We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just opened with a complete renovation...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Westin New York Grand Central
Ranked #226 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just opened with a complete renovation...”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Just reopened, I think it was under a different name, happy they changed to Westin. The room was the new Westin look, comfortable and classy and the views are great.
The restaurant wasn't open yet and their meeting space is nice with natural lighting.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank deavodl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,283
    1,312
    445
    147
    103
See reviews for
994
884
128
664
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (688)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I took a quick trip to New York City broken up by a short trip out of town. I booked two nights on Priceline in the Big Apple. Both were presumably 4 star hotels and both were near train stations--one near Penn Station and the other, this one, near Grand Central.

The first one, near Penn Station, was a 2.5 star or 3 star at best. But the Westin delivered. Great rooms and great service. And since I was on the 7th floor, and close to city noise, I noted that it was quiet.

I slept well. Felt like I was surrounded by quality. And will repeat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
249 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 370 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed twice within a week recently. Good location, in easy waking distance of Grand Central and many of the main sights. Comfortable and well-refurbished rooms, surprisingly large for NYC. Corner room on top floor of the hotel was particularly nice (an upgrade as an SPG Platinum).

Downsides? Lobby surprisingly small and chaotic, though, and hotel reception staff really not as friendly as they should be for a Westin. Pretty weak wireless internet in room. And rooms overlooking 42nd St are incredibly noisy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I just stayed to this hotel Nov 18-19 for a shopping week-end with a girl friend. Great hotel, very clean, still look new! Comfortable bed, good size room with double beds (to have seen other hotels in New York or London!). Fridge was available in the room, with beer, wine, water (free), chocolate, cheese, ect. Free Starbuck coffee & coffee machine in room. The hotels also offers a luggage storage after you check out, good if you would like to do more shopping before leaving!

Down side: no wifi in the rooms, but wifi is available in the lobby and Business center (2 computers, you will be charge for use and printing). Also, during the might my friend's sleep was disturbed by the car noises & police/ambulance sirens... but I guess it is to be expected in a big city, even though we were a good 15-20 minutes walk from Time Square. Last thing, if you try to reach the concierge by phone, prepare to be put on hold for a while... You are better of just stopping by the concierge desk in the lobby.

Great location; close to Grand central, metro, bus & shuttle for airport, shopping, Rockefeller center.

We did not eat at the hotel. Grand central station and surrounding area have lots of coffee/café places for breakfast & lunch...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melanie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Province of Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
205 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed over a weekend in this hotel . The location of the hotel is great. Near to central besides near the Grand Central Station and subway. Broadway and 5th avenue are in walking distance.
The hotel is clean and looks brand new, probably went through a modernization. The rooms is spacious and very clean and nicely decorated.
The lobby is a bit disorderly but we stayed just after Hurricane Sandy. So it is quite understandable that the staff were in their best mood and the physical conditions were tough.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atesakinci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level Contributor
80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is newly renovated. The fixtures are very modern. The room was much more spacious than I expected. The concierge & other staff we're friendly & efficient. The location is great at just a few minute walk from Grand Central Terminal, 5th Avenue, restaurants, and other convienences. It is noisy outside the hotel, but it's the city, so what can you expect? No issues with noise from other guests. I recommend this hotel & would love to stay there the next time I visit NYC.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed here over the weekend. This was previously a Helmsley hotel which is now going through a complete modernization. All the rooms are brand new and they are definitely up to Westin standards. The location in midtown is great! Unfortunately due to the construction, there is no lounge, restaurant or lobby that is open - except breakfast in the lobby restaurant and room service. There is no concierge lounge which I found surprising for a major hotel chain in NYC. This makes it basically a hotel with very nice rooms, but no NY vibe at all. I did use the new gym which is very large and well equiped. The concierge staff were excellent and all their recommendations were terrific. The room rate was competitive with other hotels of this caliber that were completely open and that is the rub. I did not hear any construction noise and there was no sign of the actual construction site, so it didn't feel like you were in a work zone. I would inquire before booking to make sure this meets your expectations.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobP34296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#177 of 468 in New York City
2,209 reviews
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#320 of 468 in New York City
8,458 reviews
Midtown
Hilton New York Grand Central
Hilton New York Grand Central
#328 of 468 in New York City
2,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
W New York
W New York
#318 of 468 in New York City
4,252 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#99 of 468 in New York City
870 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#53 of 468 in New York City
2,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin New York Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New York Grand Central

Property: The Westin New York Grand Central
Address: 212 East 42nd Street, Between 2nd Ave and 3rd Ave, New York City, NY 10017-5803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Green Hotel in New York City
#156 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#158 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#165 Family Hotel in New York City
#173 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin New York Grand Central 4.5*
Number of rooms: 774
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New York Grand Central hotel is located in the heart of midtown Manhattan. Our hotel is ideal for both leisure and business travelers as it is ideally located near Grand Central Terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, HotelPower, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin New York Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New York Helmsley Hotel New York City
The Hotel New York City
New York Helmsley Hotel
Hemsley New York
Helmsley Hotel New York
The New York City Helmsley
Helmsley New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing