We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Westin New York Grand Central
Ranked #219 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Our 6 nights in New York were so exciting and coming home each night to the Westin Grand Central made our stay seem like" coming home".The staff were so friendly from Check in to check out.The hotel had such a great feel and we loved the location.The rooms were spotless,comfy and the bed was heaven.The fresh smell in the lobby was so inviting.I am a Travel Agent and am always looking for good hotels to book my clients into.I will for sure always recommend this wonderful hotel when anyone visits New York.Thank you Westin Grand Central.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,233
    1,246
    428
    141
    97
See reviews for
950
837
124
638
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (664)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seven Hills
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed at the Westin Grand Central in mid June before boarding a cruise ship. The hotel is a bit cramped in the lobby but and the personnel didn't seem very friendly, more put out because it was so busy. We checked in early and had to store our luggage, again it took forever to get served and by then a long line had developed. They were nice enough to call us when the room was ready. The front bellmen, were PHENOMENAL! They gave us directions and tips on how/where to go and even had change for us to break up some big bills we had. They were the best. The room was very nice, beds were comfortable and it was clean and fairly new(ish). Getting around from here was very easy as the subway stop was 3 blocks up/down. I would definitely give this hotel another stay if the price was right - we used Magellan who helped get us a really great price for a NYC hotel. Upon returning to the hotel there was a very friendly gentleman who struck up a conversation with us while we waited to retrieve our suitcases I don't know if he was a bellman or concierge or what but he helped us wind down after the long day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CouncilSevenHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

From check in to check out, the Westin provided a great experience. They even sent up a birthday cake and card for my mother. When I called housekeeping because of a missing robe and cream for coffee, both were delivered in minutes. I'm from NY, so I knew it was a good location, but it really does make it easy to get around, whether by subway, bus or taxi. Much improved quality to the old Helmsley.
And the beds are indeed heavenly...and so was staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Hotel room was clean but there were a couple of issues. The room smelled musty like the filter on the air conditioning had not been changed. The privacy lock on the door would not turn and the safe door would not open. Beds were nice, room was big for NYC standards and view was great. Also can't beat the location as you are a couple of minutes from the UN, Grand Central Station and all other attractions via the Subway.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CSMM121212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
I would like to personally thank you for communicating to us about your experience here at our hotel. I am happy to hear that you found the Heavenly beds comfortable and the rooms spacious. I am pleased that the location was convenient for you in your travels throughout NYC. We are located within walking distance to many great hotspots throughout New York.

I do apologize for the difficulties you had with certain amenities in the room. We strive for our guests to feel refreshed and energized while you are staying with us. We wish to exceed your expectations and leave you with an impression of service that goes above and beyond. We did contact the Engineering department and I am pleased to inform you that those challenges have been resolved.

If you have any further concerns or wish to discuss this further, please feel free to contact me directly. We value your feedback and hope to see you in the near future.

Be well,
Joe Britt
Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We arrived early-10 AM. Our room was not ready, so we stored our luggage, had the car parked, and went out and had a great day in the city! We saw 2 Broadway shows-the hotel is easy walking distance to the Theatre District. When we came back later it was wonderful to go up to a beautiful clean and cool room! Loved the rain shower in the bathroom and that the room was big enough for a small couch! I did wish the room had a refrigerator.

Room Tip: I think any room would be good-there are many elevators and they are fast. We never had to wait lon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SGS I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

From check in to check out it was smooth sailing. Everything is brand new and sleek. The staff is super friendly and helpful, and the rooms are very nice. Several choices for pillows which is always good.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adambcorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for offering our community this great review.

We are always striving for perfection in all we do and to read we were able to offer you just the right amount of perfection is great!

Joe Britt
Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca, Morocco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

I can't say anything about the room because I haven't seen it yet...We booked a room with two double beds but when we arrived at around 5pm, they didn't have one available, They asked us to wait an hour (which after an 8hour drive was not fun) but we waited...when we came back an hour later, the room was still not ready and even worse the people at the reception were just rude...they refused to give us a temporary room to rest and just made us wait in the lobby...three hours later, I am still waiting...

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Safaa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hello,

I am very disappointed to read you had several delays in your arrival process.

Please note these types of delay are not the norm at our hotel and I would love the opportunity to discuss this issue with you directly and resolve it. Your loyalty to our hotel is very important to us.

Please contact me directly at your earliest convenience.

Joe Britt
Service Express Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#186 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,983 reviews
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#314 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,227 reviews
Midtown
W New York
W New York
#315 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton New York Grand Central
Hilton New York Grand Central
#311 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,315 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#95 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#54 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin New York Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New York Grand Central

Property: The Westin New York Grand Central
Address: 212 East 42nd Street, Between 2nd Ave and 3rd Ave, New York City, NY 10017-5803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Green Hotel in New York City
#152 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#156 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#165 Family Hotel in New York City
#173 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin New York Grand Central 4.5*
Number of rooms: 774
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New York Grand Central hotel is located in the heart of midtown Manhattan. Our hotel is ideal for both leisure and business travelers as it is ideally located near Grand Central Terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TravelUp, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin New York Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New York Helmsley Hotel New York City
The Hotel New York City
New York Helmsley Hotel
Hemsley New York
Helmsley Hotel New York
The New York City Helmsley
Helmsley New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing