We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin New York Grand Central
Ranked #219 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb Hotel and staff”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

My Wife and I stayed here for the New York marathon, which unfortunately was cancelled. The staff were fantastic, friendly and polite. We had to stay an extra night due to flight cancellations and were given the same room (after already checking out earlier in the day!)we were not charged a cent to stay and they couldn't do enough for us. A superb hotel with great staff, I can't understand the complaints on here, I suppose some people are just too hard to please!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bippi7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,297
    1,327
    452
    149
    103
See reviews for
1,017
889
128
670
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (694)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I recently stayed at the Westin Grand Central and enjoyed it's proximity to mass transit. The Grand Central terminal is a great place to grab a drink, grab the subway or just pick up a snack to enjoy in your room.

The room was average but the sheets and pillows were luxurious. The bathroom was spacious and very clean and there was a huge walk in shower. I would definitely request a higher floor - being right in 42nd street = lots of traffic noise.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetladyjane_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stayed at The Westin from Saturday to Monday in early November with a girlfriend. We booked a room with two double beds through Hotwire for $163 per night.

Some of the extra charges you may incur while there:

There is no complimentary breakfast offered, but breakfast is available through room service. For a typical American breakfast (i.e. eggs and bacon, etc), they charge approximately $25 + taxes + service fee ($6) + 15% gratuity. We opted to have breakfast out instead.

Internet service is not complimentary. There is complimentary wifi available in the lobby only. If you'd like internet access in your room, they charge $14.95 per 24 hour period. This should give allow you internet access on two devices. It only worked on one device for us for some reason. We mentioned this to the concierge, but she wasn't helpful. All she said was that it is supposed to be valid for two devices and offered no further help when we told her it only worked on one device.

Parking at the hotel will cost you $60 per night. There is a private parking company (Quik Park) behind the hotel that charges $41 per night. I don't know if there are others close enough to the hotel that charge less.

This last one was a huge surprise to me. They charge $1.50 for each local call you make using the hotel phone. I expected local calls to be free of charge.

The hotel is ideally located within a (casual pace) walking distance of about 30 minutes from the Broadway / Theatre District / Times Square and other attractions. There are subway stations just around the corner or down the street. There is also a CVS pharmacy down the street that is open 24 hours.

The room was modern and clean. Toiletries were provided. The only drawback is that we could hear sirens from police cars, ambulances, and fire trucks from our room on the 12th floor. Overall, we were very comfortable.

The concierge and front-desk staff at check-in were not very welcoming. I did not see a single smile nor detect a friendly tone. They were polite with their words, but not with their tone or demeanor. They should work on their people skills.

Mattresses and pillows were quite soft. If this is your preference, then you're in luck. If you prefer firm mattresses and pillows, then your sleep may be uncomfortable.

Overall, it was a good experience and I would recommend this hotel. Just be aware of the costs associated with certain services (ex. internet, local calls, parking, etc).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frenchie70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed at this hotel while it was being taken over by Westin. It was still the Helmsley hotel when we stayed. Hotel is well located, close walking distance to Grand central station and subway stations. The room was clean & spacious with a fantastic view of the Chrysler building. The staff were very nice & helpful. We had booked this hotel via a rewards plan and didn't pay for the room. We drove in NY city and had to park our car. Parking was very steep: $70 a day ! However when we had booked the hotel the price listed on their website was $50 so after speaking with the manager we were given the rate of $50. Their rates had gone up in the meantime but they were very nice to accomodate us. We had a small problem with our room safe and within 10 minutes of calling the front desk the repair man was in our room fixing the issue.

The service we got while staying at this hotel was very good. We had a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MC_TravelChickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed here a few weeks ago. They're still working out the kinks. Great location, and far enough away from the tourist craziness of Broadway to be good.

Rooms are up to Westin standards, which is to say that the decorations are nice. It's hard to retrofit a NYC hotel to make it feel "new", but it does feel like a Westin which is what I expect as a loyal Starwood patron.

The restaurant/lounge was not open yet when we were there, although they did have a limited room service menu.

It's a Westin in midtown Mahattan. If you go there expecting a large room it's your own fault. But it was functional and clean, and I've certainly stayed in smaller rooms in NYC.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nmhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

As a Platinum SPG member, I hold Westin to a certain level of service. I understand NYC is recovering from Hurricane Sandy days before my arrival. But, simple, communications should be available.
Specifically asked @ Business Center before arriving, was informed by your staff via email, exact location, & would have access. Arrived to find out it is not open, currently a storage closet, can use the 'hallway' as a work location.
Your restaurant/bar is not open, SPG breakfast perk, not a perk, 8 small pieces of fruit, 3 pieces of toast and coffee, really?!
Needed a refrigerator for specific items that have to stay cold, profile indicates this requirement. Was informed NO, and none would be provided I will be changed if I take anything out of the wet-bar.
From a security point, make sure you keep the door latch on, as the maid service will knock once as the are walking into your room. They didn't wait for an answer on 3 of the days, just started walking in the room.
Needed directions to MetLife stadium, asked the front desk to leave message for Concierge service to provide me the information under my door in the morning or call me after a specific time in the morning, was informed I would have to go talk with them in the morning as they are not around 'at this time' Sorry, that is a simple request, leave them a note, a guest should be able to request a note be put in their inbox. Never got the information or call.
Recommendation, close the hotel until you are fully operational, currently not worth $415/night.

Room Tip: Unless you get a corner room away from the ice maker, or service doors, be prepared to be woken up b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BPW1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry to hear that your stay with us didn’t meet your expectations. Communicating effectively with guests and providing a rejuvenating stay are our top priorities and we are actively taking steps to address each of the concerns that you shared.

Our grand opening was on October 12th, so we are still actively working on getting all Westin brand standards in place. Since your stay, our self-serve business center with computer stations is now fully operational, located beside our meeting space on the 3rd floor. We have upgraded our inventory of refrigerators so they are available free of charge. Our new restaurant, THE LCL: Bar & Kitchen, will be opening soon and providing expanded breakfast options. And we have implemented procedures to ensure that guests receive Concierge/Front Desk information on a timely basis and Housekeeping waits for a response before entering a room to provide service. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back during your next visit to New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This was the first hotel that i saw coming down 42nd street and 3rd Ave in my car after i was evacuated from NYU Medical Center with my wife and new born baby. While our home is in brooklyn, with all bridges and tunnels closed off, we were essentially "Trapped" in Manhattan with a newborn. With no where else to go, the Westin was there right in front of me, took the wife and baby, walked right into the chaotic busy Westin lobby and asked them for a room to seek shelter for a few hours while showing them our newborn. They acknowledged right away and gave us a room. The room was better than we expected and it felt like an actual vacation. We crashed in the comfortable beds and warm room and waited for the bridges to open.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ikelunious99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#177 of 467 in New York City
2,304 reviews
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#324 of 467 in New York City
8,576 reviews
Midtown
W New York
W New York
#319 of 467 in New York City
4,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton New York Grand Central
Hilton New York Grand Central
#334 of 467 in New York City
2,407 reviews
Midtown
Even Hotel New York - Midtown East
Even Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#34 of 467 in New York City
232 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#107 of 467 in New York City
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin New York Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New York Grand Central

Property: The Westin New York Grand Central
Address: 212 East 42nd Street, Between 2nd Ave and 3rd Ave, New York City, NY 10017-5803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Green Hotel in New York City
#155 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#155 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#164 Family Hotel in New York City
#172 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin New York Grand Central 4.5*
Number of rooms: 774
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New York Grand Central hotel is located in the heart of midtown Manhattan. Our hotel is ideal for both leisure and business travelers as it is ideally located near Grand Central Terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Starwood, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin New York Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New York Helmsley Hotel New York City
The Hotel New York City
New York Helmsley Hotel
Hemsley New York
Helmsley Hotel New York
The New York City Helmsley
Helmsley New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing