We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Westin New York Grand Central
Ranked #217 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Customer Service”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Future trip planners BEWARE! We booked this hotel through a secondary website so we cannot change. After booking the hotel we called to ask for a up-grade to see if the hotel offered a certain level of amenities. The customer service girl that answered the phone at 10:30pm was extremely short over the phone displayed no sense of phone etiquette or hospitality and it seemed like we disturbed her by calling. The conversation ended with her response being "WE ARE NOT THAT TYPE OF HOTEL" . Wow Seriously, it will be my wife and my 1st year anniversary and already to culminate the year we are off to a bad start. I wish we could reconsider but we will look to make the best from it.

Room Tip: After reading the other reviews hopefully we get one of the renovated bathrooms management spoke of.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,310
    1,340
    459
    153
    104
See reviews for
1,042
890
129
679
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (701)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nanuet, New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

we were pleasantly surprised by how nice of a stay we had at this hotel over the weekend. we were able to check in at noon along with an upgrade to a corner room on the 35th floor with great views. the staff was friendly and helpful and the renovated rooms are really nice and comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauren k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I had never heard of this hotel before and found it on Starwood's website when I was looking for a reasonable hotel to stay overnight at in NYC. I was using points to book and all of the other Starwood hotels were 25K-45K points, all more than what I had to use. I saw this one and it was only 12K so I gave it a shot. I was skeptical although the pictures on their site looked nice. This hotel was so quiet, new, clean and so comfortable. The rooms and bathrooms are really spacious with modern furnishings. I stayed in the room with a friend of mine and for NYC, I was very impressed with the size of the room. The shades and curtains were remote controlled! The bed was so comfortable with crisp, white linens. Definite stay again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vickieDOTcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This hotel had great, large sized rooms, great location and all you would need for a stay in New York. Its location in the heart of New York means you can walk and see lots of the sights. (Grand Central Station is a short distance away and if you don't go there, you are mad.) The bar staff and restaurant staff varied from excellent to not so excellent but more along the lines of being different as opposed to poor service and they always tried to help where possible! The bar was not open during the day - which was different to the UK - and the breakfast service was quite different to the UK too. Some people would probably complain about the small range of food on offer for breakfast but there is plenty of it and good too. We did not eat an evening meal, eat a room meal or use the gym so cannot comment on those areas. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and I had 15 rooms( clients plus partners with them here with me) and no complaints from them either.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glugSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodside, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We spent two hectic weeks in this hotel over the holidays. Our son broke his leg and was in the hospital for one of the weeks and the other week we had him getting ready to fly home. This hotel did everything they could to help us!!!!! They were busy with holiday folks enjoying the city and we were nothing but extra work. Rooms were kept spotless; staff was constantly helpful; and the management was very flexiable with us.

Service starts with attitude and this team had it Five Stars! Can't wait for their restaurant to be open.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KingsRogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed for 40th birthday Nov 2012. Arrived and check in was very prompt. Free upgrade to a corner room with excellent view of The Chrysler Building and all the way up 42nd St. As a SPG card holder, we received complimentary WiFi, which was a massive benefit. Noise was very minimal from outside, nor was there from any other guests, no complaints there. The complimentary Starbucks was a bonus for Starbucks fan like myself! And a special little birthday card and cake was an exceptional touch. Room was clean, beds were like melting into marshmallows and very spacious by NYC standards. Shower was excellent. Within walking distance for the majority of what you want to see and visit in NYC - Excellent location for any first time visitors and away from noise of Times Sq, but all within easy reach. There's so much to see in NYC, if you don't walk it, you'll miss it!! Check out was also faultless. Booked through Princeline as was initially sceptical but it was bob on and I'd stay here again in a heart beat!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spud G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2013

we had a great weekend stay, our rooms were clean and well appointed. the front desk staff was pleasant and very accomodating. the housekeping staff led by Ms Francis also took very good care of us and our rooms were always straight and clean when we returned each day. we thought it was a good value and will definitely stay there again. the location is convenient and was within walking distance to many of the popular destinations including the theatre district and Rockefeller Center. Lots of great restaurants in the area too. our room had been recently updated so be sure to ask for the same if available.
ward

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ward w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#181 of 467 in New York City
2,423 reviews
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#323 of 467 in New York City
8,695 reviews
Midtown
W New York
W New York
#320 of 467 in New York City
4,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton New York Grand Central
Hilton New York Grand Central
#332 of 467 in New York City
2,428 reviews
Midtown
Even Hotel New York - Midtown East
Even Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#22 of 467 in New York City
295 reviews
Midtown
Le Parker Meridien New York
Le Parker Meridien New York
#257 of 467 in New York City
5,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin New York Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New York Grand Central

Property: The Westin New York Grand Central
Address: 212 East 42nd Street, Between 2nd Ave and 3rd Ave, New York City, NY 10017-5803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Green Hotel in New York City
#154 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#157 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#162 Family Hotel in New York City
#170 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin New York Grand Central 4.5*
Number of rooms: 774
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New York Grand Central hotel is located in the heart of midtown Manhattan. Our hotel is ideal for both leisure and business travelers as it is ideally located near Grand Central Terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin New York Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New York Helmsley Hotel New York City
The Hotel New York City
New York Helmsley Hotel
Hemsley New York
Helmsley Hotel New York
The New York City Helmsley
Helmsley New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing