We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NYC 2009 Christmas trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Michelangelo Hotel
Ranked #44 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
East Greenwich, Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“NYC 2009 Christmas trip”
Reviewed January 18, 2010

Great location. Rooms are nicely decorated and cozy with marble bathroom floors, nice bathrobes and slippers. We were offered an upgrade to a suite which was an inside room but no cell phone service and no internet access whatsoever so we moved to a room overlooking 51st st. The staff is very good at responding promptly. Slight problem with room service but again the staff was quick to respond and took the charge off our bill. Parking garage is conveniently located next door. There is complimentary continental type breakfast with coffee weekday mornings in the lounge from 7 am to 9 am. The lobby is very beautiful. Will return.

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JT907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,363
    878
    183
    64
    36
See reviews for
773
1,573
139
460
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed January 11, 2010

The Michelangelo is one of my favorites in NYC. The location is perfect and the rooms are gorgeous. It is a little pricy but totally worth it if you have the $$! This is where we always choose to stay when staying in the city for the night or weekend.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbuck4259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2010

Breathtaking. Absolutely beautiful with astonishing service. $$$$ but worth it if you've got it.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank Layla420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, GA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2010

We had four (4) rooms for the weekend following Christmas for a family birthday celebration. Hotel was very accomodating to arrange for rooms with connecting doors (vestibule). Decor has recently been updated. Rooms were large, we had families with two children in the rooms with two queen beds and nobody felt cramped. Location is great - easy walk to Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall and Times Square. Breakfast in the lobby is a bit light - croissants and bannana bread only (no fruit) along with tea/coffee. We chose to go to Cafe Duke two doors down - it is amazing! Only complaint was clanking pipes in rooms on 3rd. floor. We did not experience this in rooms on 6th floor.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CaptainMarvel65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2009

Stayed here on the weekend after Thanksgiving. Great location just off Times Square and the Theatre district. Just across the street is one of the best restaurants in Manhattan. It's an easy walk to Rockefeller Center, Central Park and Lincoln Center. On the next block are two great NYC deli's, Lindy's and The Stage Diner for a quintessential New York breakfast or lunch. The other reviews have pretty much summed up this real "find" in New York City. The room and bed was very comfortable and well appointed with crown molding, wave radio, etc. We were able to get a very low rate on expedia for this hotel. Hundreds of dollars less than on other occasions when traveling to the City. The service is on par with the finest NYC hotels. The doorman and bellmen were always there to help, James the concierge, gladly made an excellent recommendation for a romantic birthday dinner and someone was always going out of their way to help. Enjoy this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BusterBrewsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2009

I stayed at the Michelangelo this past Sat. night (11/28). This hotel is very inviting, the service was timely, the atmosphere warm and elegant. Our room was extremely comfortable, clean and very quiet! The bed/pillows/linens were exceptional. The bathroom suite was fantastic. Everyone who assisted us from the doorman to the concierge was very helpful, friendly and pleasant. The morning coffees are very good, along w/ croissant/scones. I would definitely stay here again without hesitation. Very convenient location.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stuffedcabbage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, IN
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2009

My daughter (23 yrs old) and I went to NYC for the Thanksgiving holiday and chose the Michelangelo Hotel on recommendation of friends. We loved our five day stay at this lovely hotel. It is beautiful, very nice rooms, great location and an entire staff that creates an atmosphere of comfort, safety and luxury. The conceirge, James, is a treasure. He took care of all of our reservations and gave us some great "inside" NY tips. The hotel took care of having an area for their guests to watch the Macy's Parade on Thanksgiving---we were soooo grateful for that, as that is the event we had gone to NY to see. Thanks Jefferey!! The doormen were always helpful with our cabs and directions. The luggage porter was great upon our arrival and departure. We really could walk to Rockefellar Center, Broadway, Times Square, NBC studio, Radio City, Central Park and shopping. The Michelangelo made our NY trip very special.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sissyCarmel_IN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#24 of 466 in New York City
2,377 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#39 of 466 in New York City
2,757 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 466 in New York City
3,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 466 in New York City
2,834 reviews
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#65 of 466 in New York City
2,081 reviews
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Michelangelo Hotel

Property: The Michelangelo Hotel
Address: 152 West 51st Street, between 6th and 7th Avenues, New York City, NY 10019-6813
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in New York City
#31 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#35 Business Hotel in New York City
#40 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Michelangelo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be our guest! You will be honored with all the attention and impeccable service you deserve. Experience a place that captures the imagination and attention of the world. So close to NY's Theatre District, Times Square's entertainment and corporate headquarters, proximity to Rockefeller Center--you are in the perfect corner of the city for all you wish to do. With meeting and personal event facilities, plan a perfect event with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Michelangelo Hotel New York City
Michelangelo Hotel New York City
Michelangelo New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing