We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love our stay here in NYC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Westin New York Grand Central
Ranked #219 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 15, 2014

We stayed here back in Feb and again in April 2014. The location is great, close to Grand Central station, which makes it easy to move around. And the room is comfy, not as big but it is spacious for NYC, so no complain there. Interior is up to Westin's standard, with their signature heavenly bed.

In Feb, they put us in a room with partial view of Chrysler building, which was quite amazing in the evening. In April, we can see a bit of Empire State but not as obvious.

We've got a room at the Starwood Preferred Guest floor at a high floor, and relatively quiet (for NYC). What I like is that they are not as sticky about check-in time, unlike some other hotels in NY. They let us in at around noon, while check-in time is 3pm.

The only thing to complain is that their Service button on the phone in the room seemed to always be busy, not easy to get through. It took awhile for us to be able to speak to someone in order to request for bathroom slippers.

Service button aside, overall this is a nice hotel in great location. I don't mind staying here again next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with Chrysler or Empire State Building, the view is amazing especially in the evening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GroovyTraveller888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

We hope to become your home away from home. We thank you for choosing to stay with us in February and April! We hope it becomes a bi-monthly visit and even more frequent than that! We hope to see you back at our property soon!

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our property’s location, cleanliness, comfortable and spacious room, and guest service. We thank you for your honest feedback regarding contacting the operator and I will forward your feedback to the department head responsible. We want to ensure no guests have difficulty in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Thank you,

Joe Britt
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,519)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,958 - 1,964 of 3,519 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2014

This is a very centrally located hotel very close to Grand Central Station which is great.

What astounded me in this day and age is that you have to pay extra $15.95 per day!! for internet / wifi access. It is free in the lobby but getting connected there was a difficult job.

The staff on reception were hassled and stressed which to be honest didn't make for a great experience.

One of the best things about the hotel was the PAX restaurant next door - gorgeous pasta and food.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katekeeprunning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Thank you for your feedback on your stay. I am happy to hear your enjoyed our location. For someone’s first time to New York, being located near Grand Central Station is important and convenient for first time tourists to New York. It provides easy access to the entire city.
As it is a Starwood standard we must continue to charge for internet as this is a company standard. We hope we can provide a solution to this demand as we understand it is a big expectation.

Your check-in experience is not acceptable and I have informed our Director of Rooms so he can properly address his associates.

If you wish to further discuss your experience, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Thank you,

Joe Britt
Director of Guest Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Friendly, professional, efficient check in. Clean, nice sized room. Responsive staff. Plenty of staff to service you. Operator always picked up very quickly. No problem with extra robes or towels. Best Starwood property in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarryM007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

What a fantastic title to your review. We are delighted to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us and we have become your number one Starwood property in New York! We look forward to continuously providing you excellent service and building that relationship with you.
We cannot wait to welcome you back!

Thank you,

Joe Britt
Director of Guest Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Im a big fan of Westin, especially their heavenly beds. The hotel is big so it can get crowded in the lobby/elevator but the staff are always attentive, helpful and cheerful. The hotel is in a good (though not great) location. The upside of that is that you get an excellent room at a good price so great value for money. I'll keep coming back.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abdulaziz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

What a lovely title to your review. I am glad to hear that we have become your number one hotel in the city. We aim to be your home away from home while you are staying in New York.

We are delighted to offer our Heavenly Beds and I am happy to hear it provided you the rest and relaxation you need. As our location is east it is only 2 blocks away from Grand Central Station and provides you easy access throughout the city. Our location is not in the hustle and bustle of the city providing you a more relaxing experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our property soon!

Thank you,

Joe Britt
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Great location and well sized rooms for New York. It was however a pity about the service. At check in , the staff seem pre-occupied with other matters to sort the rooms out. We had booked 2 king bed rooms, however were given twin beds. When we went down to resolve, there was a unhelpful attitude. They wanted paper copies of our reservations. We had requested to print these as it was n our smartphone. That too was an issue until the concierge most helpfully suggested we email it to him and he printed out. The rooms didn't have a room service menu. Took over an hour and 2 calls to get one to us. Given the welcome episode was disheartening, spoilt our outlook on the hotel even though the rooms were a great size.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

We understand how important the first impression can be as it is an indicator of how the duration of your stay might go. I am sorry to hear you did not have the friendliest welcome to our property. We understand how competitive the hotel market is in New York and we thank you for choosing to stay with us.

I have informed our Director of Front Office on your experience and he is going to actively re-train our associates to ensure they provide the service Starwood is known for. We thank you for your feedback as we use it to improve our services.

Thank you,

Joe Britt
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Delivering the Westin promise is hard in NY. This Westin tries, but a so-so renovation resulted in noisy rooms with windows that don't close particularly well, in hallway noise from staff cleaning rooms at 10pm, a small lobby that is very crowded at busy times and a staff who tries but sometimes gets in each other's way. Some choices, like the minibar design, make it tough to clean the room. On the other hand, if you are taking a train from Grand Central it is convenient. I find it hard to believe that the many tourists pay the rates Americans are asked to pay for the experience...

Room Tip: If sensitive to noise, try to avoid the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rialto11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

I am sorry to hear you did not have the memorable experience we aim to provide. We take your feedback very seriously so we can improve our service. I want to thank you for your input on your stay.

We are going to take your feedback and develop solutions that we can implement to better improve our guest experience. We would never want this to be your lasting impression.

If you wish to further discuss your experience, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Thank you,

Joe Britt
Director of Guest Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Nice hotel, great location, very clean.
We took a room for four which consisted of two double beds and there wasn't much room for anything else, so perhaps a bigger sized room would have been better given the size of the party booked it.
The bar downstairs was VERY expensive, so only had one drink there!
Would have preferred a proper shower rather than a shower attachment in a bath, but that's just my personal preference.
The staff at reception were helpful as were the porters

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Thank you for your input. I am happy to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay. I hope you enjoyed our Heavenly Beds. We designed these with you, our guests, in mind. I understand your shower preference as I have this preference as well. However, we are happy to offer tubs as well because some guest prefer tubs. We are trying to provide for all of our guests.

That is great you dined at The LCL. It provides great handcrafted cocktails. We hope we will see you at our property in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact us with your preferences before your future stay and we would be happy to try to accommodate to your requests. We aim to provide you a memorable stay.

Thank you,

Joe Britt
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#333 of 469 in New York City
9,034 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#177 of 469 in New York City
2,717 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#106 of 469 in New York City
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton New York Grand Central
Hilton New York Grand Central
#341 of 469 in New York City
2,523 reviews
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#277 of 469 in New York City
3,456 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#47 of 469 in New York City
2,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin New York Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New York Grand Central

Address: 212 East 42nd Street, Between 2nd Ave and 3rd Ave, New York City, NY 10017-5803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Green Hotel in New York City
#153 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#160 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#161 Family Hotel in New York City
#169 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $202 - $632 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin New York Grand Central 4.5*
Number of rooms: 774
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New York Grand Central hotel is located in the heart of midtown Manhattan. Our hotel is ideal for both leisure and business travelers as it is ideally located near Grand Central Terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin New York Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New York Helmsley Hotel New York City
The Hotel New York City
New York Helmsley Hotel
Hemsley New York
Helmsley Hotel New York
The New York City Helmsley
Helmsley New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing