We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great after recent renovation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Westin New York Grand Central
Ranked #226 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great after recent renovation”
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

A really good place to stay, great value, ultra clean and a very pleasant stay. Rooms a reasonable size with good facilities and comfortable beds. Very happy and will stay again, I hope this is how all Westins will be soon, if so will become a reliable brand. No complaints.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChampagneChristopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Wow! It certainly sounds like you had a great stay with us and truly enjoyed all our property has to offer. From the great service from our associates, to the clean and spacious rooms, to the perfect location right in Midtown.

I am happy that you found the Heavenly beds heavenly and they provided you a comfortable night stay. All of the Westin brand aims to provide excellent service and quality rooms and amenities.

I am happy you will be back as we can’t wait to exceed your expectations and wow you in the future.

Thank you,

Joe Britt
Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,283
    1,312
    445
    147
    103
See reviews for
994
884
128
664
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (688)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Went to New York for a Saturday night. Great location and huge room for NYC. The bathroom was awesome with a rain shower head they did a good job with the renovation. Check in was easy and the staff was very courteous. The next time I visit New York I will defiantly be staying at the Westin.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raja0202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
I am beyond pleased to hear that you enjoyed our central location in New York City as well as the level of service you received from our associates. I am glad to hear that you had a smooth and effortless check in and truly enjoyed the Heavenly Bath and Shower. We aim for all of our guests to have a relaxing and refreshing experience at our property, thus providing them with a Heavenly Bed and Shower.

We are so excited to hear that you will be staying with us the next time you are in New York City. We definitely are looking forward to welcoming you back to our property and offering you another exceptional stay.

Thank you,

Joe Britt
Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

My friend and I recently spent two nights at this hotel over a long weekend. As usual, it was clean, comfortable and the service was on point. Never any complaints. The location is nice, close to the subway and obviously plenty of places right outside.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcn_mi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
I want to thank you for your loyalty to our property and for choosing to stay with us over and over again. I am so happy to hear that you consistently receive a positive experience every time you stay with us.

I am happy you enjoy our comfortable and spacious rooms, our refreshing bathrooms and our guest service. I hope you continue to stay with us as we appreciate your loyalty and can’t wait to welcome you back in the future.

Thank you,

Joe Britt
Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed for 10 nights which is a pretty long stay for a New York trip, but coming from Europe we wanted it fit in lots of things, we even paid for one night that we didn't use the room as we were in Washington. The room was a good size, lovely and clean with really comfortable beds, however there were a few details not addressed, the complimentary coffee/milk etc. was not topped up after use, when the wine glasses were used they were not replaced, we used the room as a family room none of these things were sufficient for four and neither were there sufficient towels. We had breakfast only one morning and were not unhappy with the food but the price was over the top 6 dollars for tea or coffee surely that should be included with the breakfast price. All in all we had a great time in New York and would probably use the Hotel again as the location and cleanliness couldn't be faulted.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Hello Anita L,

I am pleased to hear that overall you had a wonderful stay with us. I want to thank you for choosing to stay with us all the way from Spain. I hope your trip to New York City was a memorable one. You even got to see Washington DC? That is wonderful, I love that city.

I do want to apologize that your amenities in your room weren't always replenished as they should have been. I have contacted the Director of Housekeeping and he is bringing up the importance of detail orientation and proper servicing of the room in his next pre-shift meeting. I have also informed our Director of Food and Beverage on the issue with the service verses the value you received with the LCL items. He is going to discuss a possible solution with the executive chef to research if a better pricing model can be followed.

I want to thank you for your feedback as we use it to pinpoint our services and we do hope you will decide to stay with us in the future the next time you plan a trip to New York City.

Thank you,

Joe Britt
Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for business for one evening. The hotel is well finished having been recently renovated and the location is fantastic being very close to Grand Central Station. However, the windows were so terrible in my room that I heard road noise the entire night.

Well I certainly realize that I'm in the city that never sleeps, I have stayed many times at various hotels in New York (mid-town, downtown) and have never had this issue.

The sounds of loud screeching, sirens and road work kept me up nearly the entire night. When I brought this to the hotel's attention in the morning, they were somewhat empathetic, but certainly did not offer my anything more than a "we're dealing with construction - it's normally a quiet room"

In my view - I should have been warned of the construction at the time of the booking, but I'm not sure that really was the issue.

I won't be staying at the Westin Grand Central again any time soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bowlth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Hello Bowlth,

I want to personally apologize for your recent experience dealing with the street noise outside. As I am a light sleeper and very noise sensitive I understand the need for quiet to be able to truly get a well-rested night sleep. As we want our guests to leave feeling relaxed and re-energized, I understand that a quiet night sleep is an important factor in accomplishing that goal.

I want to inform you we are addressing your concerns of the noise outside the window and we are currently implementing a solution to add a new seal to the windows to help reduce the amount of city noise heard in the guest rooms. I would love for you to give us another opportunity as soon your concern about noise should be improved.

Thank you,

Joe Britt
Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Great experience. Love the location. Centrally located. The hotel was lovely, our room was spotless. Huge pat on the back for Lilly at Front Desk. She is a star! who represented Westin better than any other front desk person I have ever met! Loved being greeted by someone who knew their job, was professional and sweet at the same time. We have stayed at the Westin on 8th and, although it too is a great hotel in a great location, it felt less personal. This Westin managed to make a big hotel feel like a home away from home. Will definitely visit this Westin again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
WOW! I am so happy to hear Lily offered you the Starwood level of service we aim to provide. We at The Westin New York Grand Central understand how important it is to offer that first impression into our property. We want our guests to feel a warm welcome at their home away from home.

I am so happy you not only enjoyed our location near Grand Central Station offering you an easy commute throughout the city, but also enjoyed the level of service we provide as well. We treasure and value every guest that enters our doors and I am happy to hear Lily was able to provide you that level of attention.

She will certainly be recognized for her efforts. Lily and all of us here hope to see you back here with us again soon.

Thank you,

Joe Britt
Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
96 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I returned to this hotel as I generally like the chain, good location and enjoyed last visit.
However this time everything with their service seemed to go wrong.
My reservation wasn't on their computer, causing a delay until it was approved
Then they forgot my wake up call
And finally, when we requested to have a late checkout, they told us that we couldn't' as they needed the room, despite;
1. They were willing to extend for an extra fee....
2. They granted it to my colleague checking out the same day
3. I had requested this with my reservation and was assured they would try to accommodate.

Room Tip: Make sure your reservation is confirmed by the hotel, not just the chain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank yacovk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Hello Yacovk,

I am happy to see you had a positive experience with us before in June. However, I am terribly sorry that your most recent experience was not as successful. I have contacted our Director of Operations on your experience and forwarded her your feedback. She has investigated who checked you in and who was responsible for your wake up call. She has conversed with the individuals and is retraining them on the service basics and how to provide the Westin Way of service.

We only want you to feel cared for and appreciated. I thank you for your feedback as we use it as a tool to improve our services. If you wish to further discuss your experience please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Thank you,

Joe Britt
Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#177 of 468 in New York City
2,214 reviews
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#320 of 468 in New York City
8,460 reviews
Midtown
Hilton New York Grand Central
Hilton New York Grand Central
#328 of 468 in New York City
2,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
W New York
W New York
#318 of 468 in New York City
4,254 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#99 of 468 in New York City
874 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#53 of 468 in New York City
2,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin New York Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New York Grand Central

Property: The Westin New York Grand Central
Address: 212 East 42nd Street, Between 2nd Ave and 3rd Ave, New York City, NY 10017-5803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Green Hotel in New York City
#156 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#158 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#165 Family Hotel in New York City
#173 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin New York Grand Central 4.5*
Number of rooms: 774
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New York Grand Central hotel is located in the heart of midtown Manhattan. Our hotel is ideal for both leisure and business travelers as it is ideally located near Grand Central Terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelPower, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin New York Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New York Helmsley Hotel New York City
The Hotel New York City
New York Helmsley Hotel
Hemsley New York
Helmsley Hotel New York
The New York City Helmsley
Helmsley New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing