We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, service needed a little help!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Westin New York Grand Central
Ranked #219 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Our family stayed here just a week ago for 4 nights nov 16-19, room was very nice. We got the best rate on Hotwire.com so I felt the value was good at 180.00 a night. Only small complaint was that we didn't have enough towels for all 4 of us and housekeeping took over an hour to deliver them. Other than that, location is good, overall meets the Westin standards with comfortable beds. NY was amazing and the close location was worth it!
Times Square and Rockefeller plaza are less than a mile away, grand central station maybe 1 city block away. Definitely a good visit!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConchitaLopez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,461)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,707 - 2,713 of 3,461 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed here from the 9th Nov to 18th Nov. Arrived pretty late in the evening at about 7pm. Check-in and check-out was a breeze despite the very busy lobby area. The room was newly refurbished and had a nice sweet scent to it. I stay in Westin hotels wherever I travel (SPG member) and to me, this was no different than the rest so there were consistency to it. However, the only drawback (as mentioned by some reviewers) were the housekeeping service. There were missing robes, missing towels and inconsistency in how the bathroom were cleaned. I ran out of facial tissues and it was never filled for the remaining 3 days of my stay. Hairdryer and iron was faulty after 2 days of usage - I did get replacement for the iron upon request but could not be bothered with the hair dryer as I had brought my own. Other than that, the room is totally comfortable. Noise is unavoidable as it is New York City after all.

Location wise, this hotel is perfect. It was near most of the attractions and all that is needed is just to walk a couple of blocks west and you'll find almost everything. Food and convenience stores are abundance too.

In summary, would stay here again as the rate paid was reasonable and comparable with other hotels in the city.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosalindHong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Still undergoing renovation. Rooms great. Service a bit slow at check in. Elevators slow. We had low floor and had to wait sometimes 2 elevators. Restaurant not ready so breakfast buffet set up. Pretty lame. Expect things to get better. Should be great property if you want something south of Grand Central

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VacationDude66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed here in mid oct, just when the hotel was officially changing name. We arrived around 5:30 in the evening, we had booked two rooms, neither of them were ready, we got one room about 8 and it was 10:30 when we got the key for the other room, the excuse was that Housekeeping was BUSY. This is a joke for the price we paid. Also no bar to have a drink and no restaurant.

Definitely would not recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lrk_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This hotel while recently remodeled should not yet be open. We stayed a few nights and even though we did not leave the do not disturb sign on the door no one ever came in to take out trash, replace towels or clean up the room. At night, I wanted to go down for a drink but their restaurant / bar is not yet open. When we checked in we asked for a crib for our daughter and we waited for well over an hour to get it and it was already late. Overall, this is by far the worst Westin I've ever stayed at.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeSierraTango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Thank you for your feedback and we are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with
the service during your recent stay. Comments like yours help us pinpoint areas to improve as we continue to focus on implementing brand standards as part of officially becoming a Westin in October. All of our associates have just completed an extensive two-day brand training that will help to address the service issues you experienced. We continue to stress the importance of our service standards to all associates. Beginning Monday December 3rd, our new restaurant, THE LCL: Bar & Kitchen will serve cocktails and light bites. We sincerely hope to have another opportunity to meet your expectations during your next visit to New York City.

Kind Regards,
Melissa Braverman
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Arriving by train from CT and finding this Hotel was just across the street from Grand Central was a bonus. When we checked in at 11am and was given our room key was another bonus! I had reserved a room for 3 guests, a teenager was travelling with us but when I requested a room with 2 beds at check-in I was advise the room only had 1 bed but the agent said (with a smile) no problem I can give you a King bed with a sofa bed. Up on the 10th floor was a very clean spacious room with a great view and a sofa bed that was easy to pull out and was already fitted with extra linen. Smallish but very clean bathroom, lots of fluffy towels and delicious smelling bathroom supplies. A noon check-out allowed us to leave our bags in the room while we went to the parade and a good nights sleep gave us an early start to get a good spot ! Considering how busy the City and Hotel was we experienced very good customer service, especially from the concierge young lady who went out of her way to help us so we would make our train connection. Would come back time and time again for this Hotel and it's location.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bateson49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

The hotel is conveniently located a couple of blocks east of Grand Central Terminal on 42nd street. It was obviously recently renovated and is in good shape. When we were there, however, they had not quite gotten their act together which, for the price they charged, was unacceptable.

The key to our room did not work the first time and we had to go get a new one at the front desk. The restaurant was not yet open, neither was the bar. I tried to use the minibar in the room but it was locked so I called the front desk who had to transfer me to the hotel manager to unlock it. He said he would do it remotely and that it should be unlocked in 2-3 minutes but the minibar remained locked. I just gave up in frustration.

The Hyatt adjoining Grand Central Terminal was offering rooms at the same rate. We should have stayed there instead.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#172 of 469 in New York City
2,650 reviews
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#327 of 469 in New York City
8,885 reviews
Midtown
Hilton New York Grand Central
Hilton New York Grand Central
#337 of 469 in New York City
2,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
W New York
W New York
#322 of 469 in New York City
4,469 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#108 of 469 in New York City
1,132 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#29 of 469 in New York City
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin New York Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New York Grand Central

Address: 212 East 42nd Street, Between 2nd Ave and 3rd Ave, New York City, NY 10017-5803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Green Hotel in New York City
#153 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#158 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#161 Family Hotel in New York City
#169 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $214 - $608 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin New York Grand Central 4.5*
Number of rooms: 774
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New York Grand Central hotel is located in the heart of midtown Manhattan. Our hotel is ideal for both leisure and business travelers as it is ideally located near Grand Central Terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Starwood, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin New York Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New York Helmsley Hotel New York City
The Hotel New York City
New York Helmsley Hotel
Hemsley New York
Helmsley Hotel New York
The New York City Helmsley
Helmsley New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing