We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is great, parking was awful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Westin New York Grand Central
Ranked #222 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Very consistent and great value for the room and location. I love Westin hotels as they are clean, modern and pet friendly.

I was able to check in early (12:30) after long drive and all of the staff were extremely helpful.

Two things I DO NOT recommend. Parking and parking an SUV. For one night, I paid $115 to park. Granted it was 25 hours of parking, but between charging a full extra day for that hour and an additional up charge for the SUV, you may be better off parking on the street for a ticket. Parking was absolutely outrageous, even for NYC mid-town/ east side.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkSYWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,616)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,544 - 2,550 of 3,616 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Very nice and clean room in a great location. Restaurant serves all day. The location is two blocks from Grand Central Station and not far from Empire State Building. The staff are very helpful. Just a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to offer us your review.

I am glad to read your visit was refreshing and you regard our hotel as a great place to visit. We look forward to your next visit!

Thank you,

Joe Britt
Service Express Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I generally like the Westin chain of hotels for both business and pleasure, primarily because of the consistently modern and clean rooms, ultra comfortable beds and good service. However, I was very disappointed with my stay at this particular Westin in NYC. Upon arrival at 7 p.m. after a long 6.5 hour drive, I was informed that the 2 rooms I had reserved for myself and my family were not ready and that we were invited to a drink at the bar. We had dinner reservations at 8 p.m. so waiting around was not an option. Upon asking to speak to the manager, he managed to check-us in to 1 room and advised that the other room would be ready within 30 minutes and that somebody would call me as soon as it was ready. I waited over an hour and nobody called me so upon returning to the front desk and complaining yet again, I was finally able to check-in to my room at almost 8 p.m. Check-in time is listed as 3 p.m.! To my disappointment, it was not the room I had reserved; I was given a room with 2 double beds instead of a room with 1 king-size bed. Next, upon taking a shower, I noticed that the drain was clogged and I was up to my ankles in water. As well, the TV kept losing signal so cable was shady and didn't work for the few minutes that I wanted to catch the morning news. Upon checking-out, I voiced my disappointment to the front desk clerk, Lily, who was very pleasant and did offer to waive the valet parking which was a hefty $60 per night. The most I have ever been charged for valet parking per night in NYC. Perhaps they simply had an off night, but from my disappointing experience, this hotel was not consistent with the Westin level of service that I am used to and really not worth the price despite the very central location. Would not recommend staying here for a weekend getaway to NYC.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelover007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to offer us your review.

I am very sorry to read you had many challenges during your most recent visit with us. We always do our very best to ensure each of our guests receive their requested room type which sometimes leads to delays in our arrival process. I agree, it appears we did not live up to our goal to ensure you leave us feeling refreshed and renewed.

I am very pleased to read our Front Office Associate Lily, took the lead and waived your parking charges.

I would love the opportunity to once again welcome you back to our hotel and ensure your next visit and prove this visit was not the norm and offer you exceptional service for which we are known. Please contact me directly when are planning your next visit.

Thank you,

Joe Britt
Service Express Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

It's an okay spot to stay. I was here recently on business and the room is comfortable. I think the hotel can use some upgrades at some point. Overall I would give this place a B- to a C+. Not a terrible spot if you get it for the right price.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to offer us this review.

We are always looking for ways to improve our service and amenities for our guests and more than often it is our guests who can pinpoint and area that needs to be revision. I will welcome any suggestion you might have.

Please contact me directly and thank you again.

Joe Britt
Service Express Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights for our annual visit to New York.

Arrived after midnight and with just one person on reception and 4 people in front of us the check in process was not quick and we were desperate fir some sleep!

We had a room of floor 35 which was good because even at that level there was traffic noise so pleased we weren't at the bottom. The room size was excellent for New York and really comfortable too - especially the famous Westin beds. The bathroom was more average in size but fine for what we needed with a shower over he bath.

Unfortunately we were on the wrong side of he building to have a view of our favourite building in NYC - the Chrysler Building. The hotel is set just down the road from Grand Central Station and its not far to walk into Times Square and the shops on 5th Avenue.

We didn't eat there so can't make any comments about the food but we had a nice cocktail in the bar one evening.

Check out was done efficiently and they stored our bags for us until we got back later in the day.

Certainly would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neale1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Hello,

I am sorry your arrival process has some delay but I am very glad to read we were able to offer you a great room on the 35th floor away from the street traffic.

Please contact me directly for your next visit with us and I will try my best to honor your request for a high floor facing your favorite site the Chrysler Building.

Thank you,

Joe Britt
Service Express Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

First, I do want to express my gratitude to Erica at the SPG Preferred Guest check in. She remembers me from prior stays, and goes above and beyond to ensure my simplest needs are met. If you look for exceptional customer service in Webster's dictionary, you'll see her picture! Unfortunately, once it leaves her hands, the hotel fails. For some reason, this hotel cannot deliver a USA Today to my room each morning. They can deliver a WSJ or a NY Times, but since they drop USA Today in the elevator lobby, they will not deliver a USA Today to my room and they fight with me every time I'm here. I told myself I would never stay here again since this hotel cannot perform the simplest task. Unfortunately, I had to stay here this week due to preferred rates at other SPG properties being sold out. Every other SPG property in NYC can deliver a USA Today to my room each morning, so I'm still at a loss why this hotel cannot. I was assured after 3 prior stays earlier this year that they would deliver the paper to me. So I checked in Sunday night. Erica assured me that my profile said USA Today and I would have one in the morning. When I woke up, there was no paper at my door. I spoke with a manager (Chris) and he told me that I needed to go to the elevator lobby each morning. I told him that was unacceptable. The person who delivered the WSJ and the NYT to other rooms on my floor could pick up a USA Today and drop it off at my room. He assured me that I would have a USA Today each morning, and so far, I've had one since I spoke to him. I just don't understand why I have to fight for something this simple. Now I know its a simple thing. A newspaper. But I want it delivered to my room. Each morning. Without a hassle! The GM has postings that say "I am committed to ensuring each guest that stays with us has their expectations met and hopefully exceeded" Epic Failure! I will never stay at this property again.

Room Tip: Stay at the Westin Times Square or the Sheraton at 52nd and 7th if you want platinum service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Service
Thank SPG-BA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Hello,

Please accept my sincere apology for all the challenges that you experienced. This is certainly not the Westin Brand experience we aim to provide our guests and I am truly sorry this happened to you.

Our goal is to provide our guests with an inspiring experience, leaving you renewed and refresh and to hear that we did not properly carry out this promise is very disappointing. Please know that this is not a typical service of our hotel.

Please contact me directly as I would love to offer you some options to regain your loyalty back.

Joe Britt
Service Express Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

My daughter and I try to make an annual visit to NYC. After having stayed at other equally well-known hotels, we no longer need to question as to where we will stay. We recently had a four night stay to celebrate a birthday. The convenience of this hotel with its proximity to Grand Central, plus the central location, make the Westin second to none. From the front desk to the room attendants, everyone goes above and beyond to make one's stay a memorable one. Having recently become a Westin, the rooms (and entire property) are in five star condition with five star decor and amenities. The price could not be better when you compare similar properties. We are most "picky" when it comes to hotels, and we would say this definitely more than meets the most discriminating of hotel tastes.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JTRJayhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Hello!

It is fantastic to read you consider us Perfect in every way!

I am very glad we were able to live up to our goal of ensuring each and every visit is a rejuvenating and renewing experience. We are constantly attempting to improve our service and to read we achieved our goal for your visit is just Perfect!

Thank you,

Joe Britt
Service Express Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#333 of 471 in New York City
9,246 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#184 of 471 in New York City
2,860 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#105 of 471 in New York City
1,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Millennium Hilton New York One UN Plaza
Millennium Hilton New York One U...
#193 of 471 in New York City
509 reviews
Midtown
Hilton New York Grand Central
Hilton New York Grand Central
#342 of 471 in New York City
2,577 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#277 of 471 in New York City
11,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin New York Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New York Grand Central

Address: 212 East 42nd Street, Between 2nd Ave and 3rd Ave, New York City, NY 10017-5803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Green Hotel in New York City
#83 Family Hotel in New York City
#153 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#158 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#169 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $178 - $490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin New York Grand Central 4.5*
Number of rooms: 774
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New York Grand Central hotel is located in the heart of midtown Manhattan. Our hotel is ideal for both leisure and business travelers as it is ideally located near Grand Central Terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Starwood, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin New York Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New York Helmsley Hotel New York City
The Hotel New York City
New York Helmsley Hotel
Hemsley New York
Helmsley Hotel New York
The New York City Helmsley
Helmsley New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing