We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,204)
Filter reviews
4,204 results
Traveler rating
1,675
1,623
564
197
145
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,675
1,623
564
197
145
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschrysler buildinggreat locationnew yorkheavenly bedtimes squarespg membercorner roommini bargood sizebryant parklate checkhigh floortwo blocksstreet noisehousekeeping stafftwo double bedsby nyc standards
Filter
Updating list...
3,314 - 3,319 of 4,204 reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Disappointing. Very poor handling of Starwood Platinum Guests. Location v good. Arrived, room not ready, no suite upgrade, no platinum upgrade. We had booked in September. Really? Room by elevator, no water. No cots for child. No view - unlike the other guests who posted a review whose room was not available till after 7 , they got the Empire State View, we got the office building next door - not great at all, not Grand at all.

Lobby not grand, pretty basic, rooms newish but again not usual Westin grade. Elevator shaft LOUD.

Posting the Westin banner deceiving, not up to that standard.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank roxygirl100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and we're sorry to hear your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We are implementing procedures to improve the check-in experience for all of our guests. We recently hired two new Rooms Controllers. We apologize for the water issue -- a pump was being repaired during your stay. We no longer provide rollaway beds because each of our guestrooms has a pullout sofa.

We appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you back during a future visit to New York.

Best Regards,
Melissa Braverman
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We arrived at the hotel around 7pm and our room was not ready due to shortage of housekeeping staff so we dropped off our luggage and went for coffee at starbucks. After about an hour our room was ready and were were upgraded to the top floor with a view of the Empire State Building. The rooms were newly renovated and had two Queen Beds. The location was great- with a subway just a few feet away and a short walk to Grand Central Station.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Konstantina73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed our recent stay here.

Positives - excellent location, nice clean, modern rooms, large tv, excellent gym, good value for money and a very comfortable bed.

Negatives - WiFi expensive @ 15 dollars p/d, minibar also a rip off, hotel had changed its name, it would have been nice to have been notified of this when we were lookng for it ! Taxi driver had no idea)

Would recommend mainly for the location which was excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattyG82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

The best thing for me was the location, it's right across Grand Central station and short walking distance to times square, empire state, 5th ave, broadway etc. There is also a subway on the same block. The service is very up and down depending on the person. checkin was chaotic but the young lady at the front desk was very helpful and recognized my gold status and even offered 4pm check out even though the rate i was staying on shouldn't have qualified for any status benefits.

No complaints on the rooms, they are clean and sized well for New York hotel with comfy bed. Ordered room service from the late menu and the turkey club was delish!!!!!

Check out was chaotic with a capital C and this time the staff not very attentive nor friendly not to mention that the SPG gold and platinum line is not regulated at all.

Would I stay here again? Absolutely!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dgirma1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

After Hurricane Sandy rendered my home uninhabitable and after enduring a devastating personal loss, I am so grateful to be able to relax in the clean, well designed room with a superlative view of the Empire State building and Verazzano Bridge and sleep in the amazingly comfortable Westin King sized bed.

I've been able to decompress, workout in the fitness room and rejuvenate my body and soul with their personal spa amenities for the bath. I can easily work from the room on my laptop and phone.

The staff and especially the manager, Regina, have been more than courteous and accommodating and have made every effort to meet any and all requests.

Thank you so very much. I love it here!

Happy Holidays!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor (quieter) and one with a view. If you need a bath and not just a shower, the corner rooms are sunnier (have two windows) but don't have a bath.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bettina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews