We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great midtown hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Michelangelo Hotel
Ranked #38 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great midtown hotel”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We moved to the Michelangelo after a bad experience at the Benjamin. The staff from the reservations agent to front desk to bellman were excellent and friendly. They were able to get us into our room early after our move from the Benjamin so we could prepare for the wedding we were attending. The room was spacious and nicely furnished. The bathroom was large for NYC. There was even a complimentary continental breakfast each morning so you could grab coffee and a croissant. Location is excellent on 51st and 7th. Had connecting room with our kids which was our main criteria. Highly recommend. We had stayed here one time before as it is on the route for the Macy's thanksgiving day parade.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you Jonathan for the great review! We are happy that we could be part of making your trip to NYC a success! We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,296
    861
    175
    63
    33
See reviews for
730
1,535
136
453
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Right near theater district in mid town and a block from west side subway, this boutique has good sized rooms and friendly staff for a good price. Not as luxurious as some east side hotels but quite a bit cheaper too. Room service food is prompt and good, and you are right in the middle of everything. Recommend a stay!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ted s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you Ted for the great review! We appreciate the time you took to share your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Wonderful, small, European style mid town hotel. Small in size with a very friendly and professional staff. This was our second stay, after a wonderful experience the first time. The location is extremely convenient and really near everything--you can walk almost everywhere. The room was clean and comfortable and the bathroom and shower were elegant and worked perfectly. The hotel is extremely quiet, which is a nice treat when you stay in busy NYC. We will definitely stay at the Michelangelo on our next trip to NYC---without a doubt!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you Debby for the great review! Please come back soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
192 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I arrived at The Michelangelo at night.The traffic getting into the city was terrible, and the calm, quiet lobby was welcoming. The room was nice, fairly big by NY standards, quiet with a comfortable bed. It was quite warm in NY and the A/C worked well and was easy to regulate. The shower was also nice as were the towels.

On the more negative side, my room faced the wall of another building, which was fine at night but during the day the lack of natural night made the room a bit claustrophobic. Also, I got very poor cell phone reception in the room. Wifi was $15 a day. The electrical outlets in the room are terribly situated. Definitely not located for the modern world -- you could not charge your phone and keep it bedside at the same time. I've seen older hotels solve this issue by providing night tables with outlets in the table.

Also the safe was on the top shelf of the closet -- very difficult to reach and impossible to see into. Before I checked out, I had to pull the desk chair over to stand on in order to look into the safe and make sure I wasn't leaving anything behind.

My last comment -- one I make often about hotels -- is about the comforter on most hotel beds now. Way too hot for warm weather!! I asked the housekeeper to swap it out for a lightweight (and season appropriate) blanket.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for the review and for taking the time to share your feedback. We would love for you to come back to the hotel for another stay so that we can prove to you that the Michelangelo Hotel is the best hotel in New York! Please feel free to reach out directly by phone or by email at reservations@michelangelohotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I have stayed at the Michelangelo several times and I just love it! The rooms are clean, spacious and luxurious, and the beds and linens are very comfortable. The service is wonderful, and the location is very central. Last time I stayed at The Michelangelo, I got a free upgraded room and it was such a nice treat. I definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieAnneGarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you so much for the review and your loyalty. We appreciate the time you took to write a review and share your experiences with everyone. We cant wait to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Missouri
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights here on a visit to the city. All the staff was very friendly and accommodating. Our arrival was 3 hours early but they had our room ready per request. The lobby is very inviting and we spent time there just relaxing after outings. There was not much of a view per say but our room was an interior one so there was no street noise. Bed was very comfortable and the room was nice sized considering the limited space you expect to find in New York. Close to Time Square and many other site seeing attractions. And subway access across the street.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Belinda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you so much for the review Belinda! Looking forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I have been staying at the Michelangelo for years and it is my hotel of choice for business and pleasure, The rooms are private, comfortable, quiet and elegant. The most appealing aspect of my stays are the staff from the Bell captain to the Front desk (Walter and Joseph) to consierge (James) to room service - just everyone. On this last trip, I was presented with a bottle of wine and a box of chocolates in celebration of my "39th" birthday. Excellent for business and superior for my personal stays. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for your continued support and for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate the time you took to write your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#22 of 468 in New York City
2,348 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 468 in New York City
2,715 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#39 of 468 in New York City
2,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#89 of 468 in New York City
4,242 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#98 of 468 in New York City
1,538 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 468 in New York City
3,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Michelangelo Hotel

Property: The Michelangelo Hotel
Address: 152 West 51st Street, Between 6th and 7th Avenues, New York City, NY 10019-6813
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in New York City
#31 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#34 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#35 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Michelangelo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be our guest! You will be honored with all the attention and impeccable service you deserve. Experience a place that captures the imagination and attention of the world. So close to NY's Theatre District, Times Square's entertainment and corporate headquarters, proximity to Rockefeller Center--you are in the perfect corner of the city for all you wish to do. With meeting and personal event facilities, plan a perfect event with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelPower, TravelUp, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Michelangelo Hotel New York City
Michelangelo Hotel New York City
Michelangelo New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing