We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable,clean and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Westin New York Grand Central
Ranked #220 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Very nice room,large TV,couch and dressing area-great location and excellent service.Managesr Edward Maynard & Wilberto Olivera do a great job running a tight ship.Good lobby coffeeshop too.Just a block from Grand Central Station,it couldn't be more convenient.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frank_king99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,418)
There are newer reviews for The Westin New York Grand Central
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,218 - 2,224 of 3,418 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

We arrived at the hotel at 9am after a horrendous 15 hour flight with no sleep. Louida at the front desk greeted us like long lost friends and although the room we had been allocated was not yet ready she checked us into another room immediately so we could freshen up and hit the town. All the staff throughout our stay were extremely courteous and helpful and the bed was the best hotel bed I have ever slept in. The bagels and coffee we had for breakfast, although pricey, we're the best I have had in many trips to NYC.

The overall experience at this hotel far exceeded expectations and for the price we paid was good value for money we paid was certainly good value. Loida arranged SPG membership for me and I will certainly be using it as the Grand Central again

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank macdoof1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Close to everything. $20 cab ride to Battery Park or practically anywhere within 50 blocks. Restaurants are within walking distance and Times Square is about six blocks west. Although this was our first trip it will not be the last.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rtaylor537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

This is probably the tenth or twelfth Westin I've stayed in. I mucked around trying to find a good rate on Quikbook and settled on the Starwood site. Got a great rate with breakfast tossed in (and it was SOME breakfast!). This is in the quieter, less flashy Midtown East area, nestled between 2nd and 3rd Avenues and you can barely see it from the window of the 42 crosstown bus. I had a beautiful room with a small couch, everything spotless and comfy, maximum use of a smallish space but not cramped. Lovely room in a bustling, contemporary, full service hotel. The room was quiet (unlike many hotels). I enjoyed a smashing breakfast in a very upscale restaurant on premises. Lots of people out front to help with bags, taxis, transport. Westin: doing everything all right all the time in every place. They won me over again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PigsFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear PigsFly,

FANTASTIC! I am so happy to hear you had such a terrific experience at our hotel! Our goal is to anticipate your needs and provide you a unique and special experience. I am happy to hear our staff, food, and rooms all exceed your expectations.

I am so glad you found the location perfect! We think it is too as our guests are able to experience all of the wonderful hot spots of the city in a matter of minutes by using Grand Central Station which is less than 2 blocks away!

We want our room to provide a refreshing and renewing environment and I am glad we were able to accomplish that. I am glad you were able to receive a Heavenly night’s sleep in our Heavenly Bed.

We certainly hope to see you at our property the next time you plan a visit to the city.

Thank you,

Joe Britt
Service Express Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed here during USOpen. The rooms were very comfortable, spacious, the lobby has always a nice white tea smell but can use more sofas. the location is ideal close to grand central station. walkable to 5th ave. One thing that annoyed my stay. I saw hairs in the bathroom when I checked in, I didn't want to make a fuss.......but overall very good and would stay there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelina_Serra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Angelina_Serra,

That is great to hear that overall you had a great stay with us! I love the white tea scent, one of my favorite concepts that Westin has come up with, by providing a signature scent.

Our location is premiere, located in a quieter part of town providing our guests an escape from the hustle and bustle, as our aim is to provide guests a renewing and revitalizing experience.

I do want to apologize for the bathroom difficulty you had. I have notified our Director of Housekeeping and he is re-establishing new training tactics that are Westin standard. He has brought up your feedback in the morning meeting.

I do hope you decide to stay with us in the future! We look forward for the next opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Thank you,

Joe Britt
Service Express Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

On arrival, the receptionist was very nice, and we were able to check in early, which was great. The location is very good. The beds were comfortable. However there were several long, dark hairs on the shower wall. The white tile grout and caulk along tub were dark with mildew in places. There was an old sandwich someone had left in the mini -fridge. I mentioned these issues to the front desk clerk. He seemed neither surprised, nor sincerely apologetic. Wi-fi costs $15. There are lots of great hotels in NYC. I do not recommend this one unless you get a really great deal.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 22Wakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

recently spent two nights with my wife at this hotel. We are SPG members. The room was redone from top to bottom and was beautiful. The public areas have been redone as well. Everything was top notch and the hotel was calm and quiet. I would recommend this hotel for an east-side stay in NYC.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 174scottm211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

I am so pleased you truly enjoyed our updates and renovations. We designed it with you in mind. We tried to think of our guests and what they would like to have out of our services and amenities. I am so happy you were impressed by our décor and new modern touches.

I am glad you found the guest rooms and bathrooms clean and spacious. It is a great area we are in where guests can truly see what New York City is like, not as loud and bright as Times Square. I hope you will visit us again for another “top notch” stay.

Thank you,

Joe Britt
Service Express Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#175 of 468 in New York City
2,581 reviews
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#325 of 468 in New York City
8,808 reviews
Midtown
Hilton New York Grand Central
Hilton New York Grand Central
#332 of 468 in New York City
2,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
W New York
W New York
#318 of 468 in New York City
4,411 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#52 of 468 in New York City
2,256 reviews
Midtown
Le Parker Meridien New York
Le Parker Meridien New York
#258 of 468 in New York City
5,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin New York Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New York Grand Central

Address: 212 East 42nd Street, Between 2nd Ave and 3rd Ave, New York City, NY 10017-5803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Green Hotel in New York City
#153 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#156 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#161 Family Hotel in New York City
#169 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $230 - $686 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin New York Grand Central 4.5*
Number of rooms: 774
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New York Grand Central hotel is located in the heart of midtown Manhattan. Our hotel is ideal for both leisure and business travelers as it is ideally located near Grand Central Terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin New York Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New York Helmsley Hotel New York City
The Hotel New York City
New York Helmsley Hotel
Hemsley New York
Helmsley Hotel New York
The New York City Helmsley
Helmsley New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing