We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok - central location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Michelangelo Hotel
Ranked #43 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Kerry
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ok - central location”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

stayed here for a week of our honeymoon, service with a smile it was not. In all our time there the folks at the front desk looked like we had slapped them in the face everytime we asked a question, bar one guy who couldnt be more helpful. Rooms are spacious enough - be sure to ask for a corner room. Free breakfast is a nice add on but you are basically having cake for your first meal of the day, when in Rome I suppose!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PCunningham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for the review and your feedback. These reviews are important to us and we will certainly share your experience with our team. We strive to offer the top service in NYC and we would very much like you to come back so that we can prove that to you. Please reach out directly to us by phone or by email at reservations@michelangelohotel.com to plan your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,358
    876
    183
    64
    36
See reviews for
772
1,568
138
460
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful hotel with extraordinary staff.

From the charming door man to the gorgeous lobby, caring reception staff and generous room the hotel cannot be faulted.

Everything is immaculate. Little design touches here and there make this hotel truly unique and much more interesting than many chain hotels.

It be would great if the hotel offered free in room WiFi and had coffee/tea making facilities in the room. However, the hotel does offer free coffee and tea with Danish from one of its conference suites in the morning.

I'd definitely recommend this hotel and would come back.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pro-Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We look forward to your return. Please feel free to reach out prior to your next trip so that we can set your room up with a coffee maker which are available upon request!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Close to Times Square but out of the main hustle and bustle this is an oasis to return to each day. The staff are fabulous and offer helpful advice re restaurants and bars nearby. We have stayed a couple of tines and always find it excellent value although it is not a cheap option.the rooms are spacious and furnished in a traditional way and have everything you need for an enjoyable stay. We would feel confident to recommend this hotel

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank meadowsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for the great review and in your confidence to recommend us to others! We love to hear that and we would love to see you again for another visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is one of the most Fabulous places I have ever stayed. We try and go to New York at least once a year, this is always our hotel of choice. The rooms are big compared to NYC standards. You don't feel like you are sleeping in a closet, everything thing about the hotel is elegant. The staff is wonderful they actually remember our names now. Close to Broadway and GREAT restaurants and subway. Also, the chocolate on the pillow is a great touch. A little piece of Heaven.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilybell1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for the fabulous review and thank you for making the Michelangelo Hotel your hotel of choice when visiting NYC. We cant wait to see you for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have stayed in new York many times. Twice we have stayed at the Michelangelo Hotel. Which is saying a lot because of the number of options available. The hotel is an easy walk to Times Square, Central Park, MOMA, Metropolitan Museum, Zoo, etc. We find the rooms clean and comfortable and despite being on a busy street, very little sound enters the room.

Room Tip: Ask for an outside room and upgrade whenever possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr_AquaVancouverBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for the great review and thank you for staying with us a second time! Hopefully we can see you for a third visit soon. Please feel free to reach out directly by phone or by email at reservations@michelangelohotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Staff was outstanding! Very helpful and professional. I would 100% stay here again. Not a huge issue but to have to pay for wifi access at $14.99/day seems unreasonable these days. All else, the facilities, room, services, online reservation process was truly outstanding. Awesome beds! I would highly recommend this hotel for a romantic getaway or even a family stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martica03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for the great review and for choosing to stay at the Michelangelo for your romantic getaway! We would love to welcome you back and have you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

A few minutes walk from times square, yet it is just far enough away to get away from the crowds. The rooms are large by most hotels standards, comfortably furnished, with plenty of storage space. This is the second time I have stayed here and both trips have been equally good.
Free tea and coffee, croissants and muffins are available in the basement if you need a quick breakfast. A more substantial breakfast can be had from the hotel restaurant or the many deli's within a few minutes walk.
The rooms are very quiet and the bed very comfortable.
The only down side to the hotel is that some of the rooms face onto a large brickwall, which makes them rather dark and viewless.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Synodita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a such a great review and thank you for returning to stay with us a second time. Please reach out directly prior to your next stay so that we can make sure that you get a room facing 7th Avenue or 51st Street!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#24 of 467 in New York City
2,374 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#42 of 467 in New York City
2,748 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
3,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#22 of 467 in New York City
2,827 reviews
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#65 of 467 in New York City
2,065 reviews
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Michelangelo Hotel

Property: The Michelangelo Hotel
Address: 152 West 51st Street, between 6th and 7th Avenues, New York City, NY 10019-6813
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in New York City
#31 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#35 Business Hotel in New York City
#40 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Michelangelo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be our guest! You will be honored with all the attention and impeccable service you deserve. Experience a place that captures the imagination and attention of the world. So close to NY's Theatre District, Times Square's entertainment and corporate headquarters, proximity to Rockefeller Center--you are in the perfect corner of the city for all you wish to do. With meeting and personal event facilities, plan a perfect event with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Michelangelo Hotel New York City
Michelangelo Hotel New York City
Michelangelo New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing