We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“meh”
Review of The Mansfield

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mansfield
Ranked #341 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed March 30, 2014

The staff was fantastic, otherwise the bedding/mattress wasn't comfortable, the bathroom was extremely small, there was no air conditioning, and the tv was small. Based on all this, I think the hotel rates are unreasonable. I would rather walk another few blocks to my destination than pay the rate I did for the experience I had. I should note, I got a Priceline deal otherwise I would have had a chance to read reviews and might have decided otherwise. The location was great.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 248ANB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Dear California Susan,
Dear 248ANB,

Thanks for the feedback on your most recent stay. I'm glad to hear our location was convenient for you and that our staff was friendly. I'm disappointed to hear that you experienced some service issues, and I assure you this is not typical of the customer service we provide. If you decide to give us another chance please feel free to reach out to me directly for your future booking needs.

Regards,

David Sandler

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,876)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

748 - 754 of 1,876 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2014

Great hotel, great location and great value. My only minor concern was the room temperature. It wasn't consistent and we were opening windows and doors or closing them frequently to control the temperature. Otherwise, the rest of our stay was amazing!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear, John R

Thank You for taking your time to give a trip advisor review on The Mansfield Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Our prime location is what adds specialty to our hotel. My apologies for the issues regarding the temperature in your room. I will make sure that someone in my staff fixes this problem. I look forward to seeing you again whenever you return to New York.

Thank You,
David Sandler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

This was the best price I got over the week, a Sunday night special. Room was small with a double bed. Fit one, or two close friends. Bathroom was equally small, but feels high quality with a strong shower. Aveena supplies. No individual room heat control, not sure if there will be a/c in the Summer. No coffee machine, have to go downstairs in the lobby/library. TV was somewhat snowy. woken up at 5am by neighbors getting ready to go to the airport, no desk but there was a window bench. Location next to 5th avenue. My second choice.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yapmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Dear Yapmd,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay. I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and our location was convenient! We pride ourselves in making every guest stay as memorable as possible. We hope that you will choose to stay with us in your future stays in NYC. Please feel free to call me directly; we will do our best to top your last stay!

Best,

David Sandler

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Everything was ok with this hotel until I went to the bathroom and found an inch long cockroach running across the floor. Took a picture and killed it. No action when I informed the reception. A pity since everything elsa was great. Internet was unfortunately not complementary, and no compensation was offered for the inconvenience with the roach.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Johannes W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Dear Johannes W,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide our hotel with your feedback. I apologize on behalf of the hotel, for not providing you with the experience you had hoped for; please know our team has been notified of your experience and they hope for your return, so that we may make it up to you. Please be assured this is not typical of our hotel. If you decide to give us another try, please feel free to contact me and I will make sure your stay will be nothing short of perfect. Thanks you again for your time, and have a great day.

Sincerely,

David Sandler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I spent one night at this hotel in early March. It is a small, older hotel in midtown. It is an easy walk to a subway station with many lines. I found the hotel and got a deal through a discount travel website. I found the staff on duty when I arrived to be helpful and friendly. Breakfast was included in my room rate. They had nothing on the menu that was vegan so they kindly made a fruit cup for me and I had coffee. I was attending a festival and knew I would be eating there so the fruit was enough to tide me over. Otherwise, I would have had to eat elsewhere and the included breakfast would have been useless. It would be nice to see something vegan added to the menu. My room was on the smaller side, but cute and fine for me. The room was very clean. The shower was roomy (I had a room with a roll in shower) with great water pressure. There is no individual heat control and the heat came out in one spot and did not really warm the room properly. There was a charge for wifi in my room, but free wifi in the lobby. There was a room off of the lobby with seating where you can use the wifi and there is also a fancy machine that offers free coffee. The hotel features down comforters which, as a vegan, I do not use. The hotel happily accommodated me with synthetic bedding. It is a completely non-smoking hotel, which I appreciate. The hotel offers a points program for travelers, but I never got to sign up for it since the staff never sent me the link for it despite two requests. Everything being said, I would stay here again if I was able to get a good rate. There are a number of other hotels on the same street and I felt safe walking around at night on my own.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellinDays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Dear TravellinDays,

Thank you staying with us here at The Mansfield and for providing us feedback following your stay. We pride ourselves in providing the best customer service experience possible. I’m very pleased that you loved the location of The Mansfield. It’s definitely one of the major features that makes our hotel so special. It brings me great pleasure to know that you were most impressed with our breakfast, rooms, and bar throughout your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back!!

Regards,
David Sandler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

I was looking for a place to rest and some me time. The Mansfield was the perfect place. The staff is great and I was able to get the much needed sleep and time alone I needed. Grand Central Station is just a few blocks away. Rockerfeller Center, Empire State Building, Radio City, Saint Patrick's Cathedral, and Broadway shows are all so close by. Overall it's in a great area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Luz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Dear Luz F,

Thanks for the feedback on your most recent stay. I'm glad to hear our location was convenient for you and that our staff was helpful. We pride ourselves in making every guest stay as memorable as possible. We hope that you will choose to stay with us in your future stays in NYC. Please feel free to call me directly; we will do our best to top your last stay!

Regards,

David Sandler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Only stayed for one night and we wouldn`t have wanted anymore.

The location is perfect, 5 mins from Times Square, however the rooms we stayed in was poor. We know not to expect a large room in NYC, but for a 4 star hotel, we expected a little more. Could barely walk around the bed. The bathroom is the worst aspect however, tiny and a door that did not lock, or even have one on to fix. In a room this size, its even more important to have privacy for the bathroom in my opinion.

The bar looked good, although we didn`t have time t try it, and although the staff on check in were indifferent, the lady who checked us out was very polite and helpful.

If you are planning to stay more than a couple of nights there are far better options also in this location, I would recommend using them.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beauxl2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Dear Beaux L2012,

Thanks for the feedback on your most recent stay. I'm glad to hear our location was convenient for you and that you enjoyed the location of our property. I'm disappointed to hear that you experienced some service issues, and I assure you this is not typical of the customer service we provide. If you decide to give us another chance please feel free to reach out to me directly for your future booking needs.

Regards,

David Sandler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Shoreham
Shoreham
#318 of 471 in New York City
1,884 reviews
Midtown
Washington Jefferson Hotel
Washington Jefferson Hotel
#281 of 471 in New York City
1,894 reviews
Midtown
Amsterdam Court Hotel
Amsterdam Court Hotel
#348 of 471 in New York City
3,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
#203 of 471 in New York City
1,605 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York
Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New Y...
#359 of 471 in New York City
1,233 reviews
Midtown
Night Times Square
Night Times Square
#349 of 471 in New York City
4,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mansfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansfield

Address: 12 W 44th St, Off of Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-6604
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#221 Business Hotel in New York City
#231 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $120 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Mansfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An architectural and historical landmark, The Mansfield is a portal to a New York City of days gone. Guests of the hotel appreciate its club-like surroundings and superb craftsmanship, as illustrated by the lobby’s detailed illuminated 16-foot ceiling and oval staircases with original terrazzo floors. The Mansfield is located just off of Fifth Avenue at 44th Street, residing within the historic preservation district of Midtown Manhattan, and deep in the heart of the Theater District. The hotel is within a short walk of the finest Fifth Avenue stores, Bryant Park, Times Square, Broadway, Grand Central Station, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Rockefeller Center, the Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden and the Radio City Music Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Mansfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansfield Hotel New York City
Mansfield New York City
Mansfield Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing