We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet in the heart of the city”
Review of The Mansfield

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Mansfield
Ranked #345 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
“Quiet in the heart of the city”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Great boutique style hotel with a quiet room In the heart of the city. Be prepared for small but quaint room. The M Bar was a great retreat with delicious food. Being from the west coast, this hotel was similar to San Francisco.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stacy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Stacy M,

Thanks for the feedback on your most recent stay. I'm glad to hear our location was convenient for you and that you enjoyed the new Decor of our property. The M Bar is definitely one of the key features that makes our hotel special! We hope that you will choose to stay with us in all your future stays in NYC.Please feel free to reach out to me directly for your future booking needs.

Be well,

David Sandler

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    646
    336
    164
    123
See reviews for
263
750
124
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland Uk
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed in 2 Bedroom Suite 10th - 16th December.
Perfect for our needs and hotel superb location for all aspects of exploring New York. Staff very helpful and friendly at all times. Quirky Hotel with an ambience that reminisced of a gentleman's club. Loved it!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Elizbeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Elizabeth H,

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience with us. I'm happy to hear our location was convenient for you and that you found our staff helpful. Please let us know next time you're in New York if you'd like to come visit us again, and we’ll accommodate you with a room that better suits your needs. Feel free to reach out to me directly.

Warm Regards,,

David Sandler

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
Reviewed December 31, 2013

I traveled with my son, and booked this hotel on Expedia, at a great rate. They noted that the room would accommodate two adults I stayed at other Hotel during my visit, but what I like best about the Mansfield, was that they realized I was with my son, and upgraded us to a Jr. Suite, which has sofa sleeper and it was beautiful and comfortable

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Jill M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience with us. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed our rooms and customer service.I'm very pleased our front desk was able to anticipate your needs and accomodate you. Please let us know next time you're in New York if you'd like to come visit us again, and we’ll try and top your last stay! Feel free to reach out to me directly.

Best,

David Sandler

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

My husband and I booked our room from Hotels.com. We've used this site many times, and have always had a pleasant experience. However, I can not say that about our stay at The Mansfield. How disappointing. I can assure you we will not be staying there ever again.
Our room was tiny. No where on the site did it say how small these rooms are. The window was open in our room when we arrived. It's December! It was freezing in our tiny room. My husband had to fix the window himself. Even after the front desk said they would send someone. It still never latched right. There was no thermostat. I had to call the front desk for blankets. I also had to call to get the heat fixed/turned up. I still don't understand how it works. It was like the heat in our room was turned up/on, and left on full blast...ALL NIGHT. The only setting was ON. I woke up at 4 am in a horrible sweat!! On (zero support) goose down pillows. That smelled awful!! It was 500 degrees in our room. The concierge told me to open the window! I have stayed in hotels all over the world. I have never had anyone tell me to open the window. I had no choice but to comply and open the window. I was smothering! I woke up the next morning completely congested. My husband felt awful the entire next day as well. Then getting ready the next morning, I had to sit with wet hair, in our room with the open window for 45 minutes. There was no hairdryer in our room! Having to wait the extra 45 minutes made us miss our breakfast reservation. We had booked 4 weeks in advance for this particular restaurant. Where we had our proposal breakfast. This of course ruined not only my day, but completely crushed my feelings. There was also no alarm clock! We had to use our phones. To top everything off, there were cockroaches. I took pictures with my phone I can and will be forwarding. My husband and I's honeymoon was ruined. This is most definitely not a four star hotel. I wouldn't give it 2 stars. I will most definitely not be staying at or recommending this hotel to anyone, and after telling friends and family about our experience, I'm sure they will feel the same.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Suha U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Suha U,

Thanks for the feedback on your most recent stay. I'm disappointed to hear that you didn't enjoy your room; this is definitely not typical of the service we offer at our hotel. We strive to provide attentive, friendly service, which makes your negative experience that much more disheartening. Please be assured we are looking into your heating problem, comfort and quality is very important to us. We’ll pass along your feedback to our team in order to continue providing valued service.

Sincerely,

David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Elegant surroundings, charming, courteous and helpful staff. Quite, convenient overall very enjoyable experience from arrival to departure. My room was cozy, comfortable and clean!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Trip advisor member,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay. I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and our rooms were to your liking! We pride ourselves in making every guest stay as memorable as possible. We hope that you will choose to stay with us in your future stays in NYC. Please feel free to call me directly; we will do our best to top your last stay!

Regards,

David Sandler

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Note we were there for vacation, and purposefully did not need to use the wifi. I also agree with one of the previous reviewers that the room was small and dark. But aren't most NYC rooms small? The dark lends to the boutique nature of the hotel. I also agree that the rooms' temperatures are not easy to control.

Now that that's out of the way, we found the staff friendly but not overbearing, the lounge cozy, and the library very pleasant (with great cappucino). Considering that this was a place basically to sleep, we really enjoyed the amenities. We also found our room clean.

If you're going to NYC to hang out in your room, then I probably would not recommend the Mansfield. However, if you are looking for nice amenities in a location near Times Square, I'd definitely go here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NazanYar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear NazanYar,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay. I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and our lounge was to your liking! We pride ourselves in making every guest stay as memorable as possible. We hope that you will choose to stay with us in your future stays in NYC. Please feel free to call me directly; we will do our best to top your last stay! You're right, who doesn't love a little complimentary champagne?

Regards,

David Sandler

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

I dutifully read all of the reviews before selecting the Mansfield hotel for my stay in NY. This has been an AWFUL experience.

First, the room is so small, it is kind of ridiculous. That isn't that big of a deal though. I was ok with it since the bathroom was very clean.

The room is very dark. Not a huge deal but definitely weird.

There were hairs on my pillow. I just tossed the hairy one to the side and inspected the rest which looked ok. Finally settling on one and hoping it was clean - it did look clean but the previous hairs made me weary.

The room was very hot. I normally run cold so for me to say its hot, it has to be really hot. I had to turn on the AC unit (window unit) in the room just to make it bearable. Alas, it was so noisy and cold (it blew like a storm right on my while sleeping because the room is so small and the fan would not adjust down from a blast) that I barely slept.

After a very long day of work and walking with a heavy work bag, I wanted to order room service. I was informed at 9:45pm that the kitchen closed early and that ordering would not be possible. Room service is stated to be open from 5pm to 11pm for a wide menu but is supposed to be 24/7 for a limited menu (which I was ordering from!). But no, not for me.

Earlier in the day I was booted out of the "lounge area" (the only area where you can get complimentary wifi service - though their in room booklet says it is complimentary throughout the hotel!!!) because of some last minute private party. Initially I wasn't too upset as a nice lady at the front desk offered a code for free wifi from my room for the inconvenience (again, it says it is complimentary throughout the hotel in the guest services book in the room).

I am not sure where all of these great reviews came from but I haven't seen the service level that I expected.

Any one of these incidents on their own would have been ok to deal with but the lack room service pushed me over the edge as I was exhausted from not sleeping the night before due to the noisy air unit.

Anyway, the good part is the location is nice. But there are 3 or 4 hotels not to far from here that I will be staying at the next time I am here. The Hotel Sofitel likely - that is one I am familiar with and I am sure would be more apt to have quality standards for service.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jtaylorj3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear jtaylorj3,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide our hotel with your feedback. I apologize on behalf of the hotel, for not providing you with the experience you had hoped for; please know our team has been notified of your experience and they hope for your return, so that we may make it up to you. If you decide to give us another try, please feel free to contact me and I will make sure your stay will be nothing short of perfect. Thanks you again for your time, and have a great day.

Warm Regards,

David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Shoreham
Shoreham
#310 of 467 in New York City
1,769 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
#206 of 467 in New York City
1,433 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#268 of 467 in New York City
4,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Royalton New York Hotel
Royalton New York Hotel
#254 of 467 in New York City
2,216 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#100 of 467 in New York City
756 reviews
Midtown
The Roosevelt Hotel
The Roosevelt Hotel
#386 of 467 in New York City
8,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mansfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansfield

Property: The Mansfield
Address: 12 W 44th St, Off of Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-6604
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#216 Family Hotel in New York City
#222 Business Hotel in New York City
#233 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Mansfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An architectural and historical landmark, The Mansfield is a portal to a New York City of days gone. Guests of the hotel appreciate its club-like surroundings and superb craftsmanship, as illustrated by the lobby’s detailed illuminated 16-foot ceiling and oval staircases with original terrazzo floors. The Mansfield is located just off of Fifth Avenue at 44th Street, residing within the historic preservation district of Midtown Manhattan, and deep in the heart of the Theater District. The hotel is within a short walk of the finest Fifth Avenue stores, Bryant Park, Times Square, Broadway, Grand Central Station, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Rockefeller Center, the Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden and the Radio City Music Hall. Guests can enjoy complimentary 24-hour espresso and cappuccino in the hotel's classically-restored Beaux-Arts Club Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mansfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansfield Hotel New York City
Mansfield New York City
Mansfield Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing