We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice stay despite a few minor hiccups” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Ranked #14 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very nice stay despite a few minor hiccups”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Overall we had a very nice experience celebrating our anniversary at the Pierre. The room was quiet and very comfortable. The staff was very nice and accommodating. The bar/lounge, which also served as restaurant was adequate. The location is perfect.

The minor hiccups were as follows: upon returning from dinner the first night, in addition to a nice "happy anniversary" cake we found a rollaway bed in our room. We certainly had not requested it, and it was promptly and politely taken away... just strange. We also arranged massages. These were scheduled to take place in a room on the 19th floor. There was no sign, the therapists were both late, and we had to wait in the room/spa while they set up. The massage was wonderful, but the situation was strange. Finally, the restaurant was closed for renovations, this was just a minor onconvenience.

Overall an excellent stay. I would definitely returm.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chihuahua_VT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,184
    223
    77
    40
    31
See reviews for
342
571
77
362
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Recently stayed for 2 nights on a business trip. The rates were awesome for the Pierre but when I got there, I realized why...

The hotel was undergoing major renovations and most of the lobby was closed. The hotel's gorgeous cafe was closed and the fifth avenue exit was also closed when we arrived. In addition, the hallways where very warm.

That said, the staff was nice and very helpful and the rooms were impeccable and very comfy.

Would I return to the Pierre Hotel, absolutely. At a competitive rate, of course. :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Isibet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed 4 nights for my 50th birthday. Great service. Very enjoyable. There was a cake waiting for us in our room when we arrived. We never allerted the hotel that it was a birthday celebration trip but the travel agen must have.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John-Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

when i was aking to fill my water the waiter did very fast,
i have to tell you that
And the staek was very american cancer style burned outside, the sauce was black pepper, herbs and and jellyfish inside

thank you

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JY t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We spent days deciding where to stay and eventually settled on the Pierre. What a good choice. Restful surroundings and wonderful helpful and friendly staff. So much more comfortable than a newly built hotel. We had a Signature room on the 34th floor with wonderful views over Central Park (both from the bedroom and the enormous bathroom). The room was comfortable and well equipped and serviced almost without notice. The Concierges are there to be consulted and used and the lift attendants make you feel like they are there just to transport you to your room in a private residence.

We spent the money and reckoned we got what we paid for - comfort, luxury and service and the wow factor.

Just some minor criticsms. How petty to charge for inroom wifi at those room rates. Put up the room price and make it inclusive. the Bedroom air conditioning was efficient but not the quietest so we often turned it off and were very comfortable iwith just the much quieter bathroom air con on). An enormous bathroom with a vast walk in shower and double basins and probably bigger some than bedrooms so why such a small bathtub?

We cannot wait to go to Manhattan again so long as we stay at the Pierre . .

Room Tip: We had Room 3407 with panoramic views over Central Park and also towards the East River. there were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DandDandfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed here for the last week of our honeymoon.... we booked a City View room and were upgraded on check in (always nice).

The women who checked us in personally took us to our room and showed us around.

The place is beautiful and everything is kept in immaculate condition.

The rooms are very well appointed and the bed is the most comfortable I have ever slept in.

Little touches like the shoe shine service are always nice. The maids were superb.

The bar is very good and the bar man who was working during our stay was excellent.

The car service they offer was really handy. We asked to use it 3 times and it was available each time.

Come check out the service was equally good and the staff anticipated our every request.

Credit where credit is due - The Pierre deserves 10 out of 10 all the way!

P.s - the location on the park is perfect and the spa is worth a visit too :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonnyK1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

In all fairness it is a very lovely hotel. Friendly staff, clean and spacious rooms, beautifully decorated, great location (right next to central park and a subway stop), feels very safe. However, for the price they charged, I would say think again. Despite paying a considerable amount for a room, we still had to pay for breakfast (at least $20 pp each day) and Wifi wasn't complimentary - which I thought was ridiculous. They also hire staff to stand in the elevator all day and press the button to your floor. I even got told off once by them when I tried to press the button to my floor!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank fblock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#10 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#19 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#33 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New York
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New ...
#17 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York

Property: The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Address: 2 East 61st Street at Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10065
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#16 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#37 Family Hotel in New York City
#44 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark hotel on Fifth Avenue in New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Jetsetter and Reservation Counter so you can book your The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pierre Hotel New York City
Pierre New York City
Pierre Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing