We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Michelangelo Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
$274
$247
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
$324
$305
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$257
$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$178
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
$154
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$153
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$167
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$309
$215
Official Site
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$229
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,849)
Filter reviews
3,849 results
Traveler rating
2,594
939
203
75
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,594
939
203
75
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstimes squaregreat locationnew yorkcentral parkrockefeller centerwalk in closetrooms are largejunior suitebeautiful hotelturn down serviceradio city music hallcomplimentary coffeesitting areacontinental breakfastby nyc standardsvisit nycstreet noise
Filter
Updating list...
2,270 - 2,275 of 3,849 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed in this hotel over Christmas last year and was completely disappointed. The location is very good, although it lacks a bit of tranquility. The hotel, however, was below minimal standards. The room, though large, was dirty, the TV was very old (it wasn't LCD!), and the bathroom amenities are not compatible with a five star hotel. The breakfast (offered for free) was shameful - it would be better to not even be offered. The hotel also doesn't have good restaurants, or even decent room service (that doesn't work after midnight). I would never stay there again and I wouldn't advise anybody to stay. There are much better options in New York for better prices.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vaneskaaraujo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We value your opinion and it helps us to make improvements. We are happy to share that we have nearly completed our TV upgrade project and also have newly renovated modern style suites we are sure you would enjoy. We apologize that you did not have the experience you had expected and would love for you to give us another try. Please reach out directly by phone or by email at reservations@michelangelohotel.com so that we can help plan your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Perhaps my expectations were a little too high. The room had a wall of windows but all looked out onto another wall - the bricks of a ventilation shaft. The shaft did not receive very much light so I had the feeling of being entombed and not sure what time of day or night it was outside. I arrived very late in the evening and was too tired to request another location. I did not attempt but I am sure the hotel would have done anything they could have to remedy. I assumed I would adjust. I come to New York often enough to know that a great view is unusual; some view of something is the norm but a ventilation shaft is a little unusual.
The room was very quiet and comfortable although a little dated.

Room Tip: Probably one of the best places in the city to find a quiet room.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We would be very happy to welcome you back and this time we would have a lovely 7th Avenue or 51st Street facing room for you. Please reach out directly by phone or by email at reservations@michelangelohotel.com so we can help plan your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This hotel is small compared to the Hilton's and large chains but is lacking very little by comparison. The staff are excellent and very helpful. The beds are very comfortable. The continental breakfast is minimal but it's free so you have to like that. My stay was wonderful from start to finish. My only complaint has to be the pricey wt-fi which in this day and age should be free.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to travellers to NYC and I definitely will stay here again on my next visit.

Room Tip: Our room had no city view but was very quiet as a result. If you prefer a street view I would think it may be noisy
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barb D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thank you Barb for the great review. We are looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We booked a one night stay on spur of the moment. Reservation desk was extremely helpful and accommodating. Upon arrival we were told we had been upgraded. Our room was spacious and immaculate! Decor tasteful and fresh. Air temp easy to regulate. All staff were courteous, efficient and helpful. Self park was convenient at a reduced rate. Complimentary continental breakfast included. Location was perfect. Easy access to subway at 49th/7th. We have stayed at several other hotels but this has it all. Will definately return to NYC and stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BethL854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thank you Beth for the great review and for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with everyone. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed in Michelangelo hotel 7 nights, i booked it basically for: location, italian style breakfast included, size of the room.
Location is great, 51 str and 7 Av, few blocks from all the midtown touristic places, and where a tourist has to sleep. Broadway theathers are all around, 2 big movie thaters are in 42 str just few mins away, as tourist You won't be looking so much for bars and clubs that are mostly in other areas.
The room was much smaller than i thought, ok not so small..but i booked a 41 mt room, i can give my room 30 mt, no more.
The tv was not a 42 flat but a pretty old tv, with cable. The bathroom was nothing special, shower old .
The bed was a king size very confortable at least.
The italian style breakfast was ok for one italian as I'm , but not at all for somebody used to stay in hotel with continental breakfast: american coffee and tea, very good croissant and muffins.
The breakfast time is till 9 am during the week and 10 in the weeekend, so many times we had to have breakfast just around the corner at Cafè Duke, a very good deli with a lot of options.
In the end: the hotel is under maintenance and i wish they make better the rooms because do not value for the rate you pay. The location is great. The breakfast is essencial, but nost of the hotel in NY do not includ it. It's not bad at all, but for 300-400 usd a night you can find better option.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GianlucaItalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your feedback. We are happy to share with you that we have nearly updated all TV's in the building and we have some newly renovated modern style one bedroom suites we think that you would love. We would like very much for you to come back and stay with us again. You can reach us directly at reservations@michelangelohotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews