We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Michelangelo Hotel
Ranked #43 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Lovely boutique hotel right in the hub of the action but far enough away from the noise of Times Square. When you're in New York City, especially Times Square, you spend most of your time outside the hotel, but what was lovely about the Michelangelo is that once you enter, you feel like you have entered a different world and slow down a little. Even though our room faced out onto the street, we heard barely any street noise. The room was a nice size, the tub great!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mxm13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Thank you very much for the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,580)
There are newer reviews for The Michelangelo Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,088 - 2,094 of 3,580 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the Michaelangelo many times and loved it. We returned this weekend and were very disappointed. Although they upgraded us to a suite, the rooms were dated. Draperies appeared dull and carpet could have used a nice cleaning. In all felt it was ok, but not great and worth the price.

If you want to stay in the theatre district, the W is a great choice; gleaming and modern.

Room Tip: In the bathroom there is a sealed tin of 10 aspirin. The note reads, "If this tin is opened yo...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marge673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry if your experience did not meet your expectations. We are happy to share with you that we have some newly renovated rooms and suites in a very modern motif which we are sure you would love. Please give us another try the next time you are in NYC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

A really wonderful stay at a luxury boutique hotel in a super location very near Times Square and all the theatres (in fact, Wicked, is just a block down the street). We arrived early to check-in, and had no problem getting our room - and an upgrade. The rooms are large by NYC standards, with quality furnishings and linens, and marble bath and walkin closet with safe. Well designed. Our bath had an oversized tub and a bidet, so you know it is luxury. Turn-down service at night with chocolate square treat. Complimentary and really good coffee and pastries in the basement Tuscan room - I brought ours up to the room. No wait for elevators as they have 3 for eight floors. Great concierge and front desk staff. Easy to get to the subway or catch a cab. Comfortable beds and blackout shades if you want to sleep in.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hunfrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Thank you so much for the great review! Please come back soon and stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I have been visiting NY since 1980. I've stayed at numerous hotels. I am convinced that the Michelangelo is the best kept secret in NY. I just returned from a 4 day visit during which my best friend and I stayed at the Michelangelo. My junior suite was immaculate, spacious and beautiful. The staff were wonderful and so helpful. Three beautiful elevators that you never had to wait for! The location was perfect. I can't wait to go back to the Michelangelo. What's not to love?

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Pat J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Thank you for sharing the secret and for taking the time to write a review! We cant wait to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We moved to the Michelangelo after a bad experience at the Benjamin. The staff from the reservations agent to front desk to bellman were excellent and friendly. They were able to get us into our room early after our move from the Benjamin so we could prepare for the wedding we were attending. The room was spacious and nicely furnished. The bathroom was large for NYC. There was even a complimentary continental breakfast each morning so you could grab coffee and a croissant. Location is excellent on 51st and 7th. Had connecting room with our kids which was our main criteria. Highly recommend. We had stayed here one time before as it is on the route for the Macy's thanksgiving day parade.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Thank you Jonathan for the great review! We are happy that we could be part of making your trip to NYC a success! We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Right near theater district in mid town and a block from west side subway, this boutique has good sized rooms and friendly staff for a good price. Not as luxurious as some east side hotels but quite a bit cheaper too. Room service food is prompt and good, and you are right in the middle of everything. Recommend a stay!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ted s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Thank you Ted for the great review! We appreciate the time you took to share your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Wonderful, small, European style mid town hotel. Small in size with a very friendly and professional staff. This was our second stay, after a wonderful experience the first time. The location is extremely convenient and really near everything--you can walk almost everywhere. The room was clean and comfortable and the bathroom and shower were elegant and worked perfectly. The hotel is extremely quiet, which is a nice treat when you stay in busy NYC. We will definitely stay at the Michelangelo on our next trip to NYC---without a doubt!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Thank you Debby for the great review! Please come back soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#27 of 468 in New York City
2,391 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#41 of 468 in New York City
2,806 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 468 in New York City
3,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 468 in New York City
2,899 reviews
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Michelangelo Hotel

Address: 152 West 51st Street, between 6th and 7th Avenues, New York City, NY 10019-6813
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in New York City
#31 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#35 Business Hotel in New York City
#38 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $308 - $713 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Michelangelo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be our guest! You will be honored with all the attention and impeccable service you deserve. Experience a place that captures the imagination and attention of the world. So close to NY's Theatre District, Times Square's entertainment and corporate headquarters, proximity to Rockefeller Center--you are in the perfect corner of the city for all you wish to do. With meeting and personal event facilities, plan a perfect event with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Michelangelo Hotel New York City
Michelangelo Hotel New York City
Michelangelo New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing