We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay in NYC”
Review of The Mansfield

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Mansfield
Ranked #351 of 468 Hotels in New York City
New York
1 review
“Very enjoyable stay in NYC”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my brother & sis for 10 days in Jan. 2014 and really enjoyed it. We had the Junior Suite. Room was clean, attractive & comfortable, looked just like in the website photos, in a great midtown location just between 5th & 6th Ave. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Joelle T,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Mansfield. I’m glad you found our rooms was comfortable and cleaned to your satisfaction. We value your comments and we will take your feed back in order to continue to provide quality service. Our location is one of the key features that makes our property special and a true hidden gem! My team and I look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times.

Regards,

Gissel Barriola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    530
    641
    330
    160
    122
See reviews for
259
741
121
291
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dc
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

charming older,beautiful building in a great location. BUT based on our stay in a junior suite, recommend that you pack flashlights or an extra lamp or two. room was exceedingly dark, which made for a dim, almost depressing feeling. plus it sometimes made it difficult to comfortably navigate around the room. I know, you don't go to Manhattan to stay in your room, but when you are in your room it would be nice to be able to see your way around. Also, a nightstand on BOTH sides of the bed would nice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank dell22039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Dell22039,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide our hotel with your feedback. I apologize on behalf of the hotel, for not providing you with the experience you had hoped for; please know our team has been notified of your experience and they hope for your return, so that we may make it up to you. We have notified our team of your disatisfaction of the lighting in your room If you decide to give us another try, please feel free to contact me and I will make sure your stay will be nothing short of perfect. Thanks you again for your time, and have a great day.

Regards,

David Sandler

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
Reviewed January 7, 2014

When our flight was canceled we decided to check out a day early. We were told that would be fine until checked out and then were charge $200.00 for early check out!No free wifi.Small room,no dresser.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Joy K,

Thanks for the feedback on your most recent stay.We strive to provide attentive, friendly service, which makes your negative experience that much more disheartening. I'm disappointed to hear that you experienced some service issues, and I assure you this is not typical of the customer service we provide. If you decide to give us another chance please feel free to reach out to me directly for your future booking needs.

Warm Regards,

David Sandler

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We recently stayed at the Mansfield after booking through 'Hotwire's Secret Hot Deal' option, where we selected a 4* hotel in the Midtown Area. It's always a bit of a gamble booking your hotel this way, but for the most part we were very happy. For the price we paid, we couldn't have asked for a better location. Its a stone's throw from 5th avenue, a few blocks from Times Sqaure, a $5 taxi ride to Central Park and a short walk to the Rockafellar Center, Bryant Park, the NY Library and Grand Central Station. Getting down to TriBeCa was only $15 and from there you can walk to the 9/11 memorial (Try the breakfast at Bubby's in Tribeca, it's excellent, plus we sat 2 tables away Jake Gyllenhaal having pancakes with a gal pal - yummy).

The staff are friendly and are very helpful when offering recommendations for restaurants, booking taxi's, tickets for the Empire State Building etc - However, this is by no means a 4 star hotel. It is dated and in need of a lot upgrade's to the rooms. They are small and the heating can only be turned up or down by the hotel engineer. When we asked for the heating to be turned up, the engineer was unable to do it, so he brought us a small space heater which helped. The bathroom's are tiny - A friend of ours who joined us on the trip is 6'3 and he said he wasn't able to sit on the toilet and close the bathroom door becasue his legs and his large head were actually hanging out.

The M Bar downstairs is a nice spot to grab a quiet drink before heading out for the evening and the lounge area has a soothing fireplace and complimentary tea and coffee when you get back from wandering around the tourist attractions for 8hours in the cold weather. A nice area to relax when you have a friend who is complaining about his bad back 50% of the time.

Overall, for the price we paid, this hotel was a winner. Location is everything and you can't go wrong staying at the Mansfield. A lot of people will pick this hotel apart, but to be honest, the few issues above are minor and you're only there to sleep.... get out amongst the NYC hotspots and enjoy yourselves.

Top Tip: Venture down to the Meatpacking District and eat at 'Pastis'. Awesome.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LarryAG2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear LarryAG2014,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide our hotel with your feedback. I'm glad to hear our location was convenient for you and that you enjoyed our M Bar. I apologize on behalf of the hotel, for not providing you with the experience you had hoped for; please know our team has been notified of your experience and they hope for your return, so that we may make it up to you. If you decide to give us another try, please feel free to contact me and I will make sure your stay will be nothing short of perfect. Thanks you again for your time, and have a great day.

Regards,

David Sandler

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatesville, Pa.
Level Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We booked a weekend trip to see a show and the sights around Rockefller Center. This hotel is only a few blocks from each, and also only 2 blocks from Bryant Park and the ice rink. Plenty of restaurant options close by. We had a nice breakfast at the Red Flame diner on the same block. There are Duane Reade at the end of each block for any necessities. We had a 1 bedroom suite, very nice sitting area with lots of charm. We read about the small bathrooms, but ours was fully functional and even had a small window that opened - a nice plus. Plenty of heat from the radiator with the option to turn off. We enjoy the charm of old hotels. Very efficient elevators. We really enjoyed this property.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Dean S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience with us. I'm happy to hear our location was convenient for you and that you found our bathroom space. Please let us know next time you're in New York if you'd like to come visit us again, and we’ll accommodate you and top your last stay! Feel free to reach out to me directly.

Best,

David Sandler

General Manager,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The hotel was ok for the fare I paid but if you pay full fare don't expect to much the room are small the location is good just blocks from Times Square the staff is almost all very kind and helpful if you get a good fare is a good option

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rosana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Rosana T,

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience with us. We were truly delighted that you enjoyed our location and that it was convenient for you. I understand that there’s a fine balance between price and value, and we appreciate that you chose to stay with us. We know how important location can be when it comes to planning a trip, and we promise we aren’t going anywhere.


Regards,

David Sandler

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

A superb small period hotel close to times square and ideal to use as a base. Very helpful and friendly staff, coffee & tea on tap with free wi-fi in the lobby. Our suite was excellent and ideal for a couple with lovely period features but was just let down a bit by a few niggles, i.e. could not adjust heating in room, no drawer space and no central lighting in room as all lights situated around wall areas so a bit dark at times.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Glen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Glen M,

We were delighted to receive your review and so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Mansfield. I am particularly pleased that you have mentioned our Front of House team who demonstrated such great hospitality to you. I will be sure to pass on your positive comments to them.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm Regards,

David Sandler

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
#210 of 468 in New York City
1,364 reviews
Midtown
Shoreham
Shoreham
#322 of 468 in New York City
1,719 reviews
Midtown
Royalton New York Hotel
Royalton New York Hotel
#251 of 468 in New York City
2,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#274 of 468 in New York City
3,971 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#193 of 468 in New York City
781 reviews
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#40 of 468 in New York City
3,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mansfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansfield

Property: The Mansfield
Address: 12 W 44th St, Off of Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-6604
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#220 Family Hotel in New York City
#226 Business Hotel in New York City
#237 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mansfield 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An architectural and historical landmark, The Mansfield is a portal to a New York City of days gone. Guests of the hotel appreciate its club-like surroundings and superb craftsmanship, as illustrated by the lobby’s detailed illuminated 16-foot ceiling and oval staircases with original terrazzo floors. The Mansfield is located just off of Fifth Avenue at 44th Street, residing within the historic preservation district of Midtown Manhattan, and deep in the heart of the Theater District. The hotel is within a short walk of the finest Fifth Avenue stores, Bryant Park, Times Square, Broadway, Grand Central Station, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Rockefeller Center, the Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden and the Radio City Music Hall. Guests can enjoy complimentary 24-hour espresso and cappuccino in the hotel's classically-restored Beaux-Arts Club Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelPower, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mansfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansfield Hotel New York City
Mansfield New York City
Mansfield Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing