We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best value in New York City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Michelangelo Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Michelangelo Hotel
Ranked #36 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Tx
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best value in New York City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We've been coming to New York City over the 4th of July for over 20 years staying at some of the nicest hotels in NYC. We just tried the Michelangelo this past 4th and loved it. Our room was nice with a very comfortable bed AND something I've never experienced at a New York hotel, a free continental breakfast. But the best was the rate! Excellent value for a hotel so close to the theater district.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorthy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for the great review! Please reach out to us so we can help you plan your next July visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,781
    687
    141
    47
    31
See reviews for
505
1,232
109
362
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I am a former New Yorker so I knew what I wanted in a hotel when I went back. Mostly I got it at the Michelangelo. Room was quiet, very nice bed and linens. Nice amenities including an in-room safe, robes, hair-dryer, and iPod doc. Not-so-nice was the lack of Internet in the room without a hefty additional charge. I really believe that any "higher end" hotel needs to make this a standard amenity by this time. Also annoying was the free breakfast (in the basement) closing at precisely 9:00 am. The worker was literally carting away everything (and there wasn't that much, just coffee and simple pastries) at 9:00. Would it really hurt to leave out the self-serve coffee urns? For those coming from the west coast 9:00 am is really 6:00 am. A suggestion I am going to make to the hotel is also to give us some self-serve water in the lobby in the summer. Since the lobby is the only place for Internet and it was 100 degrees outside, that would be a simple upgrade. The air conditioning worked well by the way, almost too well at times! Still a good choice for a midtown stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for the review and for providing your feedback. These reviews are important to us as we use them as a tool to improve our service and amenities. Please note that we will be sharing your comments with the executive team to address your suggestions. We would like for you to try us again soon. You can reach us directly at reservations@michelangelohotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

What a wonderful stay. The hotel is literally around the corner from Times Square, and a ten minute walk to Rockefeller Plaza and 5th Ave. We arrived well before check-in with the hope of simply storing our luggage and grabbing a bite to eat until we could check-in properly, but the young lady at the reception desk set us up in our room straight away. The room was nicely sized and the bed ridiculously comfortable! A simple but efficient continental breakfast the next morning got our day started off right! Exceptionally quiet with an attentive and helpful staff, I couldn't recommend The Michelangelo more and look forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thanks you Jacqueline for the very nice review and for taking the time to share your experience with everyone! We looking forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This hotel has everything - location, helpful service, biggest rooms, huge bathtub - all in the heart of NYC.
The rooms are quiet - you don't feel like you're on a "tour bus" merry go around as you might at other hotels.
I ordered champagne for my partner's birthday and as our flight was delayed, they noted it, I didn't even have to call, and made sure it was perfectly chilled for our arrival. That's service!
I would stay again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoEvatheDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for the review and hopefully you can come back and spend your next special occasion with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
153 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Beautiful hotel perfectly located for all NY has to offer. Well appointed and very clean rooms. Suite was very large and priced very well for high end NY hotel. Wish they had a restaurant other then that can't wait to return.The bed was extremely comfortable.

Room Tip: The suite with the parlor was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Soprano1NewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
We can't wait for your return as well! Thank you for the very nice review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Outstanding location, exceptional service, no lines, best value. Complimentary breakfast is a good way to begin our day at NY. Rooms are very quiet and no rush anytime ! Transfer from JFK was arranged by the Concierge. Internet is free at the Lobby and with a small charge in the room.

Room Tip: Family double rooms are exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EDUARZT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for the very gracious review. We look forward to helping you book your next visit to NYC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This great hotel is in a location ideal for tourists who want to observe New York. When you stay at the Michelangelo you get a friendly staff, large and comfortable rooms, and easy access to the best of what New York has to offer. I strongly recommend this hotel due to its great features and reasonable prices when you stay there.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lebronston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#17 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,111 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#42 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,638 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#22 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Kimpton Muse Hotel
The Kimpton Muse Hotel
#52 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,871 reviews
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#33 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,056 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Times Square New York
Hyatt Times Square New York
#54 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Michelangelo Hotel

Property: The Michelangelo Hotel
Address: 152 West 51st Street, Between 6th and 7th Avenues, New York City, NY 10019-6813
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in New York City
#30 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#31 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#35 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Michelangelo Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be our guest! You will be honored with all the attention and impeccable service you deserve. Experience a place that captures the imagination and attention of the world. So close to NY's Theatre District, Times Square's entertainment and corporate headquarters, proximity to Rockefeller Center--you are in the perfect corner of the city for all you wish to do. With meeting and personal event facilities, plan a perfect event with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Michelangelo Hotel New York City
Michelangelo Hotel New York City
Michelangelo New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing