suite overlooking the city. The hotel claims to have been through a major upgrade but to us it looked pretty much the same as it did many years ago. In some ways, this is probably appropriate. The hotel sits on the corner of 5th Ave and Central Park South abutting some of the most expensive real estate in the country. So all of the wall murals and the Persian style rugs; the elevator attendants in white gloves and the moldings and details along the ceilings... they seem appropriate for an age old classic hotel like the Pierre. So, while the hotel claims it has made updates, it still looks pretty old (and in some places a little ragged), but that was ok with us - it is a grand old NY hotel. The change of ownership to Taj hasn't affected much at all other than maybe the room service menu which features more South Asian flavored fare than in the past.

The service was excellent. Every one will have a different experience, but our's was first rate. From the doormen to the check in to the elevators and concierge, everyone smiled and was helpful. We had a breakfast included in our rate, and when we slept in and missed breakfast, they accommodated us immediately by telling us that they would add a $70 food credit so that we could order room service or have an early lunch in the hotel.

We ate in both restaurants. The tea room was great. The food in both restaurants is now provided by the owner of NY's Le Cirque, and everything was top notch from the smoked salmon dishes, to the cheese selections to the authentic pastas and sauces.

I went for a run in Central Park, and also worked out in the gym. It is small but there was no one there and had everything I needed. There were complimentary smoothies, fruits, bottled water and newspapers.

Our bedroom had high ceilings and a separate living room overlooking northern Manhattan. The decor was a little dated, but again, probably fitting with the hotel's personality.

The location is excellent. If you are here for museums, Central Park, Fifth or Madison Ave shopping - this location cannot be beat.

On the negative side, there were some minor stale odors in the hallways, the carpentry, wall painting etc on the upper floors looked a little old or sloppy; but none of this was a real drawback.

Obviously The Pierre holds some nostalgic value for me, but apart from that it is simply a classic NYC hotel, with full service in every way, excellent food and a stellar experience. And in terms of value, while our room was expensive,, all in all, it was only about $200 more per night than many other newer hotels with closets for rooms. Our room was gigantic by NY standards and I think it actually represented good value.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that do not face Fifth Ave
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank glbtrvler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

The Pierre Hotel is in a great location on 61st and 5th Avenue. It is acoss from Central Park and steps away from shopping. The hotel rooms were recently renovated and are really beautiful. The bathrooms are wonderful and the walk in closet is gigantic. The hotel has some lovely old reception rooms that are just spectacular... a look of what must have been the elegance of the 1930's. The 2E lounge is just and the perfect place to have a night cap. If price is no object it is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 18rusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel is highly ranked, but it is more about the location than the hotel itself. First, the positives, the hotel is located near fabulous shopping, and Central Park - great location! The decor of the rooms is understated and elegant, the sheets, towels and toiletries are of very good quality. The front desk employees are very helpful at check in. The negatives include: the bathrooms are extremely small, which is, of course common in NY, but the worst thing is the sinks are so small that you cannot wash your face easily. The concierge is not helpful, for example, we asked what time the stores open on a Sunday and she was completely unwilling to make any effort to investigate for us. When we ordered room service we specifically asked for cream with the coffee and none came. Also, our adjoining room had turn down service arrive while they were in the room and the person came in and didn't ask if it was ok, and then proceeded to enter the bathroom while she was getting ready. My room did not even get turn down service. The lobby is not special at all.
So, for the money, there are other 5 Star hotels that are a better value.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Texasbelle12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Coming back to The Pierre 14-months after my last visit simply enhances the sense that a stay here is like being a guest in the 19th Century 5th Avenue mansion of a very wealthy friend. No that the hotel isn't right up to date with the flat-screen TVs, Wi-Fi, etc., but the comfortable, quiet elegance is pervasive. Elevator operators, no less, who never fail to ask how your day was. My wife and I shared a mid-sized suite with our 8-year-old grandson. The location overlooking the south end of Central Park is wonderful. This is a 5-Star hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paddock_rat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews