We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally a room you can turn around in!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Michelangelo Hotel
Ranked #43 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2012

With NYC real estate at a premium, unless you want to spend $1,000 a night on a hotel room, there are not many options. Located in the very busy theatre district and extremely close to Times Square, it is a quiet oasis from the city. The lobby is beautifully decorated, eclectic, full of comfy couches and great wine by the glass. The elevators are fast. Never had to wait more than 15 seconds. Our King Suite was clean, modern yet very comfortable. A nice bed, TV, comfy couch to prop up and read the city magazines, a bar area, great for jumping on the laptop, and a decent sized bathroom. There is good soundproofing, as once in our room, we didn't hear a thing. Highly recommend over any of those Times Square chains.

Room Tip: None of the rooms are higher than I believe eight stories. We had a view of the busy streets below a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gretchen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,770)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,383 - 2,389 of 3,770 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

This is a top notch hotel, with beautiful, large and quiet rooms, excellent location, and wonderful service. If you join their free hotel club, you even get more- free internet, upgraded room, and a box of chocolates. The only thig this hotel doesn't offer is great views from their rooms. It is my first choice in NYC, and I have stayed at many other hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan1928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night. We booked a Standard Kink Room and were upgraded to a King Suite. We did not book here to stay in the room but it was a nice retreat for us after seeing Wicked. The location of the Hotel is great especially if you are going to see a show. There is not a lot of night time action at the Hotel bar. We received a great discount on our room because I booked during during an error period on their site where the room rate was listed at $79 per night. Did not get that rate but a nice discount off the regular rate.

Room Tip: Our suit was right behind the elevator but we could not hear it with the bathroom door closed. (Rm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BDK9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We took our 3 kids to NYC to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. We knew we wanted to stay close to theaters, but away from the constant daylight of Times Square. We also wanted 2 adjoining rooms and a certain amount of luxury for this special occasion.

The Michaelangelo was perfect in every way. The lobby is below sidewalk level which makes you feel as if you've stepped away from it all when you enter. It's sumputuously decorated...marble, fine art on the walls, tinkling glass chandeliers and soft, comfy seating.

Our rooms were at the end of a short hallway. You entered via a small "foyer" with its own private door...The kids were in 2 queens to the left, we had a king room to the right. Both had large bathrooms that included a separate vanity space and a walk in closet.

The rooms were lovely....Again, sumptuously decorated with lots of pillows and sateen bed coverings. High ceilings, crown moulding and beautiful furnishings provided a relaxing hideaway after a long day of siteseeing in NYC. Other reviews have complained about the view and the darkness of the rooms, but we were happy for the smaller windows and coziness. We truly felt we were tucked away in our own chateau-like retreat.

The desk staff and doorman were always pleasant and welcoming. The nightly turn down with chocolates is a fun touch. We enjoyed the complimentary coffee and pastries in the morning and loved getting the Times dropped off at our doorstep each morning (including Sunday!).

What keeps this hotel from 5 stars in the Value category for us: No onsite amenties like a pool or workout room (they do have an arrangement with a local gym) and the daily in-room WiFi fee (there is free WiFi in the lobby).

For location and convenience, quality of room and service, we can highly recommend this hotel and look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dartmouth91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Perfect location for a short holiday stay. Next to the heart of broadway but on a quite and elegant street (51w). Spacious , comfortable and clean rooms. Great bathrooms. The TV is obsolete with poor image and sound.
The lobby is old fashion and missing a trendy bar. Wifi should be free considering room rates.
Friendly and professional satf.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BEKMaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 6 nights. It was my 40th birthday and my wife's first time in New York and the USA.

From when we first stepped into the hotel on that Sunday afternoon, we knew we had chosen the right hotel; the doorman was ever so obliging and so was the reception man. Sorry but forgot their names.

Hotel is in a great location and if you want to avoid the hussle and bussle of Times Square, you can turn right when you leave the hotel and slip towards 5th and 6th Avenue if you prefer a quieter walk downtown and around!

The room we had was superb with a cool Bose stereo and even a tv in the bathroom. Lovely use of space and great air-con, which I hear is hard to come by in some hotel reviews we read.

Everything we experienced at the hotel made our stay so very much enjoyable and we will certainly be going back, probably sooner than we think!

Room Tip: See if you can go on a special occasion. We loved our upgraded room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seasiider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Just pulling up to the front door, I knew we chose the right Hotel for our anniversary weekend celebration. Located on 51st street, just a few steps from the traffice of 7th Avenue, made the temporary luggage drop off a breeze. We were promptly met by the door man, and then felt like we walked into a piece of Europe. The understated elegance of the lobby was a stand out in this city which we frequent often. Reception at the front desk was delightful and we were greeted by a pleasant staff who told us that since our room wasn't ready yet, we would be up graded to a suite. Our jaws dropped as we entered the room....marble floors, two bathrooms, Bose stereo system playing as we entered, and yes....even a door bell (I am easily impressed). Not much of a view from the windows, but hey, we were there to experience NYC on foot, not from our room. Our mission was to visit the Diamond district, take a walk through Central park by way of 5th Avenue, then out to dinner and a show. Didn't need a cab for anything. Everything was within walking distance from the hotel. Awesome concierge service helped us find a great restuarant on Hotel Row and snagged a perfect 6pm dinner reservation which left us plenty of time to get to our show. Complimentary breakfast the next morning, and easy check out made start to finish a perfect weekend for us. This will be my hotel of choice for all future visits. I would highly....highly recommend a stay here!

Room Tip: If you can splurge a bit...check out one of the suites. Very quiet and luxurious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GCDO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#115 of 473 in New York City
4,551 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#72 of 473 in New York City
6,768 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 473 in New York City
3,844 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#26 of 473 in New York City
2,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Michelangelo Hotel

Address: 152 West 51st Street, between 6th and 7th Avenues, New York City, NY 10019-6813
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in New York City
#31 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#34 Business Hotel in New York City
#39 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $262 - $572 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Michelangelo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be our guest! You will be honored with all the attention and impeccable service you deserve. Experience a place that captures the imagination and attention of the world. So close to NY's Theatre District, Times Square's entertainment and corporate headquarters, proximity to Rockefeller Center--you are in the perfect corner of the city for all you wish to do. With meeting and personal event facilities, plan a perfect event with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, HotelPower, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Michelangelo Hotel New York City
Michelangelo Hotel New York City
Michelangelo New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing