We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Michelangelo Hotel
Ranked #42 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Ocean City, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good Choice”
Reviewed June 21, 2009

My husband and I have stayed many times in New York over many years. When we were young and had to be frugal, we stayed on the west side near the area of the Michelangelo. After staying at the Plaza and other upscale hotels north and east of Fifth and 55th, in the years since the mid 70s, we preferred that area. On Trip Advisors recommendations, we tried the Michelangelo, since we had theater tickets, and we learned to appreciate what that area now offers. It really is convenient to a lot of things, if a bit on the tacky side. At least it is safer now than it used to be. Since we stayed from Friday to Monday, we had a very favorable weekend rate.
I was surprised to see how attractive the lobby is, considering the price. The room was fine, but could have been spruced up. I didn't care for the neoclassical decor. The velvet chair was very "tired". Other downers were the noise from above, where some construction was taking place right over our heads, and the drilling was very noisy, and happened on more than one day; and the noisy air conditioning unit. The room, which faced 51st St., was amazingly quiet, considering that it was on the 3rd floor. The upper floors of the building are entered by a separate entrance next to the hotel entrance, and are condo apartments not part of the hotel. I loved having the coffee and delicious croissants in the lobby bar. One didn't have to waste precious time over breakfast. The fruit offered every day was apples. I think orange juice would be more appropriate.
We tried several restaurants in the vicinity. Our 2 favorites were Trattoria Tricolori and Basso56, both Italian and within walking distance. I recommend them. Right on 51st in the block between 6th and 7th there are quite a few choices. If you are in the mood to splurge, try Le Bernadin, for years considered a top restaurant. Also there is Capital Grill, Ruth's Chris Steakhouse,Cafe Europa for breakfast or lunch, and Heartland Brewery, where we ate lunch after we checked out. The food was commonplace, but the people watching entertaining. 51st has some office highrises which spew people in and out at certain hours. There is also a very large grocery / carry out with all kinds of ready to eat items practically next door.
The Friday and Monday doorman is very attentive, but the Sat. and Sunday replacement never opened the door for us once. I think he hides in the baggage room by the door. We would stay at this hotel again, in spite of the few negatives. It was a real bargain. Midweek might not be a buy though, but m ost New York hotels do tend to be very pricey.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarylandGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,328
    871
    180
    64
    34
See reviews for
749
1,559
136
457
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2009

For New York this is a smaller hotel and therefore much more welcoming and service orientated than the mega-roomed chains you usually end up in. Our Junior suit was ideal with really good bed and furnishings and a lovely bathroom with a wonderful large bath tub.

This is the best place I have come across for taking in the sights in NYC - ideally placed for just about everything

The service was discrete but attentive. We ate in the restaurant once which was OK but better is available nearby.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, CA
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2009

Had planned to stay somewhere more modest, then stumbled on a bargain rate for the Michelangelo and grabbed it. So glad I did, this is a superb hotel. Modern, clean, efficient, comfortable, prime location.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kts123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2009

We stayed at the Michelangelo Hotel for 4 nights in early June 09. Overall, it isn't a bad hotel, but for the money I expected more.

The hotel is very convenient to most of the subway lines, which is a big plus for getting around Manhattan. It has a beautiful lobby--very impressive. Our deluxe room was the size of an average hotel room. The bed was extremely comfortable. We liked the turn-down service, the large tub, the free New York Times, and free shoe shine service.

A few things we didn't like. This room had certainly seen better days. It looked a bit worn and was in need of a makeover. The air conditioner was very loud and right next to the bed. It would cycle on for about 30 seconds every 3 or 4 minutes all day and night, and blow cold air on the bed. The bathroom was small, ordinary, and in need of some renovation. There is a black and white tv in the bathroom with a 3 or 4 inch screen that uses an antenna; it is essentially unusable. One of my pet peeves is when a hotel charges for internet. The Michelangelo charges $10 a day, but they do have a free computer in the lobby (extremely slow internet connection).

One thing to note is that the hotel advertises free coffee and tea in the morning, and they do have that. For some reason I thought they had a continental breakfast. Most mornings they only had croissants. One morning there were some scones as well. I thought there would be more options.

For the price I think this hotel is just average. If you can get a great deal on the room and you want to be in the Times Square area, then it wouldn't be a bad choice. We won't stay here again because I think there are better hotels for the price. For the rest of our trip we stayed at the Vincci Avalon Hotel, and for the same price had a beautiful suite in an excellent location.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BopperX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londres
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2009

I discovered this hotel in 1997 and have not stayed anywhere else since. That should say it all. Great location, great service and an atmosphere that is a haven from the madness outside the front door. This is NOT a poncey boutique hotel full of 'actors' in black pretending to be staff.
Love it.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BatterseaBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2009

We stayed at the Michelangelo in June 2009 after reading great reviews here on Tripadvisor and we weren't disappointed. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful and it was a beautiful hotel. We were upgraded when we checked in at the desk and found ourselves with a king size bed in a very spacious room that had a walk in closet and separate vanity and bathroom. The room was nicely furnished and there was a huge bath tub, nothing special but just huge. Hotel location was great and close to subway lines and conveniently located near MOMA, Times Square, Central Park and Rockefeller Center. The Michelangelo is also across the street from Le Bernadine and the concierge was able to get us a last minute reservation on the same night with no problem at all! The only drawback I can think of is that it is right off 7th avenue and you can hear the low hum of the crowds and cars if you're on a lower floor but there are great sound absorbing drapes you can pull over the windows.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zandago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Va Beach
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2009

After reading others reviews of the Michelangelo, I just had to give it a try. My husband and I usually stay in "Name Brand" hotels while in the City. We were a little apprehensive at first, but once we stepped in the door and felt the ambiance I knew we had made the right decision. The atmosphere is of course old world Italian. The staff was polite and beyond helpful. We had requested an early check in due to our early morning flight, and when no rooms were yet available they stored our luggage while we saw the sites. When we returned the hotel had compensated us for our trouble (which was actually no trouble at all) . Our room was elegant and extremely comfortable. We were only 4 stories up in the middle of NYC, but the outside noise level was null. We were pleasantly surprised. The room was spacious, the bed comfortable and the whole hotel very clean. All our future trips will be spent in The Michelangelo. as for price, I got a good one by checking the internet frequently. Thanks Michelangelo staff.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beachnative24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#20 of 466 in New York City
2,362 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#38 of 466 in New York City
2,704 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#22 of 466 in New York City
2,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 466 in New York City
3,596 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#100 of 466 in New York City
1,612 reviews
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#68 of 466 in New York City
1,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Michelangelo Hotel

Property: The Michelangelo Hotel
Address: 152 West 51st Street, Between 6th and 7th Avenues, New York City, NY 10019-6813
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in New York City
#31 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#35 Business Hotel in New York City
#39 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Michelangelo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be our guest! You will be honored with all the attention and impeccable service you deserve. Experience a place that captures the imagination and attention of the world. So close to NY's Theatre District, Times Square's entertainment and corporate headquarters, proximity to Rockefeller Center--you are in the perfect corner of the city for all you wish to do. With meeting and personal event facilities, plan a perfect event with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Michelangelo Hotel New York City
Michelangelo Hotel New York City
Michelangelo New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing