We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific small hotel in mid-town Manhattan”
Review of The Mansfield

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Mansfield
Ranked #344 of 473 Hotels in New York City
A TripAdvisor Member
Hilton Head
27
Reviewed September 1, 2005

I was VERY PLEASED with the hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful, including housekeeper. I loved extras such as free cont. breakfast, free 24hr access to 2 high speed computers (so I didn't have to schlep my laptop to NYC), newspaper, coffee in lobby and 2 bottles of free water per day. Room was very nicely appointed. High quality sheets, 4 pillows and quality Aveda toiletries. After getting this hotel I saw some negative feedback on slow elevators, but this was not true. Never had to wait more than a minute. Room size was fine for 1 person and a couple without too much luggage.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,886)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,496 - 1,502 of 1,886 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
325
Reviewed August 8, 2005

Nice lobby and bar area, and great location. But otherwise way overpriced, snobbish, and unaccommodating. What do you get for $260+ per night? My family of four got the following for a three night stay (almost a thousand dollars -- ouch!): Even though we booked our room expressly for four and specifically requested two double beds, when we arrived we were told that no such rooms were available and that we had to settle for a room with only one double bed. We were informed that we could move to a two double bed room the following night. We were also told that we could be provided with a fold-out cot. When we complained, and asked for a discount because of the inconvenience, the male desk manager refused and then went into an arrogant rant about how other people like us who were inconvenienced chose to upgrade and pay the extra money for the upgrade. We told him that we would put up with the inconvenience for one night (rather than come out of pocket another $75!). The female clerk at the front desk then offered my wife and I a glass of champagne (undrinkable swill!) and a glass of water for my boys, which she said was to accommodate us for our inconvenience. I then noticed that the champagne bottle was already out behind the desk, and I asked the clerk if the champagne was complimentary for everyone who came in, not just us. Sheepishly, she admitted that this was the case.
We were then led to what had to be the hotel's worst room: shockingly small with no closet, just a pole with some hangers covered by what looked like a shower curtain; a double bed on wheels (somehwere in NY there is a hospital missing a bed); a bathroom door that wouldn't close because the knob assembly was broken; peeling wall paper; and a window air conditioning unit that buzzed and whistled all night long. A fold up cot eventually appeared that was barely big enough for our 14-year old to sleep on (with his feet hanging over the end). Needless to say, with our 14 year old tossing and turning on his "child's size" cot, my wife and I trying to sleep with our 6-year old between us on a precariously mobile double bed, and the air conditioning whistling the "Colonel Bogie March", we did not enjoy a restful night.
Luckily we were moved to a little bit larger (and only slightly more "plush" - Ha! Ha!) room with two double beds for the the next two nights, where, at least, we were able to get some sleep. But no apology was ever forthcoming, and no complimentary anything.
The rest of our stay went with no incident until the last day, when we were set to leave. As we entered the lobby, we noticed that the adjoining sunken bar area was serving a continental breakfast. When we asked if this was complimentary, we were told it was. But no one had bothered to tell us when we checked in! Places such as this give New York "hospitality" a bad name.
We will never, ever stay in this overrated, overpriced, boutique (read: "antique") hotel again, nor would we recommend it to our family, friends or colleagues, who oftern travel to New York on business and pleasure. Prospective visitors to NYC who read this take heed! Terrible!

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2005

For a very modern, new, & spotless accommodation you can't beat the price. We stayed at another nearby hotel for $40 less and that by far was a less satisfying stay. The Mansfield is a sleek & hip hotel at a great value. True, the rooms are very small, but you're suppose to be spending most of your time elsewhere. The free continental breakfast was superb! Only thing missing was bacon and eggs! If you can get a weekend room there for less than $200 - take it!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alex N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
NEW YORK
12
Reviewed August 1, 2005

i think the mansfield was okay, but the room i stayed in couldve done with some cupboards, had no ironing board. The main telephone was not working properly and i also found the bathroom abit of a tight squeeze.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2005

The hotel is in a great location but was not refurbished with business people in mind. There are few electrical outlets, no desk, etc. The rooms are VERY tiny... I've had bigger rooms in Tokyo! If you're travelling alone for pleasure and need to be in a good location, this may be the hotel for you but ohterwise, don't bother.

Stayed: July 2005
6  Thank RedSpyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2005

For the price, this is a good NYC value. But beware these are the smallest rooms I've ever seen ( including rooms in Paris!). A nice breakfast is included ( cereals, pasteries, breads, fruit, hard boiled eggs, juice, coffee, teas). Hotel is well maintained, very sparce & simple. Overall for the location it is a good deal.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank swa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Texas
18
Reviewed July 3, 2005

My girlfriend and I just returned from a 3 night 4 day stay in NYC...
I will keep it simple and to the point....

Location - Excellent
Price - Excellent
Service - Excellent
Room - Very, very small but very quiet from the outside noise
Bell Man - Excellent
Bed - Very comfortable
Amenities - Excellent Aveda products
Room Service - Excellent
Cleaniness - Spotless
View - None
Front Desk- No Problem
Breakfast and night Bar - a good assortment of fruits and cereals and very cozy bar (The M Bar)
Overall hotel - Small and Cozy
Close bars and restaurants - plentiful heading west on 44th and the Red Dragon for breakfast 1/2 block to west
Recommended Pub - Kevin St. James on 8th (It's a local bar, but the bartenders offered excellent service and the music is awesome.

Overall opinion, when you tour New York City, all you want at the end of the day is a warm shower and a nice bed to rest. In the morning, all you want is a a good breakfast and hot fresh coffee. During your exploration, all you want is a a great location. Budgetwise, all you want is an affortable and nice hotel where you feel safe and is close to everything.

The Mansfield provided all!

Thanks.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Shoreham
Shoreham
#318 of 473 in New York City
1,903 reviews
Midtown
Dylan Hotel NYC
Dylan Hotel NYC
#371 of 473 in New York City
937 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
#201 of 473 in New York City
1,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Amsterdam Court Hotel
Amsterdam Court Hotel
#346 of 473 in New York City
3,322 reviews
Midtown
Night Times Square
Night Times Square
#348 of 473 in New York City
4,791 reviews
Midtown
Washington Jefferson Hotel
Washington Jefferson Hotel
#284 of 473 in New York City
1,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mansfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansfield

Address: 12 W 44th St, Off of Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-6604
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#220 Business Hotel in New York City
#231 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $120 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Mansfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An architectural and historical landmark, The Mansfield is a portal to a New York City of days gone. Guests of the hotel appreciate its club-like surroundings and superb craftsmanship, as illustrated by the lobby’s detailed illuminated 16-foot ceiling and oval staircases with original terrazzo floors. The Mansfield is located just off of Fifth Avenue at 44th Street, residing within the historic preservation district of Midtown Manhattan, and deep in the heart of the Theater District. The hotel is within a short walk of the finest Fifth Avenue stores, Bryant Park, Times Square, Broadway, Grand Central Station, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Rockefeller Center, the Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden and the Radio City Music Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelPower, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone and Cancelon so you can book your The Mansfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansfield Hotel New York City
Mansfield New York City
Mansfield Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing