We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
$171
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of $198/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
$144
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$189
$162
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
$247
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The New Yorker a Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$197
$178
Official Site
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$229
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 43% below average rates

The price you found is 43% lower than this hotel's average rate of $158/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,948)
Filter reviews
1,948 results
Traveler rating
1,503
268
94
49
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,503
268
94
49
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewselevator attendantscentral parkelevator operatorcity view suitenew yorkroom serviceelegant hotelfour seasonsfifth avenuethe location is perfectfive star hotelupper east sideconcierge deskturn down servicebottle of champagnehousekeeping staffnyc hotel
Filter
Updating list...
1,500 - 1,505 of 1,948 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Great location for "the pierre": on central park, on 5th.Excellent rooms, perfect bathroom, great bed, cosy breakfast buffet, excellent service and prices that you have to pay in New York. An international staff that is both professional and friendly. The afternoon tea in the bar is priced as if the sandwiches were made of gold...may be they are but I did not try them.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marc d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I stayed at the hotel very recently(my first visit in15 years). Some things haven't changed; the location is great, the staff is friendly. However a couple of small negatives. I think it is time for the rooms to be updated,refurbished. Also, from a service perspective, a little work could be done. In the morning I ordered coffee and a cold dish for breakfast, I was told this would take 30 minutes to deliver. I asked if I could get it a little quicker(I really wanted my coffee). Room service was non-committal . It ended up taking 30 minutes. Despite being a very nice breakfast, I would have preferred more prompt service.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lenjoytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear Lenjoy Travel,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our centralized location, as well as our friendly staff. We appreciate your comments in regards to your room service request, as it gives us the opportunity to review your experience and make sure we are maintaining our five diamond service as we continually strive to exceed our guests’ personal service standards. We apologize for your thirty minute wait, however are happy to hear you enjoyed your meal. We look forward to the opportunity of hosting you again in the near future!

Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

The Pierre Hotel epitomizes the concepts of luxury and service. Our room was large and well equipped. We had what I think is the largest shower I have ever had in a hotel room. Service was outstanding. Location unbeatable. Only possible complaint is a view from the room of a lower roof with rusted AC sheet metal.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erich802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear TraveltheWorld,

We are thrilled to hear you had such a wonderful experience at The Pierre! We always love to hear when our guests appreciate our service and staff. It is through such thoughtful support and feedback like yours that our staff continues to be inspired to provide impeccable service each day. We are sorry to hear you were not pleased with your view. Please feel free to reach out to us directly so we can update your personal guest profile and ensure on your next stay your room will meet your expectations! Thank you again for choosing The Pierre, A Taj Hotel!

Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

If you are looking for location this the hotel for you. However, its an 80 plus years old building with no A/C hallways out of you room, slow elevators for a tall building, and renevation works that start every day at 7AM. The breakfast buffet is small with limited choices. The rooms although looks clean, i have injered myself from a broken glass that was not picked up from previous occupents. I had a package delivered to the hotel which was not delivered only after lengthy tracking from my side, which was pending with the conceirge. My stay never to be repeated.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Faisal_AlAbdulKarim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara J, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, it is by listening to feedback like yours that we are able to exceed guest expectations in the future. We apologize for our slow elevators but hope you enjoyed our friendly elevator attendants, many who’ve been with us for over 20 years.

Currently, The Pierre is undergoing a general façade inspection required by law for all New York City buildings six stories or higher. We are sorry for any noise or inconvenience this inspection may have caused. This is a temporary inspection required the city of New York and will be completed this summer, so you will not experience this on any coming stay.

Our new restaurant, Sirio Ristorante New York, will be opening this fall with a full breakfast menu. Until the renovation is complete, Two E Bar/Lounge will be serving a Continental and full American breakfast buffet.

We truly apologize for your injury. We wish you had informed us of this incident right away. We would have tended to your injury with the utmost care and concern, and would have assisted you in any way possible. Please also know that we have brought this issue to the Director of Housekeeping’s attention, who is investigating the matter and working to be sure an incident such as this is never repeated.

I truly apologize for your disappointing experience, and we welcome the opportunity to host you again and leave you with a positive impression.

Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Pierre for a week end in June. We were upgraded and occupied a small suite (3908) with fantastic views on Upper East and Central Park. Service and food (croissants and OJ are perfect) was stellar. It was the best experience I had in NY.The best thing is that you do not feel yourself in a hotel but in your own small penthouse.

Room Tip: 3908, paradise on earth
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Georges L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Dear Georges L,

Thank you so much for your kind words! We are so delighted to hear you enjoyed your week long stay with us and felt as though you had your own “small penthouse!” We have stunning views of Central Park, especially during the summer season with everything in full bloom. We will make sure to pass along your kind words to our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews