We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great classy hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin New York Grand Central
Ranked #218 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Vancouver
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A great classy hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed here on a Starfriends rate and it was a great place to rest our heads. Hoda and JC at the front desk were amazing and our room was an unbelievable corner suite with a view of the Empire State building. After spending our first night in town at another mid-town hotel which we were disappointed in, the Westin Grand Central was really nice. I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We really liked the corner suite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chewie39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Wow! I am glad to hear that Hoda and JC were able to offer you a warm welcome and exceed your expectations. We always aim to provide you with the best guest service possible, trying to go above and beyond. I am happy that was your experience and Hoda and JC will be recognized.

Thank you for taking the time to give the TripAdvisor community such a detailed review. I am happy you were able to enjoy the view of the Empire State Building as we are less than 10 blocks away. With the central location of this hotel we are able to provide our guests a nice walk to Central Park, Times Square, the Chrysler Building, and the Empire State Building and many more.

We are excited you will be back with us and can’t wait to welcome you to our property once more.

Thank you,

Joe Britt
Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,238
    1,249
    433
    142
    98
See reviews for
956
838
124
643
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (671)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
159 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

For convenience to the train, airport and subway this location is awesome. Not a lot of funky cool places to eat nearby but thats what the subway is for.
My other half arrived three hours before I did but would not let him check in. Since when are couples not allowed to check the other in?! I even called and spoke to the front desk but since I had booked through hotels.com they wouldn't consider it. Needless to say this started our trip off on a bad foot and tainted the stay since he had to wait three hours in the lobby for me to arrive. We stay in five start hotels all over the world, in fact we just came back from Germany and I arrived first and was promptly given a room. He arrived 8 hours later, had this happened then I would have come unglued as I had spent 18 hours travelling. Upon my arrival at the Westin there was no apology or recompense. Just an "its policy".
The room was the two beds we had requested since we were travelling with a friend. The bathroom was decent size as was the room. About the size of a three star European room which is typical for New York. The lobby was nice and there is a restaurant. Also a 3000 sq ft gym with lots of cardio and they will rent you gym clothes if needed (kind of a gross thought).
Internet was $40 for three days for multiple devices. Grand central station is about a block as are the subway lines. There is a C store next door and a decent deli for breakfast.
All in all a decent hotel but the check in problem leaves a bad taste in my mouth. Kind of getting mad just writing about it. Be careful and make sure all names are on the reservation otherwise you will get screwed by the policy.
The value was horrible at $1500 for three nights. But this is typical of NYC in October. It still stings, especially in light of the service received.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PHXTrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
I am terribly sorry that you could not add your roommate to the reservation. It is true that for our guests safety we want to make sure the guest whose name is on the reservation, authorizes the people that are added to their room. We wouldn't want anyone who knows you are at the hotel to have access to your room. However, the fact that you had called ahead and authorized it is upsetting. I can understand why you would be upset as your other half wasn't allowed to check in early and had to wait in the lobby.

My associate, Stephanie had talked to you earlier when you wrote us an email and she informed me that she had contacted the Director of Front Office to investigate who assisted you on the phone and at check in. She was able to identify the associates who assisted you and has retrained them, making them aware of the appropriate rules and protocols. I apologize for the inconvenience it caused.

If you wish to further discuss your experience, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.
Thank you,

Joe Britt
Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Just had a wonderful stay at this property. It's located near Grand Central Terminal, which makes getting around the city super easy. The staff was warm and accommodating. The rooms are nice size and the heavenly bed is consistently comfortable. Thank you Westin!

Room Tip: We were on the 37th floor facing 42nd st.and had a great view of the New York skyline and Chrysler...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelwithRhonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
You are welcome, TravelwithRhonda! We are all so happy to hear you had such a memorable stay with us. Grand Central Station is a wonderful bonus for our property, being located near one of the biggest train stations in New York City with tons of trains and subways that travel there really makes our hotel in a convenient location.

We do have quite large hotel rooms compared to New York City standards as we only want our guests to find a place where they can re-energize and recharge themselves. We want you to be able to enjoy the activity of the city, while being able to enjoy the peace and escape the hotel provides. We can’t wait to welcome you back!

Thank you,

Joe Britt
Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

My girlfriend and I went to NYC for the holiday weekend. The hotel was beautiful and the room was great and had an amazing view! We had room service several times during our stay and each time, the food was great! I can't say enough about this place!

Room Tip: We had a corner room, which was great! I can't imagine there is a bad room to be had anywhere i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
It sounds like you and your girlfriend truly enjoyed your time together at our property. I am happy to hear we were able to meet your every need and provide you both a special time in New York City.

I am glad you enjoyed the cuisine and menu crafted by our own Executive Chef. We are always trying to seek new ways to exceed our guests’ expectations and I am happy to hear we were able to with view from the room and the quality of food.

We hope you both will be back to our hotel the next time you are in the city.

Thank you,

Joe Britt
Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed at the Westin Grand Central for one night. Arrived before check-in, and the hotel held our bags and even called us as soon as our room was ready (which was 3 hours before official check-in time). The room was very nice and clean. Tried out the hotel restaurant as well - great drinks and appetizers.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Hello Nicole W,

That is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed all the property had to offer. We try to anticipate our guests’ needs by storing your luggage before the room is ready and giving you a simple phone call when it is. This way you can go and enjoy the wonderful city of New York and not have to wait in our lobby.

I am happy to hear you enjoyed our on property restaurant The LCL, here we provide high quality cuisine and handcrafted cocktails made by our own mixologist.

We hope to see you back in our lobby and the LCL very soon.

Thank you,

Joe Britt
Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
171 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Only stayed here one nite when weekend rates were available, so the cost was reasonable for New York. Th room was a good size with a heavenly bed (very comfortable) and the bathroom had standard SPG amenities .

Check in was efficient and easy, even though the hotel was busy. As a Gold member we had a room on the 32nd floor and had no road noise ( or view). That was not important, as most of the time we were out seeing the sights.

Would recommend the hotel to anyone who wants to be in the center of town, near the theater district, 42nd Street , and shopping. The subway and train are close by for easy sightseeing.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lopezbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
I agree that we are in a great location for tourists that are new to the city. Not only are we in a safe area, in the middle of Manhattan, near tons of restaurants and bars, but we are steps away from Grand Central Station that can take you everywhere in the city. With the number of trains that are available and subways at Grand Central Station you can see all of the sights.

I am glad to hear we were able to provide you a Heavenly sleep with our Heavenly Bed and the high floor for a quiet escape. We designed that mattress with our guests in mind to ensure a rejuvenating experience.

We certainly hope to see you soon.

Thank you,

Joe Britt
Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles,CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

I've been to NYC many times and have tried many hotels over the years. I have never stayed so close to Grand Central but really enjoyed this location. Very easy to get to any subway route and a good walk to the Theatre District. If very cold or rainy, the walk to the theatre area may be a bit far but we had the good fortune of the fall season and enjoyed walking many places.

The hotel was recently renovated and is nicely decorated. It is not exactly charming but quite functional and everything is clean and new! Good sized rooms, nice bathroom and a very helpful staff.

I have stayed at smaller boutique hotels which have a little more 'charm' but the Westin New York Grand Central has the benefit of a wonderful location, large rooms and the place is not overwhelmingly huge.

I'd stay there again without hesitation!

Room Tip: If you can get a corner room, it is a bit larger. We were on the 26th floor and it there was not to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrea802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
I am so happy to hear that you truly enjoyed our property and location even though you normally would choose smaller, boutique hotels. We are so happy that you found us after staying in many New York City hotels throughout the years.

We are in a great walking distance to so many New York City hot spots like, Times Square, Central Park, 5th avenue, The Empire State Building, and more. We are right across the street from The Chrysler Building , a large landmark in New York.

I am happy you enjoyed our renovation and all the amenities and comforts is has to offer. We are happy you wouldn't hesitate to come back as we wouldn't hesitate to welcome you back to our property.

Thank you,

Joe Britt
Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#186 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#314 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,241 reviews
Midtown
W New York
W New York
#315 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton New York Grand Central
Hilton New York Grand Central
#311 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,319 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#95 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#54 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin New York Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New York Grand Central

Property: The Westin New York Grand Central
Address: 212 East 42nd Street, Between 2nd Ave and 3rd Ave, New York City, NY 10017-5803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Green Hotel in New York City
#151 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#156 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#165 Family Hotel in New York City
#173 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin New York Grand Central 4.5*
Number of rooms: 774
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New York Grand Central hotel is located in the heart of midtown Manhattan. Our hotel is ideal for both leisure and business travelers as it is ideally located near Grand Central Terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin New York Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New York Helmsley Hotel New York City
The Hotel New York City
New York Helmsley Hotel
Hemsley New York
Helmsley Hotel New York
The New York City Helmsley
Helmsley New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing