We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the westin hospitality!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Westin New York Grand Central
Ranked #221 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loved the westin hospitality!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

This was a last minute fly-by-the -seat of my pants trip to New York and the Westin Grand Central did not disappoint!! I specifically chose the location so I would be close to the subway and not in noisy Times Square. Fantastic staff and clean/comfortable/quiet room with a view ensured a great stay! Thanks for the fun weekend!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gypsygirl96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,188
    1,216
    415
    137
    95
See reviews for
905
825
123
610
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (646)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Villanova, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

I stayed at the Westin on June 8th with my wife and daughter who was celebrating her 12th birthday. After a long day full of activities, I was looking forward to checking in and getting a good night's sleep. While the hotel itself was extremely nice--a clean, comfortable room on the 39th floor with a view of the Empire State Building which was spacious by NY standards at a reasonable rate--my wife and I were awakened at 4:00 a.m. by a loud, drunk, profane group staying in the room next door (we were in room 3920) who were apparently returning from a night of revelry. For 45 minutes the group next door carried on as if there were no other guests in the hotel. I know NY is the city that never sleeps, but I was under the impression that staying up all night was supposed to be a choice. In fairness to the hotel, I did not contact the front desk and complain while this was going on. Frankly, I was concerned that if I placed a call to the front desk and the front desk placed a call to the party in the next room (with whom we shared a connecting door), the drunks in the next room would have become agitated, the unruly behavior would only worsen, and my family would be subjected to harassment for complaining. When asked how I enjoyed my stay at check-out, I informed the nice young lady at the front desk named Pei about what had happened, and she seemed genuinely concerned and offered me a sincere apology and some bonus points as a Starwood Preferred Guest. I travel all over the country for business and Westin is usually a first choice for me -- this is the first time I have ever had an experience where I actually felt a little unsafe in my room. I would welcome hearing from a Westin representative with the hotel's view concerning how I should have handled this situation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMurphy313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We had read the reviews which have ranged from good to mediocre...amittedly many of the worst reviews were just after the conversion to Westin.

We booked using points. I am a lifetime Gold SPG.

Our room was on the 36th floor and out the window the Empire State Building was framed by two office buildings...very pretty.

Check in was fast and friendly...took 2 minutes.

Room was surprisingly large. No complaints with the decor or the ammenities. Only complaint was the TV that kept losing signal. Not sure if it was cable or OTA...but a bit annoying. Now, Friday was a terrible storm that flooded much of NYC area, so there could have been an affect.

Location was good. It was a short walk to Theatre District or Grand Central. Not a big deal at all...personally, I would choose here again vs Times Square hotels if the same premium exists.

The most surprising thing was that for a hotel that apparently houses so many rooms, it felt small: never waited for elevators, pompt responses...

Room Tip: 3621 view out the window is the empire State Building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjwarbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We booked this on points for a last minute trip and only rooms with King beds were available for booking. They had upgraded us beforehand due to SPG status and were incredibly flexible in changing us to a room with two beds. They put us on the SPG floor and the room looked new and was impeccably clean and super comfortable. Very large room for NYC standards. We easily got street parking right across the street so did not even have to spend money on parking. First time we have ever stayed at a hotel and had a zero balance. My only grumble is that they had plastic cups in the bathroom. We spent the following night at the W hotel and will never stay there again. We plan to stay at the Westin Grand Cental again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LCD979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

The front desk staff were friendly and helpful from the minute we walked in. The hotel
is in a great location within walking distance to almost everything. Nice comfortable beds in a nice size room for NYC.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ldenta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Doris smiled like a mother welcoming her son home from college as we walked through the front doors 2 days ago... Instantly feeling welcome and content with our room selection, we were ready to relax after a hectic commute.

Anthony S, boasting a plethora of local knowledge due to his upbringing on the lower east side of manhattan, was the first bellman that has ever insisted we stop tipping $$. Incredible service!!

Deidre.... is the reason for the title of this post... "As Good As It Gets". Thank you for your humor and kindness. We hope to be back annually.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Helpful staff, wonderful rooms, highly recommend . Rooms all refurbished, views so good and perfect location would stay again. Very clean. Very modern with good services. Lot of advice on where to go and what to do.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julielloydandbecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#194 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,874 reviews
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#312 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,105 reviews
Midtown
W New York
W New York
#313 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#57 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,041 reviews
Midtown
Hilton New York Grand Central
Hilton New York Grand Central
#304 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,290 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#78 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin New York Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New York Grand Central

Property: The Westin New York Grand Central
Address: 212 East 42nd Street, Between 2nd Ave and 3rd Ave, New York City, NY 10017-5803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Green Hotel in New York City
#152 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#157 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#166 Family Hotel in New York City
#174 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin New York Grand Central 4.5*
Number of rooms: 774
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New York Grand Central hotel is located in the heart of midtown Manhattan. Our hotel is ideal for both leisure and business travelers as it is ideally located near Grand Central Terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin New York Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New York Helmsley Hotel New York City
The Hotel New York City
New York Helmsley Hotel
Hemsley New York
Helmsley Hotel New York
The New York City Helmsley
Helmsley New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing