We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best experience by far!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Westin New York Grand Central
Ranked #226 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Best experience by far!”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I'll be honest, I didn't really expect much from the hotel. This was another work stay and was one of the very few options available.

The hotel was formerly the New York Helmsley hotel. It had been renovated and Starwood did an amazing job. I had a corner room and was surprised at how large it was. When you walk in, there was a bit of a "hall" where you turned face the room. I had a great view where I could even see the 59th St. bridge not to far off. Walking into the room, it smelled fresh as if they sprayed the room with a clean neutral scent. The bed was comfortable - very important since I was there for 7 nights - and was knocked out every night

From check-in to check-out, you get friendly service. One morning I called the front desk for something and received it within 10 minutes. The front desk then called me back to make sure that it arrived. I loved it.

The hotel also has a full gym - you get treadmills, elliptical, free weights and machines - even the assisted smith squat machine as well as complimentary green apples It was never difficult at all to catch a cab and there was also a Starbucks a few steps away.

I really enjoyed my stay. I will definitely be selecting this hotel for my next stay in the city!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beebs02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,283
    1,312
    445
    147
    103
See reviews for
994
884
128
664
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (688)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Hotel has recently undergone a complete renovation. Check In process and such a great attitude By Loida made the stay wonderful. Room was exceptionally clean and the beds were so comfortable. All the amenities you would expect are there. The new restaurant is sleek and cool. The value exceeded my expectations.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I didn't expect much from the Westin Grand Central; I'm often in NYC on business, and I worried that the location would leave something to be desired, and that the remodel would consist of a bit of Westin branding...

Boy, was I wrong.

The room I stayed in was large by NYC standards--it was a corner room, and I even had a bit of a view. terrific service from check-in to check out--special kudos to Pei (hope I spelled that right) at the front desk, who made this weary traveler feel very welcome. The lobby wasn't dazzling, but the attached bar-restaurant is really going for an upscale feel, and the bartender was friendly two nights in a row! (As a solo traveler, having bartenders to talk to is important!)

All in all, I would definitely stay here hen in Manhattan again--in fact, I'll be back later this month!

Room Tip: I plan on requesting a corner room on a high floor again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rastaman85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed here for my husband's business trip and we loved it! This is our new go to hotel in NYC. They let us check-in early and gave us a great room on the 39th floor. The rooms are very spacious and clean. I can't say enough good things about this hotel. Everyone is so friendly and accommodating. The beds are comfortable and the shower is amazing after a long day. This location is so great and just two blocks from Grand Central. We will defiantly be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cwm0812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Myself, my mother and sister and I had chose to stay at the Westin on our girls trip to New York. The hotel was great, especially the beds. The location is very convenient to the subway and the bus. The restaurant was your average american food but there are many good restaurants nearby. The maids were very friendly giving us extra towels when asked and the staff were very kind.There are many great things to do and I recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarotheBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

A former Helmaley Hotel that is fully renovated and now a Westin property. Clean, sleek with large rooms offering a great comfortable environment and updated bathrooms featuring rainfall shower heads and my favorite...white tea products.
As always the heavenly bed is exactly what it's name says.
Hotel has one of the most amazing fitness centers I have ever seen, bright, clean with amazing equipment and open 24/7.
Stuff has been very responsive and when I checked in I had the best ever check in agent j have ever faced in a hotel.
Overall very satisfied and would recommend this hotel to everyone I know.
Well done

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thaneco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Staff very helpful, rooms smallish but recently renovated. Hotel business focused. No lobby to relax in. Excellent gym, all new. Attached LCL Bar & Restaurant very poor, suggest you eat elsewhere. Plenty of choices locally.
Would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenneneontheRLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#177 of 468 in New York City
2,207 reviews
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#320 of 468 in New York City
8,459 reviews
Midtown
Hilton New York Grand Central
Hilton New York Grand Central
#328 of 468 in New York City
2,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
W New York
W New York
#318 of 468 in New York City
4,252 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#99 of 468 in New York City
871 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#53 of 468 in New York City
2,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin New York Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New York Grand Central

Property: The Westin New York Grand Central
Address: 212 East 42nd Street, Between 2nd Ave and 3rd Ave, New York City, NY 10017-5803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Green Hotel in New York City
#156 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#158 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#165 Family Hotel in New York City
#173 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin New York Grand Central 4.5*
Number of rooms: 774
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New York Grand Central hotel is located in the heart of midtown Manhattan. Our hotel is ideal for both leisure and business travelers as it is ideally located near Grand Central Terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, HotelPower, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin New York Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New York Helmsley Hotel New York City
The Hotel New York City
New York Helmsley Hotel
Hemsley New York
Helmsley Hotel New York
The New York City Helmsley
Helmsley New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing