We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location... but overall underwhelming.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Michelangelo Hotel
Ranked #43 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We booked 7 nights at this hotel after reading all of great reviews on trip advisor and paid just over $2700.00. On arriving at the hotel just before 3pm we were greeted at reception and we were advised that we might like to consider a suite since we were staying 6 nights however this would be at an additional cost of $100.00 per night and so we declined, we were then told that an internally facing room was available immediately but that if we wanted to wait half an hour we could have a room with an external view, we said that we would wait. An hour and twenty minutes later and after being told several times that we would only be waiting another 10 minutes, I went back to the reception desk and asked why we had witnessed several other families checking in, all of whom had been given rooms immediately when we were still waiting, a less than friendly and enthusaistic receptionist informed me that we were still waiting because of my specific request to be on the 3rd floor??? I then explained that I had made no such specifications and had simply agreed to wait half an hour for an externally facing room, we were then immediately given a room on the 6th floor and were finally able to get some rest after an 8 hour flight. During the wait we were not offered anything to drink but we were given a buy one get one free wine voucher, we got a very curt apology but it didn't feel genuine at all, overall the impression we got was that we were an irritation to the front desk staff.

Got to the room and it was fine, very good size for New York standards and was clean enough, bathroom was a bit dated but nothing really to complain about. The bed was also very comfortable.

We noticed on an evening that other rooms were being given a turn down service, and other reviewers on trip advisor have confirmed they received this service with chocolate- we didn't receive any turn down service for the duration of our stay, I have no idea why??

If you passed staff members in the corridors such as the maids etc they always greeted you, however reception staff never acknowledged us and sometimes the door man would greet us and other times it was like we were invisable. Overall we found the front of house staff to be uninterested and disengaged, it was very dissapointing.

The biggest positive about this hotel is its location, other reviewers are correct when they say that that it is a quiet escape from the hustle and bustle of the city yet it is right around the corner from Times Square. However there are hundreds of hotels in the area all benefitting from the fact that they too are in a good location, so location is not really a unique selling point of the Michelangelo.

I have read many reviews about how wonderful this hotel is and how other travellers received brilliant service and were made to feel special, unfortunetly I can't say that we experienced this at the Michelangelo. Next time I visit New York I will certainly stay in the same area of Manhatten but not at this hotel, if I am going to spend approx $385 per night for a room and stay 7 nights then I expect a level of service to match the price. My advice... look at what deals are available at other hotels in the area. This hotel did nothing to lure us back and we felt our custom was not appreciated.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Littlefrog13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,663)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,296 - 2,302 of 3,663 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2012

If you are going to the theatre, this hotel gets you home in minutes. 2 minutes to Times Square but you would never know once you walk in the lobby, it is so quiet. We had 2 rooms with 2 king beds each(!!), and a little hallway and extra outer door for PEACE and QUIET...I didn't hear a soul and it was a long weekend. Corner rooms, 4th floor, fantastic. Very close to subway, 10 minutes up to Central park, 5 minutes to 5th Avenue, Rockefeller center. Worth the money and would go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theatrebuff_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We recently stayed at the Michaelangelo hotel. The rooms are very nice and spacious with nice amenities. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location was excellent, Times Square around the corner, Rockeffeller Center down the street, shopping a quick walk away, near the theater district...I would stay here again

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank trixkappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Two nights in NY and this was the ideal base
great surroundings in the times square area
close to the city sight tours also
room luxury everything we needed
the A/C was very noisy but was very efficient
internal room on third floor was quiet and comfortable
was great when needed a rest in the afternoon so close to get back to
highly recommended

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Archie182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This excellent hotel does not show its 19 years of service. Located on the West Side in the building some may remember as the Hotel Taft, The Michelangelo incorporates the best of Italian five star service, not surprising as it is part of an Italian hotel chain. The rooms are good-sized, and the bathrooms are well-equipped and planned. The housekeeping is top-notched. There is a complimentary continental breakfast available or a nice a la carte menu in the dining room, The staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larryderm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Location was outstanding...walk everywhere or take subway to lower Manhattan. The staff was excellent, very accomodating to our every requirement. Upgraded us to a large room overlooking 7th Ave. A couple of small complaints...the air conditioning works well but VERY noisy. Also, great big soft pillows were awful. No other options in the room but I am sure if I had asked they would have found me firm ones. Delightful early morning coffee and pastries (try the scones) are complimentary in the morning from 7-9 AM. Fitness Center was shut down but who needs that in NYC when you walk ten miles a day! Free wi-fi in the lobby but based on the room rates, should be included free in the rooms.
We loved this hotel and unknowingly had stayed in their sister hotel in Rome on a previous occasion. We loved that one too and sent many friends there. We would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2newlyretireds2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed over Labor Day Weekend, to help settle my daughter into college. We had a very nice suite at a great rate. The rooms were faboulous, and the location of the hotel is great. We walked to Time Square. Very good restaurants nearby, and subway nearby too. Loved the pastries and coffee in the upper lobby in the morning. Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sherribc1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 469 in New York City
3,748 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#110 of 469 in New York City
4,451 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#64 of 469 in New York City
6,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Lotte New York Palace
Lotte New York Palace
#81 of 469 in New York City
3,565 reviews
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#74 of 469 in New York City
2,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Michelangelo Hotel

Address: 152 West 51st Street, between 6th and 7th Avenues, New York City, NY 10019-6813
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in New York City
#31 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#35 Business Hotel in New York City
#38 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $270 - $863 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Michelangelo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be our guest! You will be honored with all the attention and impeccable service you deserve. Experience a place that captures the imagination and attention of the world. So close to NY's Theatre District, Times Square's entertainment and corporate headquarters, proximity to Rockefeller Center--you are in the perfect corner of the city for all you wish to do. With meeting and personal event facilities, plan a perfect event with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Michelangelo Hotel New York City
Michelangelo Hotel New York City
Michelangelo New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing