We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great hotel and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Michelangelo Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Michelangelo Hotel
Ranked #37 of 475 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great hotel and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed here for our 25th wedding anniversary and had a fabulous time. The suite was quiet, luxurious and absolutely spotless. The hotel staff were very helpful and polite, and room service prompt. It is perfect location with so much in walking distance.
We had a wonderful holiday and will be booking in when we next visit New York.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsHug91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,786
    688
    141
    47
    31
See reviews for
507
1,234
109
363
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Corona del Mar, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the Michelangelo hotel for several years now. We LOVE this hotel and would never consider staying any where else in New York!!! As others have said, the location is fantastic, the rooms are really large, the bathrooms are great and the staff is fabulous!!! We now feel at home in New York at the Michelangelo!!! We have brought many friends there and they also loved it!!! Bernie at the bar, Henry at the door and the rest of the staff are so welcoming. The is a Europa cafe across the street and Ruth Chris next door, as well as The Capitol Grill. The hotel has a free car service to Wall Street M-F and continental breakfast everyday included in the price of the room..Michelangelo would be proud to have this hotel named after him!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emailln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I stayed at the Michelangelo on business last week. My room was enormous (by NY standards), well-appointed, and clean. Very comfortable bed; quiet (though I did not face the street - so it was a bit dark in the room). The staff, particularly the doormen, deserve a shout-out - always smiling and offering a greeting - it made it a pleasure to come back to the hotel. I try not to stay near Times Square as the area can be a bit of a zoo, but the Michelangelo was a haven from the craziness outside. The price also was very reasonable given the central location and the amenities offered.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank parismuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

You can not beat the location, close to everything with a subway station one block up. Beautiful, clean rooms and a very friendly staff. Very comfortable beds and the rooms are quiet. The bar in the lobby is beautiful but pricey, however they do have an adequate wine selection.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We love this hotel! We have stayed there before and were updated to a huge suite this time since it was our anniversary! Nice bedding, 1 1/2 bathrooms beautifully decorated rooms, terrific staff and great location. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Suites are enormous and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sallyjane_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunt Valley, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed one night at The Michelangelo in November. I have stayed at this property many times and chose it again for it's proximity to shopping and shows. Unfortunately, when we arrived the bellman was elsewhere so we had to go in and find him to valet our car. At 2:00 our room was not ready so we checked bags and came back later. Check-in was a breeze. Our room was nicely outfitted. The bed was comfortable with clean, quality linens. The bathroom was also clean and stocked with nice toiletries. The shower pressure is not good; but it's NY so I don't expect much. Black out blinds did not completely black out the endless neon Barclay sign on building opposite our room - annoying all night long. Housekeeping knocked on our room at 9:00 AM; which in my opinion was unnecessary as we were checking out that day and wanted to sleep in. Nice staff in hotel bar area. You always see the same staff, which is refreshing. This property is pricey, but not as crazy as other NYC hotels. Overall, a good stay. Again, it's all about the location here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This is a good hotel with friendly staff. NYC was very full when I was there, and it was quite short notice so the room price was high. The hotel is a little dated, but well appointed. The baroque over the top decoration is a bit skin deep, but it is quite, good beds, nice linen, clean...everything works.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ranelaghandback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#17 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,112 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#43 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,640 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Kimpton Muse Hotel
The Kimpton Muse Hotel
#50 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,873 reviews
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#34 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,057 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Times Square New York
Hyatt Times Square New York
#54 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Michelangelo Hotel

Property: The Michelangelo Hotel
Address: 152 West 51st Street, Between 6th and 7th Avenues, New York City, NY 10019-6813
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in New York City
#30 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#31 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#35 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Michelangelo Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be our guest! You will be honored with all the attention and impeccable service you deserve. Experience a place that captures the imagination and attention of the world. So close to NY's Theatre District, Times Square's entertainment and corporate headquarters, proximity to Rockefeller Center--you are in the perfect corner of the city for all you wish to do. With meeting and personal event facilities, plan a perfect event with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Michelangelo Hotel New York City
Michelangelo Hotel New York City
Michelangelo New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing