We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - Great Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Westin New York Grand Central
Ranked #217 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
West Chester, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location - Great Hotel!”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed at the Westin Grand Central for one night. Arrived before check-in, and the hotel held our bags and even called us as soon as our room was ready (which was 3 hours before official check-in time). The room was very nice and clean. Tried out the hotel restaurant as well - great drinks and appetizers.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Hello Nicole W,

That is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed all the property had to offer. We try to anticipate our guests’ needs by storing your luggage before the room is ready and giving you a simple phone call when it is. This way you can go and enjoy the wonderful city of New York and not have to wait in our lobby.

I am happy to hear you enjoyed our on property restaurant The LCL, here we provide high quality cuisine and handcrafted cocktails made by our own mixologist.

We hope to see you back in our lobby and the LCL very soon.

Thank you,

Joe Britt
Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,310
    1,340
    458
    153
    104
See reviews for
1,041
890
129
679
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (701)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Only stayed here one nite when weekend rates were available, so the cost was reasonable for New York. Th room was a good size with a heavenly bed (very comfortable) and the bathroom had standard SPG amenities .

Check in was efficient and easy, even though the hotel was busy. As a Gold member we had a room on the 32nd floor and had no road noise ( or view). That was not important, as most of the time we were out seeing the sights.

Would recommend the hotel to anyone who wants to be in the center of town, near the theater district, 42nd Street , and shopping. The subway and train are close by for easy sightseeing.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lopezbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
I agree that we are in a great location for tourists that are new to the city. Not only are we in a safe area, in the middle of Manhattan, near tons of restaurants and bars, but we are steps away from Grand Central Station that can take you everywhere in the city. With the number of trains that are available and subways at Grand Central Station you can see all of the sights.

I am glad to hear we were able to provide you a Heavenly sleep with our Heavenly Bed and the high floor for a quiet escape. We designed that mattress with our guests in mind to ensure a rejuvenating experience.

We certainly hope to see you soon.

Thank you,

Joe Britt
Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles,CA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I've been to NYC many times and have tried many hotels over the years. I have never stayed so close to Grand Central but really enjoyed this location. Very easy to get to any subway route and a good walk to the Theatre District. If very cold or rainy, the walk to the theatre area may be a bit far but we had the good fortune of the fall season and enjoyed walking many places.

The hotel was recently renovated and is nicely decorated. It is not exactly charming but quite functional and everything is clean and new! Good sized rooms, nice bathroom and a very helpful staff.

I have stayed at smaller boutique hotels which have a little more 'charm' but the Westin New York Grand Central has the benefit of a wonderful location, large rooms and the place is not overwhelmingly huge.

I'd stay there again without hesitation!

Room Tip: If you can get a corner room, it is a bit larger. We were on the 26th floor and it there was not to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andi802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
I am so happy to hear that you truly enjoyed our property and location even though you normally would choose smaller, boutique hotels. We are so happy that you found us after staying in many New York City hotels throughout the years.

We are in a great walking distance to so many New York City hot spots like, Times Square, Central Park, 5th avenue, The Empire State Building, and more. We are right across the street from The Chrysler Building , a large landmark in New York.

I am happy you enjoyed our renovation and all the amenities and comforts is has to offer. We are happy you wouldn't hesitate to come back as we wouldn't hesitate to welcome you back to our property.

Thank you,

Joe Britt
Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Bay, California
Level 6 Contributor
415 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Very nice hotel. Great location. Expensive. Comfortable stay. Room service food was very good. Only problem was we had to call twice when we needed maintenance and housekeeping assistance. I think the problem was with the front desk because they came right away after the second call. Despite this we would stay here again. One other note - we watched a movie in the room and it kept skipping all the way through. We found it very annoying for a $17.99 movie!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theheatonfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Hello Theheatonfamily,

I am happy to hear you and your family had such a comfortable stay. That is wonderful to hear you enjoyed the In Room Dining. It is always nice treat to have food delivered to your room and have a nice night in. I am happy you enjoyed the quality of the cuisine.

I am sorry to hear that you had to call twice to get assistance with housekeeping and engineering, but I am pleased to hear they were able to assist you and resolve the questions you had. I do want to apologize that your movie skipped, please don’t hesitate to contact us when this happens as we would be happy to assist you if there is an issue with your movie.

If you wish to further discuss your experience do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Thank you,

Joe Britt
Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naugatuck, CT
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Newly renovated Hotel is just one block from Grand Central,it has nicely appointed rooms which are a decent size by New York standards. Beds were very comfortable, large flat screen TV, baths were bright with new fixtures. We got a decent price of less than $300 with AAA, which was a huge discount off their regular rates, and good for a Midtown premium hotel. Our only complaint, which got them a 4 instead of a 5,was a very weak AC unit. We like a cool room when we sleep, TStat could be set to 65, the room never got below 68 on a cool fall night, even after maintenance replaced a very dirty filter. Overall we enjoyed our stay at this hotel.
The breakfast is very expensive at the on site restaurant, a great alternative is 2 doors down, a deli/store that serves a decent breakfast for a fraction of what the hotel does!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JazzCT55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
We did recently have a huge renovation on this property, keeping our guests in mind. I am happy to hear you enjoy our modern decor and new amenities and features that we now offer. I am glad you found our rooms just Heavenly. We aim to provide our guests a peaceful night sleep and designed our mattress with you in mind.

I am happy to hear you enjoyed the Heavenly Bath, another service we are proud of as we installed Rain Shower heads to provide our guests with a refreshing experience. I understand wanting a cool room, I have the same preference. I have contacted our Director of Engineering and he is currently looking at a new solution for temperature control in the guest rooms.

I am happy you enjoyed the local surroundings for breakfast, our location truly seemed to meet your needs. We hope to see you in the future as we work on improving our services.

Thank you,

Joe Britt
Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Helmsley turned into the Westin approx November 2012. When we checked in on changeover day it was chaos. In the subsequent years a lot has changed. The check in procedure is smooth and professional, thank you Doris, and the concierge Sandra is very friendly, helpful and efficient, The rooms are clean and well maintained, cleaning done professionally and conveniently.
The hotel is on 42nd St between 2nd and 3rd Avenue. This is very convenient for up and down town. Many good restaurants are located nearby plus many small convenience stores.
Thanks to all for a great stay Westin.

Room Tip: We have stayed front, back and the side. All are good, but be aware of your visibility to the neig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PQRBromley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for deciding to give us another shot after the first day we became a Westin. It was a very active exciting time for us and I am so happy to hear that our service has only improved. That is wonderful to hear Sandra and Doris provided fantastic guest service and offered you a warm welcome. There efforts will not go unnoticed. I am happy to hear you truly enjoyed the clean room and amenities.

We are in a great location on 42nd street near many great restaurants as well as convenient walks to many hot spots and attractions in the city. With our location near Grand Central Station you are sure to get anywhere in the city that you desire with the ease and accessibility of the trains and subways.

We hope you will continue to stay with us in the future as our service continues to increase each time you visit.

Thank you,

Joe Britt
Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Over the years I have stayed in NYC in many different reputable hotels but always have been disappointed either because of the location, the noise level, the service, or the quality of the property itself. This particular hotel is in the right location; it is kept in excellent condition; there is absolutely no noise (very peaceful rooms)...you can actually unwind and truly rest in this place; and most importantly the staff is very professional but never in your face. All of my requests were immediately met and then some. I only rate excellence and this is an excellent hotel for NYC. So if you happen to wonder where to stay in NYC on your next visit, check into this Westin and hope you love your stay as much as I did.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manolo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
“You can actually unwind and truly rest in this place.” I am so happy you felt this way of our property. This is the atmosphere and environment we wish to provide all of our guests. It is wonderful to hear that was your experience as we only want you to leave here feeling better than when you arrived. We want to be your personal retreat in the busy city of New York.

It sounds like you truly experience the high level of service we aim to provide our guests here at the Westin New York Grand Central. We only wish to exceed your expectations and go above and beyond. I thank you for such an excellent review of our hotel and your rating of excellence.

We cannot wait to have you at our property again and provide you another excellent stay.

Thank you,

Joe Britt
Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#179 of 467 in New York City
2,420 reviews
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#322 of 467 in New York City
8,691 reviews
Midtown
W New York
W New York
#320 of 467 in New York City
4,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton New York Grand Central
Hilton New York Grand Central
#331 of 467 in New York City
2,429 reviews
Midtown
Even Hotel New York - Midtown East
Even Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#23 of 467 in New York City
294 reviews
Midtown
Le Parker Meridien New York
Le Parker Meridien New York
#257 of 467 in New York City
5,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin New York Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New York Grand Central

Property: The Westin New York Grand Central
Address: 212 East 42nd Street, Between 2nd Ave and 3rd Ave, New York City, NY 10017-5803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Green Hotel in New York City
#154 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#156 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#162 Family Hotel in New York City
#170 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin New York Grand Central 4.5*
Number of rooms: 774
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New York Grand Central hotel is located in the heart of midtown Manhattan. Our hotel is ideal for both leisure and business travelers as it is ideally located near Grand Central Terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Starwood, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your The Westin New York Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New York Helmsley Hotel New York City
The Hotel New York City
New York Helmsley Hotel
Hemsley New York
Helmsley Hotel New York
The New York City Helmsley
Helmsley New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing