We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin New York Grand Central
Ranked #245 of 479 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Victoria
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We had booked a Queen room however were put in a twin so sleeping in a double bed was a bit squishy, fortunately the beds & pillows were really comfy. We were on 8th floor & the street noise was terrible. The staff were friendly & the room was clean. 10 minute walk to Times Square, lots of restaurants/cafes nearby. WiFi is free in the lobby but not in your room. Restaurant in lobby is quite expensive but good for a drink while using WiFi. Would stay again but ask for a room on a higher floor.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors may be a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MontessVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Thank you for your feedback! I am glad you enjoyed our location! I am sorry that unfortunately at our properties we do not have queen size beds. We only offer king beds or doubles. We hope you still had a heavenly experience in our heavenly beds.

We are glad to hear you will be staying with us again! We look forward to welcoming you back and placing you in a higher floor if possible.

Thank you,

Joe Britt
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    947
    1,042
    371
    121
    78
See reviews for
726
684
109
516
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights at this hotel. Check in was quick and room was big and clean. Lobby area is very small and congested. Appears to be lot of security staff around. Service is minimalist. Hotel has small eating area but food variety is limited. You'll be better off going to Pax next door for quick/better service as well as greater variety of meals. If I am to return to NYC I will book a hotel closer towards 7th avenue.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank BwanaKubwa_FF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
I am delighted to hear you had a quick and easy check-in experience. We were happy to provide you comfortable room as soon as possible. I thank you for your feedback in the areas of guest service and the restaurant the LCL. We will work to improve these services as we understand the importance of your feedback.

As we are actively improving our services we hope you will still consider our property.

Thank you,

Joe Britt
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
115 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

business trip and meeting in The Westin. Lobby area very small and therefore always crowded, feels like platform of a train station. Screwed up our reservation, as at midnight my later arriving colleague was given same room as me, I thought somebody wants to break into my room as I was asleep already... Rooms are ok, clean and tidy, bed is very good. Bathroom a bit smelly from the shower curtain, towels already very thin, they seem to have many years of "experience".... Got charged a bill from the bar which wasnt from us, but they took it off without making any problem. And the restaurant the concierge recommended as "our best reco for steak" was simply awful. Gym very good. Staff at check-out also very friendly !!! Would not come back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theoneandonlyArnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
I am sorry that you had multiple issues with your experience! We aim to provide service that exceeds all expectations and I see that wasn’t your experience. Please do not hesitate to contact me as I wish this not to be your last impression of our property.

Thank you,

Joe Britt
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We stayed at the Westin Grand Central Hotel for one night Memorial Day weekend. We were attending a wedding in New York City. It was very nice and the customer service people were excellent. They upgraded us to a corner room. The room was very nice. Nice smelling shampoo, soap and body wash. There was a bottle of water in the room and I was dying from thirst. Come to find out, the bottled water was $8.50. I understand this is NYC, but really? I ended up having the tap water. The highlight of my trip was going to Carnagie Deli twice. Once when we arrived on Sunday afternoon and for breakfast on Monday morning before we went to Penn Station to get our train home. The hotel was nice, but if visiting NYC again to do touring, I would stay at a hotel closer to Penn Station and/or Times Square.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ibw59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
It certainly sounds like we were able to provide you a great overall stay with us! I am happy you enjoyed our Westin White Tea Aloe Heavenly Spa products! I love the scent as well and offering this for our guests.

I am glad we were able to offer you a great stay and complimentary upgrade you to provide you a memorable stay!

We hope you will still consider staying with us again as we are close to Grand Central Station and it’s a very brief train ride to Times Square as well as Penn Station but provides you a more peaceful retreat.

Thank you,

Joe Britt
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
113 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

A nice boutique feel right in tge Grand Central area. The rooms are quite spacious by NY standards and decorated well and the heavily beds are terrific. The drawback is that the hotel lobby and check in area is chaotic and not warm at all. The staff service is just ok and unfriendly. Restaraunt in lobby has pretty good breakfast and coffee. A great value for your money for NYC.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shempie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
What a lovely title to describe our property! It is true that we are in a wonderful location allowing our guests to get to the entire island of Manhattan so easily. Grand Central Station has many subway lines, buses, and trains, providing our guests many avenues on how to travel easily.

Thank you for your feedback regarding the guest service. We want to make sure we are offering a warm and friendly welcome to our property. We will address our associates and ensure they are providing the service Starwood is known for.

Thank you,

Joe Britt
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westchester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent the weekend in NYC for my birthday. The hotel has a perfect central location to get all over the city. The hotel is decorated in a modern way, yet still feels warm and welcoming. Rooms are very clean and comfortable. My husband is a platinum Starwood member and Stephanie the Westin experience coordinator found out about my birthday and sent up a card and a cake dessert to the room. That gesture made me feel special! I was so surprised. I would recommend this property for your next visit to NYC for business or pleasure.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank rbvny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Wow is right! It sounds like you had a spectacular stay with us! Let me wish you happy birthday as well! Thank you for recognizing Stephanie for her efforts she went through to offer you a special birthday! It was our pleasure to offer you memorable birthday celebration with us!

We thank you for offering our property and look forward to welcoming you back to our property whether it’s a celebration or a trip for business.

Thank you,

Joe Britt
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver, co
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed a few nights in this super handy hotel. It is easy to walk to so many places in the city. We also loved the views of the Empire State Building all done up and red, white and blue for Memorial day.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pat j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Hello Pat j,

We do have fantastic views from our property! Our location makes us close to many great hot spots in the city! It provides a spectacular view of the Chrysler Building, one of my favorites. We do have views of the Empire State Building, East River, as well as 42nd street.

We hope you will be back at our property to see the fantastic views once again!

Thank you,

Joe Britt
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#213 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,220 reviews
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#302 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 7,307 reviews
Midtown
W New York
W New York
#312 of 479 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 3,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Manhattan East
Hilton Manhattan East
#293 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,111 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#91 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,845 reviews
Midtown
No photo provided
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#309 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin New York Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New York Grand Central

Property: The Westin New York Grand Central
Address: 212 East 42nd Street, Between 2nd Ave and 3rd Ave, New York City, NY 10017-5803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Green Hotel in New York City
#157 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#160 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#166 Family Hotel in New York City
#174 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin New York Grand Central 4.5*
Number of rooms: 774
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New York Grand Central hotel is located in the heart of midtown Manhattan. Our hotel is ideal for both leisure and business travelers as it is ideally located near Grand Central Terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Odigeo, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Starwood, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin New York Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New York Helmsley Hotel New York City
The Hotel New York City
New York Helmsley Hotel
Hemsley New York
Helmsley Hotel New York
The New York City Helmsley
Helmsley New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing