We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian abundance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Michelangelo Hotel
Ranked #42 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Neuss, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Italian abundance”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

If you are not afraid of red and gold, thick carpets, big sofas and cushions, Venetian vases and crystal chandeliers , then the Michelangelo may be your option of a quiet ,not so big hotel , ideally located in Midtown. I liked it very much, rich retro style, clients not too fancy, staff not over attentive, but efficient.
I had a big king studio room and a nice marble bath with one of these modern water-economizing showerheads which only drizzle. Another minus today is costly wireless which only worked in the lobby for free. But not more critic than this. Even a small italian breakfast for free.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jac0p01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for the review! Please come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,358
    876
    183
    64
    36
See reviews for
772
1,568
138
460
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hopewell Junction, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

This hotel is a beautiful, quiet and serene spot to stay. On top of that, it is convenient to Fifth Avenue, Rockefeller Center, the Theater District and any number of restaurants. In fact, Ruths Chris is right next door. The staff was warm and friendly. If you stay, make sure you check out the Mezzanine. I found it to be a very comfortable place to talk on the phone, read, meet with our friends before going out, have an after dinner drink and discuss the day. If you stay during a cold snap, you will not enjoy the Lobby Lounge for coffee or a meal. Whenever the front doors opened a blast of arctic air roared in and made it impossible to be comfortable. This is when I discovered the Mezzanine. In all fairness, NYC was experiencing an extremely frigid storm system.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thirdsister_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you so much for the review and the feedback! We have gone out and bought special heaters to accommodate these off the chart cold temperatures for our lobby lounge. So please come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey USA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We recently stayed at the Michelangelo for a theatre overnighter. The location is fabulous. So much to do in the area. We had a very nice lunch in the lounge. Our room was beautifully appointed and very spacious. All of the service people were very attentive. The price was very very good for a mid-town hotel. They even included a continental breakfast. The hotel is quite lovely with beautiful Italian decor. We will definitely stay there again when we are in NYC.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthernJerseyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We really appreciate it! Please come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

The thing that immediately strikes you with this hotel is how calm and sedate it is. If you're looking to be in the action, this is not it. The hotel is beautiful, the location is fairly convenient on the corner although i caught myself walking past it a couple times . . . More of that sedateness.

The knock off of a star came due to the less than helpful front desk staff and the crappy, small, interior room they gave me. It was nice, well furnished and clean, but at checkin he reassigned me from what i oater learned was a much better room. At the high group rate we were paying, i think i got the discount orbitz or Priceline room for the rate of a better room. Not a good feeling.

Room Tip: Ask for an exterior room, not a courtyard or light shaft room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback! Please comeback soon so we can give you a 7th Ave view! We do though get a lot of courtyard view requests to lessen the chance of city noise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humble, Texas
1 review
Reviewed January 10, 2014

My daughter and I stayed here 5 nights and enjoyed every moment of our experience here. Outstanding services due to having a very friendly staff in place. Nice place to stay and is in a great location. Yes, I recommend it and would stay again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gloria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for the kind review. Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okotoks, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Beautiful hotel!! Close to Times Square and Broadway. We found our 7th floor room to be very quiet - didn't hear any street noise at all. Friendly staff from the doorman to the waitress in the lobby lounge. The bed was awesome....I want one!!!
Wish our stay was longer'

Room Tip: Our suite room was a Christmas gift and we LOVED it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nanatiggerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you so much for the glowing review! Please come stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Hotel must have changed hands or fallen on hard times. We stayed for five nights in December 2013 and it seemed very old compared to our visit in 2010. Staff condescending and not very helpful. Included rolls and coffee in the morning have been moved from lovely lobby to what seems to be an old storeroom in the basement with no thought of décor. Faucets leaked, heat and a/c broken and did not work properly even after engineer "fixed" it. Reading lights very poor. Paid extra for upgraded room and paid $15/per night for Wi-Fi. The doorman and bell staff stayed in warm room and never bothered to open the heavy doors at the entrance. We will definitely find a new hotel our next visit to NYC.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Donna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and we apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations. We have been under the same ownership and management for over 20 years and most of our staff have been with us since opening. We would love for you to come back and let us prove to you that we are still the great hotel that you tried years ago. Please feel free to reach out directly at reservations@michelangelohotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#25 of 467 in New York City
2,374 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#40 of 467 in New York City
2,753 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
3,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 467 in New York City
2,828 reviews
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#64 of 467 in New York City
2,072 reviews
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Michelangelo Hotel

Property: The Michelangelo Hotel
Address: 152 West 51st Street, between 6th and 7th Avenues, New York City, NY 10019-6813
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in New York City
#31 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#35 Business Hotel in New York City
#39 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Michelangelo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be our guest! You will be honored with all the attention and impeccable service you deserve. Experience a place that captures the imagination and attention of the world. So close to NY's Theatre District, Times Square's entertainment and corporate headquarters, proximity to Rockefeller Center--you are in the perfect corner of the city for all you wish to do. With meeting and personal event facilities, plan a perfect event with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Michelangelo Hotel New York City
Michelangelo Hotel New York City
Michelangelo New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing