We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service, Location and smiles”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Michelangelo Hotel
Ranked #37 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Service, Location and smiles”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

The Michelangelo is rated 4 star and our experience would list the service as a 5 star-hotel with grace and elegance. The hotel is just above and out of the crowds at time square which makes it a perfect central location and very easy walk ( in some cases one or two blocks) to Broadway shows. The property has clearly been recently renovated and the two rooms we had, a King Studio and a King suite were very large and well appointed. The key in Manhattan in the summer is a modern and functioning air conditioning system which the hotel has. I cranked it down to 67 Fahrenheit and there it stayed. The desk staff were incredibly pleasant and helpful. Nothing was too difficult and nothing to small to attend to. Although there is a $15 per day fee for WIFI in the rooms there is free access in the lobby and lots seating and table to work at. The concierge we dealt with was one of the best I have encountered. Thanks you James. There was nothing he couldn't do or arrange and was bang on with every restaurant suggestion he gave us.All the rooms come with a continental breakfast of coffee, tea,pastries and fruit all served with a smile. Just the right start to the morning. Newspapers are free and in the lobby. I have been to the city too many times to count and have stayed in many 4 and 5 star hotels and the Michelangelo stands head and shoulders above many of them.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susanlynne18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,323
    866
    179
    63
    34
See reviews for
742
1,555
136
456
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Tx
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

The Michelangelo once again exceeded our expectations. We were upgraded to a lovely suite that was quite spacious and comfortable. They switched out the comforter for a blanket at our request making the bed absolutely perfect. And you can't beat the location - so convenient to plays and fabulous restaurants. The Michelangelo has become our favorite place to stay in New York City.

Room Tip: Haven't had a bad room yet so no tip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Dorthy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

This was our sixth or seventh time staying here. It was as outstanding now as it was eight years ago. We had not been to the hotel for three years but we were welcomed back warmly. It's a small boutique hotel with an excellent location and staff. The front desk personnel, the housekeeping and the wait staff at the lobby bar/dining room were very efficient and caring. We enjoyed an early evening cocktail and watched the World Cup games that were being telecast. One day, many Brazilian fans were in the lobby watching the game. Fortunately, we were rooting along with them. Rooms are not huge but they are very comfortable. The hotel welcomes many nationalities as guests and makes them feel at home. As long ago native New Yorkers, we felt at home.

Room Tip: Ask for a junior suite if it's available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rockhound94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2014

This is our second stay at the Michelangelo, and it was even better this time that before. We ad our Kids, and their spouses along this time, and the Staff and the Hotel did everything they could to make our stay an exceptional experience. It was very very nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Bria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

This hotel offers special packages and is a first class hotel located on 7th Ave near Times Square, Central Park South, Carnegie Hall etc. The rooms are exquisitely furnished and the feathered pillows are a delightful way to cruise off after a busy day. Service and staff are first class. Check for special packages which make this hotel reasonable for most folks.

Room Tip: Any room at the hotel is great. There are a variety of rooms depending on the package or your desire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank pbabcock2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Very pleasant surprise. I hesitate to give it a great review for fear that it will get to crowded to get a reservation the next time I want one! Room was large, clean, and comfortable. Location was excellent for theatre.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sheldon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2014

I had heard about this hotel a long time ago just never made it there. So glad we did this time. The hotel is clean and inviting. Our room (a junior suite) was large and very comfortable. The best part of the room/hotel was that it is QUIET. Normally in NYC you hear the street noise all night long. Not here. Didn't hear a thing. Very restful sleep for long days of sightseeing and shopping. Its also conveniently located close to Times Square, Central Park, Grand Central and 5th Ave. Would stay here again without question.

Room Tip: Junior Suite was a little more pricey but the extra room was great in NYC
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#21 of 466 in New York City
2,357 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#40 of 466 in New York City
2,695 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#22 of 466 in New York City
2,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#102 of 466 in New York City
1,600 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 466 in New York City
3,583 reviews
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#69 of 466 in New York City
1,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Michelangelo Hotel

Property: The Michelangelo Hotel
Address: 152 West 51st Street, Between 6th and 7th Avenues, New York City, NY 10019-6813
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in New York City
#31 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#34 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#35 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Michelangelo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be our guest! You will be honored with all the attention and impeccable service you deserve. Experience a place that captures the imagination and attention of the world. So close to NY's Theatre District, Times Square's entertainment and corporate headquarters, proximity to Rockefeller Center--you are in the perfect corner of the city for all you wish to do. With meeting and personal event facilities, plan a perfect event with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Michelangelo Hotel New York City
Michelangelo Hotel New York City
Michelangelo New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing