We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best check in process in a long time thanks to Loida”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin New York Grand Central
Ranked #224 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Hotel has recently undergone a complete renovation. Check In process and such a great attitude By Loida made the stay wonderful. Room was exceptionally clean and the beds were so comfortable. All the amenities you would expect are there. The new restaurant is sleek and cool. The value exceeded my expectations.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,622)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,721 - 2,727 of 3,622 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

I didn't expect much from the Westin Grand Central; I'm often in NYC on business, and I worried that the location would leave something to be desired, and that the remodel would consist of a bit of Westin branding...

Boy, was I wrong.

The room I stayed in was large by NYC standards--it was a corner room, and I even had a bit of a view. terrific service from check-in to check out--special kudos to Pei (hope I spelled that right) at the front desk, who made this weary traveler feel very welcome. The lobby wasn't dazzling, but the attached bar-restaurant is really going for an upscale feel, and the bartender was friendly two nights in a row! (As a solo traveler, having bartenders to talk to is important!)

All in all, I would definitely stay here hen in Manhattan again--in fact, I'll be back later this month!

Room Tip: I plan on requesting a corner room on a high floor again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rastaman85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed here for my husband's business trip and we loved it! This is our new go to hotel in NYC. They let us check-in early and gave us a great room on the 39th floor. The rooms are very spacious and clean. I can't say enough good things about this hotel. Everyone is so friendly and accommodating. The beds are comfortable and the shower is amazing after a long day. This location is so great and just two blocks from Grand Central. We will defiantly be back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cwm0812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Myself, my mother and sister and I had chose to stay at the Westin on our girls trip to New York. The hotel was great, especially the beds. The location is very convenient to the subway and the bus. The restaurant was your average american food but there are many good restaurants nearby. The maids were very friendly giving us extra towels when asked and the staff were very kind.There are many great things to do and I recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarotheBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

A former Helmaley Hotel that is fully renovated and now a Westin property. Clean, sleek with large rooms offering a great comfortable environment and updated bathrooms featuring rainfall shower heads and my favorite...white tea products.
As always the heavenly bed is exactly what it's name says.
Hotel has one of the most amazing fitness centers I have ever seen, bright, clean with amazing equipment and open 24/7.
Stuff has been very responsive and when I checked in I had the best ever check in agent j have ever faced in a hotel.
Overall very satisfied and would recommend this hotel to everyone I know.
Well done

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thaneco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Staff very helpful, rooms smallish but recently renovated. Hotel business focused. No lobby to relax in. Excellent gym, all new. Attached LCL Bar & Restaurant very poor, suggest you eat elsewhere. Plenty of choices locally.
Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenneneontheRLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately we had one of the beds with stain on sheets and blood spots. Bed was not made( fold out bed).
It took almost 3 days to be resolved. When asked to see the manager I got a different person each time. Most staff are good and willing to help.
Location is good.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caterina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#333 of 471 in New York City
9,258 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#185 of 471 in New York City
2,868 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#105 of 471 in New York City
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Millennium Hilton New York One UN Plaza
Millennium Hilton New York One U...
#190 of 471 in New York City
516 reviews
Midtown
Hilton New York Grand Central
Hilton New York Grand Central
#340 of 471 in New York City
2,585 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#279 of 471 in New York City
11,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin New York Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New York Grand Central

Address: 212 East 42nd Street, Between 2nd Ave and 3rd Ave, New York City, NY 10017-5803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Green Hotel in New York City
#83 Family Hotel in New York City
#153 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#159 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#169 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $178 - $493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin New York Grand Central 4.5*
Number of rooms: 774
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New York Grand Central hotel is located in the heart of midtown Manhattan. Our hotel is ideal for both leisure and business travelers as it is ideally located near Grand Central Terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin New York Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New York Helmsley Hotel New York City
The Hotel New York City
New York Helmsley Hotel
Hemsley New York
Helmsley Hotel New York
The New York City Helmsley
Helmsley New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing