We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location and staff but...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mansfield

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Mansfield
Ranked #336 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Cleveland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location and staff but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a short trip and was impressed. The hotel is gorgeous on the inside (the outside wasn't visible due to construction) and looks very old fashioned. The staff is very friendly and extremely helpful. The hotel is a little dark and the room was small but I guess that is to be expected. The beds for very comfortable and clean and the air conditioning worked like a charm. For the price I paid it's not a perfect value but I wouldn't hesitate to come back.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CrownPhan14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Crownfan14,


Thank you for such a wonderful review – I am extremely happy to read that The Mansfield left you with a positive first impression. We strive to provide all our guests with a luxury liberated experience that exceeds expectations. I am delighted that you were able to find a comfortable stay in our hotel, and to learn that our staff treated you exceptionally well. We look forward to welcoming you back and truly appreciate your feedback.

Regards,
LIsa Grossberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    599
    307
    140
    109
See reviews for
242
686
113
274
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Whenever i stay over in the city this is my go to place. Its a convenient location that meets or exceeds my needs eveytime. You can get a great nights sleep and have a great time without feeling to cramped in the room, good food and drinks.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Johnny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Johnny D

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at The Mansfield and providing us with feedback following your stay. I'm very pleased that you loved the location. It's definitely one of the major features that make our hotel so special. The tourist attractions, major shops and various subways bring a great finishing touch. It brings me great pleasure that you were comfortable in our rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Regards,
Lisa Grossberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbus ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

What better place to spend a decadent sejour in New York than in a former brothel? Copper roofed bay windows on 44th Street...Designed by Renwick, you know St. Patrick's, New York Public Library, not much to snuff at. If you want to stay in a "real" New York hotel, this is it. Particulary appreciable to our french amis. You'll see what I mean....manfieldhotel.com....

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spectatrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Spectatrice,


Thank you for such a wonderful review – I am extremely happy to read that The Mansfield left you with a positive first impression. We strive to provide all our guests with a luxury liberated experience that exceeds expectations. I am delighted that you were able to find a comfortable stay in our hotel, and to learn that our staff treated you exceptionally well. We look forward to welcoming you back and truly appreciate your feedback.


Regards,
Lisa Grossberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

- friendly staff
- nice lil' gym
- great location
- furntiture state: not top notch everywhere
- room size: quite alright, but don't expect wonders in NYC
- airco: operating perfectly, but quite noisy
- very clean

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alex V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Alex V,

Thank you for leaving a trip advisor review for the Shoreham Hotel. I am pleased to learn that our hotel was comfortable for you and our location made your stay extra special. We would like to invite you back.

Regards,
Lisa Grossberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

if you are looking for a good hotel 5 min away from Central Station and 5 min away from Times square this is the place! clean & comfortable. Rooms are small yes.. but its NYC! so expenctations in space is less but the location, bed & service (did i mentioned the delicous free coffee?) is what makes the mansfield a great hotel to stay in the city

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Roxanatje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Roxanatje

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at The Mansfield and providing us with feedback following your stay. I'm very pleased that you loved the location. It's definitely one of the major features that make our hotel so special. The tourist attractions, major shops and various subways bring a great finishing touch. It brings me great pleasure that you were comfortable in our rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,
Lisa Grossberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Stayed 3 nights at Mansfield in July. Arrived early Friday and asked but did not get early checkin. OK, just stowed our bags and left to explore NY.

Free lattes and lemon water was so appreciated. It is what a weary New York traveller really needs.

Room is small, but really clean. Nice wood floors. We faced 44th street - luckily.
Maid forgot soap and bath towel. Housekeeping delivered it promptly to me in the morning. Crisis averted.

Bed was comfortable and had really nice sheets.

Bathroom was small but functional. The Kohler fixtures and Philosophy bath products were a nice luxury touch.

The location is SUPERB. Next to spiffy & clean 5th avenue, and close to Bryant Park. I've stayed dozens of times in NY, but this location was excellent. At midday, we could come back to the hotel to recharge before heading out for round two.

Location felt safe, even after returning from Broadway at 11:00pm.

I'd definitely choose Mansfield again.

A HAPPY stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slickpoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Slickpoodle,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We’re delighted you chose to stay with us We always want to make sure all of our guests have a pleasant stay. If you chose to visit us again, check out our special packages for great deals. We’ll also point you towards our favorite places to drink and dine throughout Manhattan. We hope to see you both again in the future!

Regards,
Lisa Grossberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Friendly, helpful staff. Good location for great food & shopping and Theaters. Hotel offers free WIFI in their Library but not in rooms. Our Junior Suite was small an dark and furniture was stained. Bed was comfortable.



  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Carol M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable and candid feedback with us. We are truly delighted that we exceeded your expectations from our location and comfortable beds.We look forward to welcoming you back .


Regards,
Lisa Grossberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
#221 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,160 reviews
Midtown
Royalton New York Hotel
Royalton New York Hotel
#215 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,004 reviews
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#36 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#234 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,598 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#322 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 12,151 reviews
Midtown
The Roosevelt Hotel
The Roosevelt Hotel
#363 of 479 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 7,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mansfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansfield

Property: The Mansfield
Address: 12 W 44th St, Off of Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-6604
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#203 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#221 Family Hotel in New York City
#227 Business Hotel in New York City
#238 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mansfield 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An architectural and historical landmark, The Mansfield is a portal to a New York City of days gone. Guests of the hotel appreciate its club-like surroundings and superb craftsmanship, as illustrated by the lobby’s detailed illuminated 16-foot ceiling and oval staircases with original terrazzo floors. The Mansfield is located just off of Fifth Avenue at 44th Street, residing within the historic preservation district of Midtown Manhattan, and deep in the heart of the Theater District. The hotel is within a short walk of the finest Fifth Avenue stores, Bryant Park, Times Square, Broadway, Grand Central Station, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Rockefeller Center, the Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden and the Radio City Music Hall. Guests can enjoy complimentary 24-hour espresso and cappuccino in the hotel's classically-restored Beaux-Arts Club Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your The Mansfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansfield Hotel New York City
Mansfield New York City
Mansfield Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing