We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful stay--beautiful classic hotel in a great location”
Review of The Mansfield

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Mansfield
Ranked #349 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed September 28, 2009

We had a wonderful weekend in this beautiful hotel. The location is perfect--just blocks from Times Square and Broadway. Despite the busy location, the hotel was quiet and seemed to be a world away from the busy city blocks. The hotel has character and is nice and comforting to come back to at the end of a busy day.
Upon arrival we found ourselves to be surprisingly upgraded to Penthouse Room. Our room was bigger than expected (we had read other reviews for this hotel)--we had plenty of space and it was simply decorated. I loved the dark wood floors and large windows, and the bedding is pretty and comfortable. The room was dark, but did not pose a problem. The room, with the contrast of white bedding and dark walls, was both elegant and romantic.
The hotel itself is small, but very charming. I loved the narrow hallways, winding steep staircase, and marble floors. There is a pretty reading room in the front of the hotel with a fireplace and tall wooden bookcases and cozy chairs. The general ambiance of the hotel was both luxurious and comforting.
All in all, I am eagerly awaiting a return trip to Mansfield. I could not recommend it more highly to those who enjoy classic, beautiful, timeless hotels.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Postcards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,864)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,320 - 1,326 of 1,864 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2009

this was recommended to me by Magellan Vacations. Great location but very small rooms, floors need work, wooden window shades, knicked up furniture. In US, I have never had a bathroom sink in my bedroom. Amenities were AVeda, but they needed rugs on floor. There was a whole area empty where they could have put a dresser! The lighting was poor all over the room. I had to call for a hair dryer which took forever and when I was leaving, I found one hanging in the dark closet. They could do a lot to make some of these things better. I called the agency and they offered me a smaller room (I was upgraded to a parlour queen before I got there). There was absolutely NO ROOM in the other room. Of course, it looked better because you couldn't see the floor!! The woman behind the desk was very efficient and nice, but I don't think they have any better rooms than I had except the suites.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2009

Stayed 7 nights and originally booked a parlour queen room. Check-in was quick, the staff very friendly but the room on low floor was pretty small, dark and loud (oldest a/c I've ever seen). After 1 night in the parlour queen we we're upgraded to a parlour king on a high floor - for free. The room was a bit bigger and less loud but still dark.
Pro: Location, very friendly staff, free coffee
Contra: rather small and dark rooms, old and loud a/c, small bath

Over all it's just worn standard

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swiftmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2009

Had a 3 night stay for a leisure trip with my daughter for her birthday and couldn't have stayed at a better place. The staff was accommodating storing luggage before check in and after check out. Rooms were comfortable and the housekeeping staff the best I have ever had. Each night after coming in, the room was tidy, clean and nothing out of place. The best location in the city and we walked to everything. They have a special - buy 2 nights, get one free - amazing bargin and I will be back. Very close to Bryant Park - a great place to take breakfast or lunch food and enjoy the park and people watch.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CincinnatiJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2009

We stayed in The Mansfield Hotel in June 2009 and as soon as we arrived we dumped our luggage in the room and then headed off to explore New York. The Mansfield is in West 44th Street and you head one way for Times Square and the other way for Grand Central Station!! Incredibly convenient for walking everywhere, which we did every day for a week, up and down Manhattan. The room was small (very small) but very clean and they change the bed linen and towels every day, which was a bonus because no towel rails in the bathroom to hang towels on, so over the door knobs it was. Breakfast was not included and was taken downstairs in the bar which is very nice but a bit expensive, but hey - we were in New York! The hotel is decorated in an almost Gentleman's club feel with the book lined library and leather chairs and was very comfortable in the common rooms downstairs. There is 24 hour internet available and a tea & coffee machine downstairs but no tea making facilities in the room.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shardia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2009

This hotel is a stone throw from Timesquare, the theatre district and great restaurants. Small boutique hotel. Rooms are a good size for New York. Bathroom is abit tight but nothing to worry about. Very clean and tidy hotel with great facilities rooms cleaned daily. Bonus being so close to the action is that you don't hear much noise at night so you can easily sleep. Don't bother eating breakfast at the hotel as food is very pricey. A short walk up or down the road are great breakfast places with good service. Hubby and I walked to most places it was easy to get around and there are more Police on the streets than people so you feel very safe at 1pm or 1am. We got a fantastic rate at the hotel and there were no hidden charges. I would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NataleeGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2009

Stayed for 2 nights.
First impressions were good, handy location just off 5th Avenue, marble entrance hall, cosy library/lounge with free coffee, adjoining bar area and a very pleasant and helpful receptionist lady.

We had arrived mid morning having first checked that we could store our luggage at the hotel and return after official check in time and no problems there.

We returned later in the day to officially check in, were handed our room key and told our luggage would be brought up shortly. The lifts were very small and a bit creaky and dim but we made it to the 7th floor which was equally creaky and dimly lit.

When we opened the bedroom door we thought they had actually given us the key to the broom cupboard as it was such a small room but, hey, we only planned to wash and sleep there and they say size is not important!

Our cases arrived shortly after and we managed to squeeze them in somehow.

The room was clean but again a bit dim even with the light on.

The bathroom was 'compact' but functional and came with the added bonus that you could slide the bathroom door back and with only one step you were in bed!

The single window faced a brick wall housing one of the largest air conditioning ducts we'd ever seen and it turned out this 'hummed' all night long making for a very disturbed nights sleep.

Next morning we debated wether to ask for a change of room as it was only for one more night but decided as were in for a very long day/night and journey home tomorrow a goods night sleep was required.

The receptionist agreed to move us without any qualms and said if we left our luggage ready in the room it would be relocated for us.

When we returned around 6ish for a wash and brush up we had been moved to a room a couple of floors up at the front of the hotel facing the street-our forlorn looking luggage was waiting for us as promised.

This room was similar to the first one but a little bigger and although there was a little traffic noise at least no continuous noise to keep us awake later, erm, well at least that's what we thought...........

About 3am that morning it sounded like there was a dust cart convention going on in the street below, lorries backing up with reversing beepers, clanging metal, engine noise. This went on for hours so again sleep was only possible in fits and starts.

Maybe we were just unlucky with our room allocations and of course some noise is to be expected in NYC but having said that we had previously stayed at another hotel facing right on to Lexington Avenue and didn't encounter any excessive noise.

The hotel does have a certain old world charm about it, the staff members we encountered were all friendly and helpful and it is handily located for getting about and seeing the sights but even if the City never sleeps occasionally it's visitors need to so we probably would not stay here again unless a quiet room was guaranteed!


.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ClaretAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
#204 of 470 in New York City
1,555 reviews
Midtown
Shoreham
Shoreham
#316 of 470 in New York City
1,858 reviews
Midtown
Washington Jefferson Hotel
Washington Jefferson Hotel
#274 of 470 in New York City
1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York
Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New Y...
#362 of 470 in New York City
1,217 reviews
Midtown
Amsterdam Court Hotel
Amsterdam Court Hotel
#348 of 470 in New York City
3,276 reviews
Midtown
Night Times Square
Night Times Square
#346 of 470 in New York City
4,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mansfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansfield

Address: 12 W 44th St, Off of Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-6604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#215 Family Hotel in New York City
#221 Business Hotel in New York City
#232 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $140 - $507 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Mansfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An architectural and historical landmark, The Mansfield is a portal to a New York City of days gone. Guests of the hotel appreciate its club-like surroundings and superb craftsmanship, as illustrated by the lobby’s detailed illuminated 16-foot ceiling and oval staircases with original terrazzo floors. The Mansfield is located just off of Fifth Avenue at 44th Street, residing within the historic preservation district of Midtown Manhattan, and deep in the heart of the Theater District. The hotel is within a short walk of the finest Fifth Avenue stores, Bryant Park, Times Square, Broadway, Grand Central Station, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Rockefeller Center, the Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden and the Radio City Music Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mansfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansfield Hotel New York City
Mansfield New York City
Mansfield Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing