We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Weather Channel is missing from TV”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Westin New York Grand Central
Ranked #220 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 4, 2014

I love the Westin Grand Central, especially after their renovations last year but just returned from a stay there this week to the unfortunate realization that they no longer have The Weather Channel on their channel lineup. It has been replaced by something far inferior called Weather nation and the worst part is that the channel lineup still says The Weather Channel. I am going to have to find another hotel for my travel to New York. This is not acceptable and they need to find a solution to this issue immediately. Sad to have to say goodbye to this hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank Jeremy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Hello Jeremy J,

Thank you so much for your review of The Westin New York Grand Central! We are thrilled to hear that you love our hotel and all of the beautiful and new renovations that have taken place to our facility. Our property combined with our exceptional service creates an atmosphere that works to enhance the well being of all of our guests.

I sincerely apologize for your experience with the television. We now offer our guests The Weather Nation, which provides information about local, regional, and national weather forecasts. I do apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. As the channel lineup should now reflect Weather Nation, I would like to speak with you directly in order to further investigate as to why the television in your guest room did not reflect these changes. I would also like to hear further details of your stay with us in hopes to see you return to The Westin New York Grand Central in the near future. Thank you for sharing these important details of your stay with us as they are leading us to better care for our valued guests. I look forward to speaking with you soon!

Stay Well,

Joe Britt
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,418)
There are newer reviews for The Westin New York Grand Central
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,014 - 2,020 of 3,418 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed the week of Christmas, great location, and great staff, we had a view of Empire state building, and wife loves Chrysler so I met Stepanie Hepner in a elevator and asked if we could see in a room with Chysler bldg view and she offered to move us!! I told her that wasnt necessary, but just to see it would be neat, she found a room where we could view it, and actually took us up higher to another room with a better view. After we got back to our room from a day out on Christmas eve , she had also left us a Christmas card with a Westin candle. Great location, and great staff!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Hello Hal S,

I loved reading your review! It sounds like you and your wife had a wonderful stay with us here at The Westin New York Grand Central. The city has a special feel to it during the Christmas holiday, and we are happy you chose to spend that time of the year with us!

Thank you for kindly noting our convenient location. With Grand Central Station right down the street and many famous NYC landmarks in walking distance, we find that our guests truly appreciate our position in Manhattan.

I am so happy to hear that Stephanie was able to take you and your wife to see the view of The Chrysler Building from our guest rooms! I can assure you that Stephanie will be recognized for special touch she added to your stay. Next time you stay with us, we will do our very best to ensure you and your wife have a guest room with a breathtaking view of The Chrysler Building!

Thank you again for sharing the details of your memorable stay with us. We hope to see you back in New York City next December!

Be Well,

Joe Britt
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

The Westin Hotel is practically across the road from the iconic Chrysler Building and easy access to all of New York famous sights. The rooms are of generous size and very comfortable.You do not hear the usual sirens through the night as you do further up towards Times Square.A good bar/coffee shop is open till very late and serves Starbucks.Would recommend a visit

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Agnestaitbarrhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Hello Agnestaitbarrhead,

Thank you for the wonderful review! We are delighted to see that you valued our unmatched location. The view of the Chrysler Building from our hotel is truly breathtaking. Just slightly further than the Chrysler Building is Grand Central Station, which provides our guests with unconstrained access to all of the amazing offerings of New York City. Being so close to such famous landmarks is a true privilege we have here at The Westin New York Grand Central, and I love to hear that our location enhanced the experience of your stay.

In addition to our prime location, we love to see that you enjoyed your spacious, comfortable, and quiet guest room. We understand the importance of a full night of rest, as we always want to support the well-being of our guests. And what could be better than taking the elevator downstairs in the morning and grabbing a cup of Starbucks coffee from our hotel’s very own restaurant, The LCL?

It sound like you erally had a great visit with us in the city! We hope to welcome you back to our property soon!

Stay Well,

Joe Britt
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Nice hotel with great rooms, but its real plus is its location. East 42nd street just along from Grand Central Terminal, you couldn't get anymore central New York. The location makes getting around the city a breeze, lots of major attractions are only a short stroll away, if you wish to go further afield you are minutes from the trains and subway.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble.
The only slight disappointment we had was the price of WiFi in the guestrooms, I feel $15 a day is much too high a price. There is free wifi in the lobby however after a long day in the city it would have been nice to relax for a while in your room while planning your next day with the help of the internet.

Room Tip: High floor corner rooms seem to be the best.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickdruid7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Hello Michdruid,

Location, location, location! I am thrilled to see that you valued our position in Manhattan! Being located on 42nd street offers our guests easy access to all of the amazing offerings of New York City! While our guests have the ability to walk to anywhere they please, we are also privileged to have Grand Central Station just down the street. I hope you enjoyed your time exploring all of the famous landmarks of the city!

In addition, I am delighted to see that your enjoyed the exceptional service offered to you by our staff. At The Westin, we always want our guests leaving feeling better than when they arrived. We understand the importance of friendly and welcoming service, and I love to hear that you found our staff to be helpful with all requests.

I do apologize for your experience with the WiFi. While we do offer our guests complimentary internet in both our lobby and restaurant, we are always looking for ways to better the guest experience. Thank you for sharing your informative insight with us as it gives us a better look into the guest experience.

Thank you again for your fantastic review. We hope to welcome you back to The Westin New York Grand Central soon!

Stay Well,

Joe Britt
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Booked this room thru a 3rd party website and was quite pleased to find it would be the Westin and even better was the location. Check in and out was a breeze. It was quite the surprise when we got to our room, opened our door to find a hall way with windows facing 42nd street, turning the corner to find a great room setup with a super comfortable bed and more windows facing 43rd street. Not to mention, the room was big enough to have a couch/sitting area. But that wasn't it, we found an amazing shower in the bathroom that was massive and beautifully tiled. We loved our room, our stay was great and the location was perfect. Will be back again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bcasacci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Dear Bcasacci,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at The Westin New York Grand Central with us! It was a true pleasure reading all of the wonderful details of your stay. What a surprise it must have been to find out you would be staying at our property! We were so happy to have you, and after reading your review, I have no doubt that you had a relaxing and rejuvenating stay with us here in the city.

I am pleased to see that you had a smooth check-in process and were thrilled when you opened up the door to your guest room. There is nothing quite like the view looking out onto 42nd street and then up to the Chrysler Building. From the spacious layout of our guest rooms to our Heavenly products, I love to see that you felt well-cared for during your time with us. Our goal is to enhance the experience of our guests through our thoughtful amenities. I am happy to see that you enjoyed all of them.

In addition to our facility, it is great to know that you valued our convenient location in Manhattan. I am sure you were able to do some fun sightseeing with Grand Central Station such a short walk away.

It sounds like you had an amazing time with us here in The Big Apple. We are so excited to welcome you back to our hotel soon! Thank you again for sharing your incredible experience!

Stay Well,

Joe Britt
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

The location was indeed central to everything you need to access in New York City. I came with my partner for a short NYC trip to take everything in. We're young so walking to each location was not an issue for us and we were conveniently located yay.

Unfortunately WIFI was expensive.. and I was suprised especially due to the fact that this hotel is a business oriented hotel I assumed it would come with it. Oh well. The room was simple and clean. Thank god it was very clean. No issues with that. But then again no pizzazz. but what did I expect coming to a business hotel right ;)?

Anyhow decent experience. Would try a different hotel next time though.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarakristina3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Hello Sarakristina3,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and the TripAdvisor community, and thank you for choosing to stay with us during your short trip to New York City! I am happy to see that you found our location to be convenient. In addition to having Grand Central Station right down the street, our guests have the ability to walk the streets of the city to reach their destinations. With so much to see and so little time, I would have walked the city just as you and your loved one did!

Our spacious and clean guest rooms ensure that our guests feel well cared-for during their time with us. I hope you slept well in our Heavenly Bed and enjoyed your Heavenly Shower! I do apologize for your experience with your in room WiFi. We are happy to offer our guests complimentary WiFi in both our lobby and restaurant, as we understand the importance of the internet these days. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us! We are constantly looking for ways to enhance the guest experience here at The Westin New York Grand Central.

We hope to welcome you back to The Big Apple soon!

Stay Well,

Joe Britt
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We always stayed at the Doubletree in Times Square, but greedy Hilton hiked the point requirement for December to a level that is ridiculous. So we had to find a new home base for our annual Christmas weekend.

The Westin has a great location, just a few blocks from Grand Central. Many rooms (ours included) have a view of the Chrysler Building (which we loved). Room was clean and served our sleeping needs. And you get all the "heavenly" features of a Westin.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank Elitefreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Hello Elitefreak,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us over this past Christmas weekend! I am delighted to see that you had a fabulous stay with us and admired all of the offerings of The Westin New York Grand Central.

With Grand Central Station right down the street, our guests can easily travel to any part of Manhattan they desire. I have no doubt that you and your family enjoyed your time exploring the city, especially during the Christmas holiday. The city is a magical place during that time of the year.

There’s nothing like coming back to the revitalizing comfort of our guest rooms after being out and about all day long. I love to hear that you slept well in our Heavenly Bed. We hope to welcome you back to The Westin New York Grand Central next December for another relaxing holiday weekend getaway.

Thank you for sharing your lovely feedback with us. We hope to see you again soon!

Be Well,

Joe Britt
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#175 of 468 in New York City
2,581 reviews
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#325 of 468 in New York City
8,808 reviews
Midtown
Hilton New York Grand Central
Hilton New York Grand Central
#332 of 468 in New York City
2,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
W New York
W New York
#318 of 468 in New York City
4,411 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#52 of 468 in New York City
2,256 reviews
Midtown
Le Parker Meridien New York
Le Parker Meridien New York
#258 of 468 in New York City
5,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin New York Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New York Grand Central

Address: 212 East 42nd Street, Between 2nd Ave and 3rd Ave, New York City, NY 10017-5803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Green Hotel in New York City
#153 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#156 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#161 Family Hotel in New York City
#169 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $230 - $686 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin New York Grand Central 4.5*
Number of rooms: 774
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New York Grand Central hotel is located in the heart of midtown Manhattan. Our hotel is ideal for both leisure and business travelers as it is ideally located near Grand Central Terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin New York Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New York Helmsley Hotel New York City
The Hotel New York City
New York Helmsley Hotel
Hemsley New York
Helmsley Hotel New York
The New York City Helmsley
Helmsley New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing