We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love/Dislike Relationship”
Review of The Mansfield

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Mansfield
Ranked #343 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed March 24, 2005

My husband and I recently stayed three nights and my husband, who can be a hotel snob, said at the end of our trip that he would stay there again. When we first checked in, I thought he was going to hate it! The room was so small, he had to iron with the board on the bed since there was no place to set it up. No closets, just a rod behind the mirror. The room was dark and there was no atmosphere urging us to break into our mini bar supplies which we brought. Sounds terrible right? But once we saw what a great location the hotel was in, and the lovely continental breakfast set up in the bar, and once I realized that our rate under $200 was pretty good for that area, the hotel began to grow on us. The sheets and bed were very comfortable. The toiletries were nice. But the tub/shower combination was awkward and the toilet was very close to the door. There seemed to be no a/c so we just opened the window. The staff was just okay, didn't really talk to them much. My husband had free internet and they printed out something for him so he was able to do some work. The hotel says they will be renovating some things in the near future. I don't know what they can do with those small baths and rooms, so it would be a good idea to check out your room beforehand.
I can't stress the great location enough! The street has a nice coffee shop, beautiful bars and nice restaurants. Walking to Times Square and the broadway theaters is so quick but yet the area around the hotel is quiet (well for NYC). You can get to Rockerfeller Center quickly as well as Bryant Park. The subway lines are also close. So if I can get this hotel at a reasonable rate, we will stay there again!

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AmstutzHerndon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,842)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,476 - 1,482 of 1,842 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2005

Each time I visit New York I have vowed never to return to the hotel I've chosen - until now. The Mansfield is quietly stylish and the 'senior' room I had was spacious with a living room and bedroom - two TVs etc. Other reviewers on this site seem to have had tiny rooms, so maybe the secret is to ask for a 'senior' room. For three nights, including a Saturday, I paid an average of $166 per night - including tax and continental breakfast. Staff were pleasantly attitude-free.

  • Stayed: February 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Filmdocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Oregon, Illinois
15
Reviewed March 1, 2005

Great hotel has a friendly staff and we recommend it, but before you sign, ask to see the room they propose to give you. Ask them to show you the room on a floor chart - you can tell immediately the difference in room sizes. A few of the rooms are so small there's no room to change your mind, let alone your clothes, even if you're alone. That's no exaggeration, and their tiniest rooms have a sort of half-bathroom that almost requires you to keep one foot inside the tub to get to the mirror. The hotel staff will try to find you a larger room, and after one night in a Postal Commemorative Stamp of a room they first gave us, we got room 807, a suite, which was lovely-with separate bedroom and living area. A free continental breakfast until 10am each day has quality bagels and baked goods, fresh fruit and cereal, and juice - saving you a $10 trip to a nearby eatery, unless you crave ham and eggs. The place was clean AND QUIET - there aren't convention facilities or ice machines just outside youre door, and there's a renovation planned for later in 2005.

  • Stayed: February 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2005

The only negative thing about the Mansfield was the size of their standard rooms. It had a comfortable bed, decent sized bathroom but no closet / wardrobe space worth talking about and once the bags of shopping enter the room along with your suitcases, the floorspace rapidly disappears. We got a glimpse of the other rooms available in the hotel and they're much better so it's really worth considering paying extra (we will next time). The bar downstairs is very cosy, in fact the hotel itself will suit any romantic couple. For some reason, we were always able to get the (only) table for two at the window, for people watching while you sip there reasonably priced (for a hotel) drinks it's perfect. The location is excellent, 1 minute from 5th avenue, 5 mins from Times Square. In case you're staying there in mid March, the St. Patricks Day parade also starts right outside the front door. At least it did last year. Overall, loved the hotel, staff are very friendly, breakfast is healthy but still really enjoyable (maybe you're not surprised by this, but I am. If it's not bacon and eggs for breakfast I'm normally not that interested), the bar has that typical pub style dim lighting which makes it more inviting, the hotel is within a short walk of what New York is famous for and overall, good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EvertonMad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
15
Reviewed February 9, 2005

we booked a so-called"superior" room for Sat. nite stay. The lobbly area was nice, but a pretense- the room was 3rd rate-tiny, one chair, one night- stand, no closet-just a bunch of hangers on a bar, with a curtain-, no bureau drawers, no mirror, window facing a brick wall, -this hotel is pretentious and overpriced-should be downgraded to two stars.The "free" continental breakfast was bagels, juice and coffee a la motel 6.

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2005

We stayed here over New Year 2004 and were surprised by how good the reception & bar area looked. The rooms have a nice feel too but are very small. The bathroom has a shower over a half size bath but has lovely complementary Aveda toiletries.

The free buffet breakfast consisted of a good selection of cereals, toast, bagels, pastries and fruit with tea, coffee, milk & fruit juice. The hotel advertised a 24 coffee bar but this consists of coffee & hot water being kept warm on a spirit stove. We ordered tea & toast from room service one morning and got a large container of hot water and 8 slices of toast with a selection of jams & cream cheese.

The bar has a very laid back atmosphere with a friendly bartender, housekeeping & maintenance staff were also friendly but the reception staff were a little aloof.

This is a great spot to stay to see all the sites, walking distance to Macy's and the Empire State.

3  Thank NYorks_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2005

Such a wonderful hotel. The staff were attentive and friendly, I needed to send a FedEx package when I arrived and they took care of everything for me. The hotel was clean and the bathroom was lovely with a great power shower. The location is fab and far better than it's three stars would lead you to believe. Every morning the staff would greet me in a friendly manner. I would have no hesitation in recommending this elegant hotel........big thumbs up!

4  Thank mookie-moomoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Shoreham
Shoreham
#308 of 469 in New York City
1,824 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
#198 of 469 in New York City
1,513 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York
Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New Y...
#361 of 469 in New York City
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#276 of 469 in New York City
4,084 reviews
Midtown
The Gallivant Times Square
The Gallivant Times Square
#367 of 469 in New York City
1,385 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#394 of 469 in New York City
4,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mansfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansfield

Address: 12 W 44th St, Off of Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-6604
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#215 Family Hotel in New York City
#221 Business Hotel in New York City
#232 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $142 - $432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Mansfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An architectural and historical landmark, The Mansfield is a portal to a New York City of days gone. Guests of the hotel appreciate its club-like surroundings and superb craftsmanship, as illustrated by the lobby’s detailed illuminated 16-foot ceiling and oval staircases with original terrazzo floors. The Mansfield is located just off of Fifth Avenue at 44th Street, residing within the historic preservation district of Midtown Manhattan, and deep in the heart of the Theater District. The hotel is within a short walk of the finest Fifth Avenue stores, Bryant Park, Times Square, Broadway, Grand Central Station, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Rockefeller Center, the Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden and the Radio City Music Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Mansfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansfield Hotel New York City
Mansfield New York City
Mansfield Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing