We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“in town for Thanksgiving Day Parade”
Review of The Mansfield

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Mansfield
Ranked #343 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Beautiful hotel and great architecture. Half a block from parade route, great location and within walking distance to Radio City, Rockefeller Center, Time Square and Grand Central Station. Will definitely go back.


  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Renee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear Renee L,

Thank you for the great review. We're glad you chose to stay with us during the holidays, we know how special those moments can be. Hope to see you both again in the future! Please let us know next time you're in New York if you'd like to come visit us again, and we'll do our best to top your last stay.


Warm Regards,

David Sandler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,842)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

847 - 853 of 1,842 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2013

The hotel is a lovely hotel in the centre of the times square district. Old fashioned in its styling but able to provide a modern standard of accomodation. Not really for the party reveller in my oppinion but ideal as a base for the tourist. Not sure about families but my room was big enough and spacious enough for a couple. Not the biggest rooms in new york or the best equipped but fantastic for the price, Entrance lobby are nice as is the front coffee room. M bar is convenient and the gym is free and good if not basic if you are that way inclined. Enjoyed my stay and would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Wayne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear Wayne K,

Thanks for the feedback on your most recent stay. I'm glad to hear our location was convenient for you and that you found our room spacious. I'm pleased to hear that our that our rooms and decor were to your liking. It truly does make our hotel a unique gem in Midtown. We hope you will choose to stay with us on all your NYC visits.


Sincerely,

David Sandler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Wonderful Staff! Big smiles and always ready to help and make you feel at home!
I have stayed on business in the past and chose this location to stay with my daughter. Great location, I can't say enough about the staff. A nice oasis away from the craziness that is Time Sq!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear Christopher M,

We appreciate your continued loyalty and thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience with us. I'm happy to hear our location was convenient for you and that you found our staff friendly. Please let us know next time you're in New York if you'd like to come visit us again, and we'll ensure to make your next stay just as memorable. Feel free to reach out to me directly.


Warm Regards,

David Sandler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Outstanding staff who really make you feel at home. Room very well appointed and very comfortable while retaining the characteristics of the turn of the century building. No question will stay at The Mansfield again!


  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear C C,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay. I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and our rooms were to your liking! We pride ourselves in making every guest stay as memorable as possible. We hope that you will choose to stay with us in your future stays in NYC. Please feel free to call me directly; we will do our best to top your last stay!

Best,

David Sandler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for a couple of days, having chosen it as it was 1 block away from a conference I was attending. I was actually delighted, check in/out was no bother and all the employees were charming. The rooms are a bit small but at the same time they make great use of the space available, and lets face it if you are in your room all the time in New York you're doing something wrong! I had breakfast there as my only meal and it was fantastic, brioche eggs benedict. I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Seems a quiet street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear Stephen C,

We were delighted to receive your review, and so pleased that you enjoyed your first stay at The Mansfield. I am particularly pleased that you have mentioned our Front of House team who demonstrated such great hospitality to you. I will be sure to pass on your positive comments to them.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm Regards,

David Sandler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

That endangered species, a true 4-Star hotel, The Mansfield is my latest New York favorite.

The charm of a beautifully restored past blends seamlessly with clean, modern facilities. Service is friendly and efficient, especially housekeeping, and details like complimentary lemon water, tea, coffee, espresso, NY Times, and cookies make all the difference while away from home.

Yes. There are the usual smaller and dimmer spaces and hallways of New York City, but here they seem like special, cozy embraces from an urban, romantic past.

I have always preferred living downtown but I now have a new appreciation of this midtown location. Times Square, Bryant Park, Grand Central, Rockefeller Center, MOMA, Fifth Avenue, Central Park... are all steps away as well as EVERY subway line.

My only disappointment is the daily charge of $14.95 for internet access. It should absolutely be free.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear Sal C,

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience with us. I'm happy to hear our location was convenient for you and that you found the atmosphere of our hotel to your liking. Please let us know next time you're in New York if you'd like to come visit us again, and we’ll do our best to always make your stay unique. Feel free to reach out to me directly.

Best,

David Sandler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Fantastic boutique hotel in the heart of midtown. Clean, spacious and great service. This hotel had everything we were looking for and the staff exceeded our expectations throughout our stay. The "library" area in the lobby was a great place to drink an espresso and plan our day.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear Mark N,

Thanks for the feedback on your most recent stay. I'm glad to hear our location was convenient for you and that you enjoyed the decor of our property.We pride ourselves in making every guest stay as memorable as possible. We hope that you will choose to stay with us in your future stays in NYC. Please feel free to contact me directly; we will do our best to top your last stay!

Regards,

David Sandler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Shoreham
Shoreham
#308 of 469 in New York City
1,824 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
#198 of 469 in New York City
1,513 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York
Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New Y...
#361 of 469 in New York City
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#276 of 469 in New York City
4,084 reviews
Midtown
The Gallivant Times Square
The Gallivant Times Square
#367 of 469 in New York City
1,385 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#394 of 469 in New York City
4,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mansfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansfield

Address: 12 W 44th St, Off of Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-6604
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#215 Family Hotel in New York City
#221 Business Hotel in New York City
#232 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $142 - $432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Mansfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An architectural and historical landmark, The Mansfield is a portal to a New York City of days gone. Guests of the hotel appreciate its club-like surroundings and superb craftsmanship, as illustrated by the lobby’s detailed illuminated 16-foot ceiling and oval staircases with original terrazzo floors. The Mansfield is located just off of Fifth Avenue at 44th Street, residing within the historic preservation district of Midtown Manhattan, and deep in the heart of the Theater District. The hotel is within a short walk of the finest Fifth Avenue stores, Bryant Park, Times Square, Broadway, Grand Central Station, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Rockefeller Center, the Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden and the Radio City Music Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Mansfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansfield Hotel New York City
Mansfield New York City
Mansfield Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing