We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Michelangelo Hotel
Ranked #43 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Beautiful hotel with a great location. Service was great, the room was clean, and very comfortable. Room was so quiet you feel like you aren't in the heart of the city! Cannot wait to return for another visit

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kristen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,663)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,916 - 1,922 of 3,663 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2014

Great location. Good service. Booked the AMEX special rate with free room upgrade and 5% discount. Originally staying 4 days but had to change to 3. Tried to call hotel directly but could not speak to anyone. Called GM and she was very helpful and gave us a two level upgrade.
Thank you-Outstanding room but refrigerator was broken. After two attempts to repair, brought a loaner frig.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Pat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

No better Times Square location. Boutique euro style hotel with spacious rooms and professional service. No restaurant, but there is one adjacent. Room service comes from outside. Rooms are extremely comfortable, small but elegant lobby with european type breakfast and afternoon snack

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Frank N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

The Michelangelo is rated 4 star and our experience would list the service as a 5 star-hotel with grace and elegance. The hotel is just above and out of the crowds at time square which makes it a perfect central location and very easy walk ( in some cases one or two blocks) to Broadway shows. The property has clearly been recently renovated and the two rooms we had, a King Studio and a King suite were very large and well appointed. The key in Manhattan in the summer is a modern and functioning air conditioning system which the hotel has. I cranked it down to 67 Fahrenheit and there it stayed. The desk staff were incredibly pleasant and helpful. Nothing was too difficult and nothing to small to attend to. Although there is a $15 per day fee for WIFI in the rooms there is free access in the lobby and lots seating and table to work at. The concierge we dealt with was one of the best I have encountered. Thanks you James. There was nothing he couldn't do or arrange and was bang on with every restaurant suggestion he gave us.All the rooms come with a continental breakfast of coffee, tea,pastries and fruit all served with a smile. Just the right start to the morning. Newspapers are free and in the lobby. I have been to the city too many times to count and have stayed in many 4 and 5 star hotels and the Michelangelo stands head and shoulders above many of them.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susanlynne18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

The Michelangelo once again exceeded our expectations. We were upgraded to a lovely suite that was quite spacious and comfortable. They switched out the comforter for a blanket at our request making the bed absolutely perfect. And you can't beat the location - so convenient to plays and fabulous restaurants. The Michelangelo has become our favorite place to stay in New York City.

Room Tip: Haven't had a bad room yet so no tip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Dorthy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

This was our sixth or seventh time staying here. It was as outstanding now as it was eight years ago. We had not been to the hotel for three years but we were welcomed back warmly. It's a small boutique hotel with an excellent location and staff. The front desk personnel, the housekeeping and the wait staff at the lobby bar/dining room were very efficient and caring. We enjoyed an early evening cocktail and watched the World Cup games that were being telecast. One day, many Brazilian fans were in the lobby watching the game. Fortunately, we were rooting along with them. Rooms are not huge but they are very comfortable. The hotel welcomes many nationalities as guests and makes them feel at home. As long ago native New Yorkers, we felt at home.

Room Tip: Ask for a junior suite if it's available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank rockhound94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

This is our second stay at the Michelangelo, and it was even better this time that before. We ad our Kids, and their spouses along this time, and the Staff and the Hotel did everything they could to make our stay an exceptional experience. It was very very nice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Bria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 469 in New York City
3,748 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#110 of 469 in New York City
4,451 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#64 of 469 in New York City
6,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Lotte New York Palace
Lotte New York Palace
#81 of 469 in New York City
3,565 reviews
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#74 of 469 in New York City
2,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Michelangelo Hotel

Address: 152 West 51st Street, between 6th and 7th Avenues, New York City, NY 10019-6813
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in New York City
#31 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#35 Business Hotel in New York City
#38 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $270 - $863 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Michelangelo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be our guest! You will be honored with all the attention and impeccable service you deserve. Experience a place that captures the imagination and attention of the world. So close to NY's Theatre District, Times Square's entertainment and corporate headquarters, proximity to Rockefeller Center--you are in the perfect corner of the city for all you wish to do. With meeting and personal event facilities, plan a perfect event with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Michelangelo Hotel New York City
Michelangelo Hotel New York City
Michelangelo New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing